NOTE: The Genealogical Society of New Jersey's Bible and Family Records have been temporarily relocated to the New Jersey State Archives. See: Accessing GSNJ Collections at the New Jersey State Archives.
As part of its Genealogical Society of New Jersey collection, Rutgers' Special Collections and University Archives houses the largest collection of records copied from New Jersey, and other, family Bibles.
This collection consists of over 5,800 records. The majority of the records pertain to 19th century (pre-1850) individuals, although many 18th century names are listed as well. Individual records are listed in a file by surname.
A Bible and Family Records Online Index is now available at the Genealogical Society of New Jersey web site.
In addition, bible records transcribed by the New Jersey State Society, Daughters of the American Revolution and previously housed at the New Jersey Historical Society, are now available in Special Collections and University Archives.
If you would like to know if a family name that you are interested in appears on our index files and are unable to use the collection on site, please see the section on Genealogical Research (https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/scua/genealogical-resources) on the SC/UA webpage.
Contact Us Giving to the Libraries
© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to email@example.com or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.