Research Guides: New Jersey Genealogy: Obituaries and Other Notices

Obituaries and Other Notices

New Jersey Obituaries Index, 1974-1983.: Robert E. Lupp. Trenton, N.J. : Division of State Library, New Jersey State Dept. of Education, 1983.; Selective index to obituaries from seven New Jersey newspapers: Atlantic City Press, Asbury Park Press, The Record (Bergen), Camden Courier Post, Star Ledger (Newark), The Trentonian and The Times (Trenton). Available?

Asbury Park Evening Press

March 6, 1913-December 1919. Index excludes the Sunday edition.

Obits: 1921-1967 [Partial] Surname Index for the Asbury Park Evening Press: Sunday edition excluded.

Obits: 1943 Index for the Asbury Park Evening Press: Daily and Sunday editions.

Burlington County

Burlington County Newspaper Notices Index: Database with citations to birth announcements, marriage announcements, death notices, obituaries, and other related news items gathered from over twenty-five Burlington County area newspapers and publications. Majority of the citations are death notices and marriage announcements from the mid-1800's and 1910-through the WW II era; most birth announcement date form the 1970s-early 1980s. From the Burlington County Library System.

New Jersey Mirror: The New Jersey Mirror (originally the Burlington Mirror) was published from 1818 to 1947. Includes marriage and death notices, legislative and agricultural news, social news, Civil War coverage, court news, local news from individual townships, etc. Burlington County Library System database.

Cape May Newspapers

Cape May Library Obituary Finder: Includes Cape May Gazette 1/6/1982-2/10/1982, 8/11/1982-5/1/1985; Cape May County Herald, 2003-2005; The Press of Atlantic City (Cape May Edition) 1973-1987.

Hudson County Obituaries

Bayonne Herald and Greenville Register Deaths, 1901-1915: Nearly 1,700 deaths published between 1901 and 1915.

Bayonne Times Death Notice Index: Over 13,000 death notices appearing in The Bayonne Times from 1915 to 1945.

Jersey Journal Obituaries: 1907 [Jan. & May]; 1924; 1925; 1925 [Aug., Oct. & Dec.]; and Dec. 1927.

Union City Deaths 1936-1946: Names and death dates of 326 individuals who died in the Union City vicinity between 1936 and 1946. Not a complete record of death in Union City.

Hunterdon County

Hunterdon Republican: Abstracts currently available: 1856-1900; 1928 and 1930.

New Brunswick Newspapers

List of Marriage and Death Notices Appearing in the New Brunswick Newspapers Between the Years 1792-1816.: Agnes Williamson Storer. New Brunswick, N.J., 1931. Available?

Elmer Tindall Hutchinson Papers: Manuscript collection in Rutgers Special Collections includes abstracts (4 folders and 4 drawers of cards) of marriage and death notices, 1792-1865, from newspapers published at New Brunswick. The New Brunswick newspapers abstracted include: Guardian or New Brunswick Advertiser, 1792-1807 and 1810-1813; Fredonian (later New-Brunswick Fredonian), 1811-1827, 1838-1844, 1847-1851 and 1861-1865; Times and New Brunswick General Advertiser (and its successors), 1815-1823 and 1858-1862; and New Brunswick Daily News, 1855-1858.

Index to the Times and the Times and New Jersey Union, 1859-(June) 1868 : A Compilation of Obituaries, Marriages, Injuries, Accidents, Advertisements and Petitions.: Kendall Park, NJ : New Jersey Information Service, 1993. Available?

Index to New Brunswick Daily Times, 1872-1876 : A Compilation of Obituaries, Marriages, Injuries, Accidents, Arrests, Social Clubs and Other Significant Local and Regional Items of Interest.: Kendall Park, NJ : New Jersey Information Service, c1992. Available?

Index to New Brunswick Daily Times, 1877-1881 : A Compilation of Obituaries, Marriages, Injuries, Accidents, Arrests, Social Clubs and Other Significant Local and Regional Items of Interest.: Kendall Park, NJ : New Jersey Information Service, 1992. Available?

Index to New Brunswick Daily Times, 1887-1891 : A Compilation of Obituaries, Marriage Announcements, Injuries, Accidents, Arrests, Social Happenings, and Other Significant Local and Regional Items of Interest.: Kendall Park, NJ : New Jersey Information Service, 1993. Available?

Trenton Obituaries

Trenton Obituary Indexes: Year by year indexes to obituaries found in Trenton newspapers, 1883-1889; 1901-1934; March 1964; December 1967; 1973-1993. Includes an Index to Deaths Reported in Trenton Newspapers, 1770s - 1899, for Surnames beginning with the letter "A"

Warren County

The Washington Star: Obituary index to the Washington, N.J. newspaper. Includes, 1891-1915; 1917-1936; and 1962-1980.