Research Guides: New Jersey Genealogy: Individual New Jersey Cities

New Jersey City Directory Collections

New Jersey City Directories [microform].: Bethlehem, PA : MAPS, MicrogrAphic Preservation Service, [1992]-; 117 Microfilm Reels; Contents: Atlantic City, 1872-1982 (45 reels) -- Madison & Chatham, 1965-1971 (2 reels) -- Rahway, 1904-1981 (6 reels) -- Perth Amboy, 1908-1967 (including Rahway, 1919, 1921, 1926, 1947-48, 1949, 1952 on 12th reel) (12 reels) -- Millville, 1928-1987 (including Pitman, 1932, and Pitman-Glassboro, 1949) (6 reels) -- New Brunswick, 1855-1984 (26 reels) -- Morris County, 1873-1903 (1 reel) -- Ocean City, 1948; Wildwood, 1937-38, 1967; South Jersey coast, 1913 (1 reel) -- Bridgeton, 1930-1986 (5 reels) -- Vineland, 1946-1981 (8 reels) -- Cumberland County, 1872-1896 (including Hammonton, 1950-51; Delaware River & West Jersey RR, 1872; and New Jersey State, 1876-77) (4 reels) -- Barrington, 1950-51; Haddonfield, 1952-53, 1954-55, 1961 (1 reel). Available?

Southern New Jersey City and County Directory Microfilming Project [microform].: Woodbury, N.J.] : Gloucester County Historical Society, 1988-; 52 microfilm reels; Over 120 city and county directories (1875-1988), including telephone directories, chiefly of Gloucester and Camden counties. Available?

1835-1860

New Jersey City Directories, 1835-1860 [microform]: Woodbridge, Conn. : Research Publications, Inc., [198-?]; 226 microfiche; Contents: New Jersey -- Camden -- Jersey City -- Newark -- New Brunswick -- Paterson -- Trenton.; Part of the City directories of the United States through 1860, a compilation based on Spear, Dorothea N. Bibliography of American directories through 1860, Worcester, Mass.: American Antiquarian Society, 1961. Available?

1861-1881

U.S. City Directories, 1861-1881 : New Jersey [microform]: Woodbridge, Conn. : Research Publications, Inc, [1984?]; 20 reels of microfilm; Contents: [pt.1.] Jersey City (7 reels) -- [pt. 2.] Newark (10 reels) -- [pt. 3.] Paterson (3 reels). Available?

1882-1901

U.S. City Directories, 1882-1901 : New Jersey [microform]: Woodbridge, Conn. : Research Publications, Inc., [1984?]; 32 reels of microfilm; Contents: [pt. 1.] Jersey City (9 reels) -- [pt. 2.] Newark (17 reels) -- [pt. 3.] Paterson (6 reels) Available?

1902-1935

United States City Directories--Newark, N.J. [Segment IV: 1902-1935] [microform]: Woodbridge, Conn. : Research Publications, [198-]-1987.; 26 microfilm reels Available?

United States City Directories--Paterson, N.J. [Segment IV:1902-1935] [Microform]: Woodbridge, Conn. : Research Publications, [198-]-1987.; 13 microfilm reels. Available?

Camden

Camden City Directories & Telephone Books [microform]: Camden, N.J. : Camden County Historical Society, [1991?]; 50 microfilm reels. Covers the period 1837-1989. Available?

Elizabeth

Elizabeth Directory.: Newark, N.J., Price & Lee Co, 1909-; Directories from 1909 to 1971. Available?

New Brunswick

Polk's New Brunswick (Middlesex County, N.J.) City Directory.: Boston : R.L. Polk & Co., 1855-; Directories from 1855 until the latter part of the 20th century. Available?

Newark

Newark City Directories: The Newark Public Library has digitized their 1836-37 to 1957 Newark city directories.

United States City Directories--Newark, N.J. [Segment IV: 1902-1935] [microform]: Woodbridge, Conn. : Research Publications, [198-]-1987.; 26 microfilm reels Available?

Directory of Newark for 1835-6: With an Historical Sketch.: Newark, 1836.; Name index, with links to the original scanned pages, to the first Newark city directory. Includes the historical sketch.

Directory of the City of Newark for 1838-9, With an Historical Sketch.: Newark, N.J., B.T. Pierson, 1838.

Directory of the City of Newark for 1849-50.: B.T. Pierson. Newark, 1849. Available?

Directory of the City of Newark for 1851-52.: 17th edition. By B.T. Pierson. Newark N.J., Holbrook's Steam Press, 1851.

Paterson

United States City Directories--Paterson, N.J. [Segment IV:1902-1935] [Microform]: Woodbridge, Conn. : Research Publications, [198-]-1987.; 13 microfilm reels. Available?

Plainfield

Directory of the City of Plainfield [microform]: Plainfield, N.J. : Plainfield Public Library, 1989; 30 microfilm reels; Contents: Reel 1. 1870; 1871; 1872; 1873; 1879-80; 1881-82 -- Reel 2. 1884-1885; 1885-1886; 1886-1887; 1887-1888 -- Reel 3. 1889-90; 1891-92; 1893-94; 1895-96 -- Reel 4. 1897-98; 1900; 1901 -- Reel. 5. 1902; 1903 -- Reel 6. 1904; 1905 -- Reel 7. 1907; 1908 -- Reel 8. 1909; 1910 -- Reel 9. 1911; 1912 -- Reel 10. 1913; 1914 -- Reel 11. 1915; 1916 -- Reel 12. 1917 -- Reel 13. 1918; 1919 -- Reel 14. 1920 -- Reel 15. 1921; 1922; 1924 -- Reel 16. 1925; 1926; 1943 -- Reel 17. 1927; 1928 -- Reel 18. 1929; 1930 -- Reel 19. 1931; 1933 -- Reel 20. 1935; 1938 -- Reel 21. 1940; 1944; 1947 -- Reel 22. 1949; 1950; 1953 -- Reel 23. 1951-52; 1955; 1962 -- Reel 24. 1957-58 -- Reel 25. 1956; 1960 -- Reel 26. 1963; 1964; 1966 -- Reel 27. 1968; 1978; 1982 -- Reel 28. 1969; 1971; 1972 -- Reel 29. 1973; 1974; 1975 -- Reel 30. 1967; 1976; 1977.Available?

Summit, Milburn, Springfield

Summit, Millburn, Springfield Directories: 1850, 1889, 1892, 1898, 1908-1981

Trenton

City Directories, Trenton, NJ, 1845-1971 [microform]: [Trenton, N.J.] : Trenton Free Public Library, 1989 Bethlehem, Pa. : Filmed by Mid-Atlantic Preservation Service); 48 microfilm reels; No directories included for 1846-1853, 1858, 1860-1864, 1866, 1937, 1939-1945, 1949, 1951, 1953, 1959, 1961, 1964, 1968, 1969. Reel 48 contains 43 maps from directories issued between 1881 and 1939. Available?

Fitzgerald's Trenton and Mercer County Directory : Together With a Business Directory of Bordentown, Burlington, Mount Holly and Lambertville, N.J. and Morrisville, Pa.: Trenton, N.J. : Thomas F. Fitzgerald. 1887-1934 (with gaps). Available?

Trenton City Directories: Directories from 1844 (business only), 1859, 1877(partial), 1881, 1882, 1900, and 1920.