Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

New Jersey Genealogy: Basic Resources

Basic guide to Rutgers and other genealogical resources.

Ancestry's NJ Research Guide

New Jersey County Histories

American County Histories: New Jersey
County histories originally published between 1881 and 1890. Many include biographical and genealogical information. Rutgers-restricted Access

Basic Genealogical Resources

Genealogical Resources: Archibald S. Alexander Library
In addition to the unpublished resources available in Rutgers' Special Collection and University Archives, this guide also lists the major printed resources for New Jersey genealogical research available in the Sinclair New Jersey Collection.
Vital Records in New Jersey
How to obtain New Jersey birth, death, marriage, divorce and other vital records.
NJ State Archives Searchable Databases and Records Request Forms
The Archives have created a series of databases that index documents and photographs in the State Archives' collections. Included are Birth, Marriage, and Death Records; Land, Probate, and Court Records; Military and Wartime Records; and Photographs.
NJGenWeb Genealogical & Historical Societies
Directory of New Jersey genealogical and historical societies.
New Jersey Genealogy & LDS Family History Centers
Family history centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, the largest genealogical library in the world. The FHL circulates about 100,000 rolls of microfilm records to family history centers every month for public use. To identify materials that are available for circulation to Family History Centers, search the FHL Library Catalog.
National Archives at New York City
The regional NARA office maintains archival records for federal agencies and courts for New Jersey and New York. Collection includes Federal population censuses for all States, 1790-1930; indexes for the 1880, 1900, 1910, and 1920 censuses; indexes to selected passengers arrival records for Eastern and Gulf Coast ports; and indexes to selected naturalization records processed through Federal courts in New Jersey and New York.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.