Skip to Main Content
Rutgers University Library logo

New Jersey Genealogy

Basic guide to Rutgers and other genealogical resources.

Rutgers University Special Collections

Passaic Home and Orphan Asylum
Including registers of inmates, 1896-1961, and inmate case files.
Sheltering Arms Childrens Service (New York, N.Y.)
Including case histories, registers and other information on the backgrounds of admitted children, 1864-1955, and foster home files, 191-1946. Also includes records of the New York Child's Foster Home Service, 1852-1956; the Howard Mission and Home for Little Wanderers, 1861-1946; the Children's Fold, 1870-1905; the Shepherd's Fold, 1894-1904; and the Katy Ferguson Home (which served African Americans exclusively), 1925-1953. Advance notice required to consult this collection.
Jewish Children's Home (Newark)
The Jewish Children's Home was administered by the Jewish Child Care Association (JCCA).  JCCA records are included in the Essex County Jewish Welfare Collection, part of Rutgers University Special Collections and University Archives (Annex Collection #2366). There are some case files included as part of the JCCA collection, however there are no actual children's records. There is no detailed finding aid; questions regarding collection contents should be submitted to Special Collections: scua_ref@libraries.rutgers.edu.

Other Orphan Records

Catholic Charities Adoption Association and St. Mary's Orphan Asylum (1853-1972)
Seton Hall University, Msgr. William Noe Field Archives and Special Collections Center.
Newark Orphan Asylum Record Books (1868-1929)
Newark Public Library, Charles F. Cummings New Jersey Information Center.
Protestant Foster Home Record Book (1848-1911)
Newark Public Library, Charles F. Cummings New Jersey Information Center. In 1948 the Protestant Foster Home merged with the Newark Orphan Asylum, becoming the Newark Home for Foster Care.

Adoption Records

Past and Present New Jersey Adoption Agencies and File Storing Information
New Jersey Adoption Resource Clearing House. Updated 8-23-2022.

Birth Certificates

As of January 2017, authorized individuals may obtain an uncertified copy of an adoptee’s original birth certificate. See: https://www.nj.gov/health/vital/adoption