New Jersey Genealogy

The Chester N. Jones Collection

30,000 cards, arranged by surname, on New Jersey soldiers in the Revolution. Located in Special Collections and filed alphabetically by surname.

Compiled Service Records of Soldiers Who Served in the American Army During the Revolutionary War: New Jersey

Washington, D.C. U.S. National Archives, (Record Group 93).

Records for Continental Army units raised in the state--state militia and volunteer (non-regular army) units. A compiled service record consists of one or more cards where information about the soldier has been abstracted from enlistment papers, muster rolls, payrolls, etc.

The New Jersey portion of the Compiled Service Records consists of 75 microfilm reels from the National Archives M881 microfilm set. These have been digitized and are available from the Internet Archive. Reels:0571 0572 0573 0574 0575 0576 0577 0578 0579 0580 0581 0582 0583 0584 0585 0586 0587 0588 0589 0590 0591 0592 0593 0594 0595 0596 0597 0598 0599 0600 0601 0602 0603 0604 0605 0606 0607 0608 0609 0610 0611 0612 0613 0614 0615 0616 0617 0618 0619 0620 0621 0622 0623 0624 0625 0626 0627 0628 0629 0630 0631 0632 0633 0634 0635 0636 0637 0638 0639 0640 0641 0642 0643 0644 0645

General Index to Compiled Military Service Records of Revolutionary War Soldiers

Washington, D.C., National Archives, 1972.

58 microfilm reels (National Archives M860). Name index to the compiled service records.

The Guide to the General Index lists the name ranges for each reel. The microfilm set is in the collection of the Center for Research Libraries; current Rutgers faculty and students may place an Interlibrary Loan Request to obtain individual reels from CRL. The General Index reels are also available at The New York Public Library

Up to 1815

Official Register of the Officers and Men of New Jersey in the Revolutionary War

Database based on William Stryker's 1872 work. From the New Jersey State Library.

The Loyalists of New Jersey: Their Memorials, Petitions, Claims, etc., From English Records.

E. Alfred Jones. New Jersey Historical Society,1927. Available?

The King's Men on Command : A Compilation on the New Jersey Loyalist Volunteers in the American Revolution.

Theodore V. Brush. Port Jervis, N.Y. : Minisink Valley Historical Society, c1998. Available?

Revolutionary War Pensioners Living in New Jersey Before 1834.

Inez Raney Waldenmaier. Tulsa, Okla. : I. Waldenmaier, c1983. Available?

Compiled Records of the Middlesex County, New Jersey Militia 1791-1795: With Biographical Sketches of the Officers of Selected Companies.

Russell K. Dutcher. Baltimore, Md., Clearfield, 1996. Available?

Records of Officers and Men of New Jersey in Wars, 1791-1815.

New Jersey. Adjutant-General's Office. Trenton, N.J., State Gazette Publishing Co., 1909.

Contents:Expedition against the Indians in 1791.--Pennsylvania insurrection in 1794.--Naval war with France, 1798-1801.--Naval war with Tripoli, Africa, 1801-1805.--War with Great Britain, 1812-1815.--Naval war with Algiers, Africa, in 1815.

Includes name, rank, dates of enrollment and discharge.

Index to Military Men of New Jersey, 1775-1815

Ronald Vern Jackson and Gary Ronald Teeples. Bountiful, Utah : Accelerated Indexing Systems, c1977. Available?

Record of Officers and Men of New Jersey in the War with Mexico, 1846-1848.

Trenton, 18__? Available?