Online Resources
- American State Papers, 1789-1838 [Rutgers Restricted]A full text database of over 6,000 publications including every legislative and executive document of the first fourteen U.S. Congresses (1789-1817). Additional material from 1817 to 1838 chronologically overlaps with the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980.
- Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875Searchable versions of Congressional documents including Journals of the Continental Congress, House Journal, Senate Journal, Annals of Congress, Register of Debates, Congressional Globe, American State Papers, early statutes, and more.
- govinfo: Congressional DocumentsIncludes House Documents, Senate Documents, and Senate Treaty Documents beginning with the 94th Congress (1975/76).
- govinfo: Congressional ReportsIncludes House and Senate Reports and Senate Executive Reports beginning with the 104th Congress (1995/96).
- govinfo: Congressional Serial SetIncludes Serial Set volumes from a selection of Congresses with additional volumes being added on a continuing basis. The Serial Set is comprised of the numbered Senate and House Documents and Senate and House Reports, bound by Session of Congress. The contents of the Serial Set have varied throughout the publication’s history, and at times have included House and Senate Journals, and the reports of executive departments and agencies. Each volume is assigned a Serial Number, beginning with the 1st Session of the 15th Congress in 1817.
- HeinOnline: U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1789-present) [Rutgers Restricted]Coverage from the American State Papers to the present, with some gaps. After connecting to the database, select U.S. Congressional Serial Set from the list.
- U.S. Congressional Publications [Rutgers Restricted]Indexes and provides selected full-text for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports (Congressional Serial Set), Hearings, and Legislative Histories. It also provides member and committee information, as well as access to the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Federal Register, and the Congressional Record (1985-present).
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 [Rutgers Restricted]A full text database of key publications of the Congress, including the journals, reports, and documents. In addition, through the nineteenth century the Serial Set also included publications of the executive departments relating to important public issues. Covers the 15th through the 96th Congresses (1817 to 1980). A companion database, the American State Papers, 1789-1838, chronologically overlaps the Serial Set.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set: Numerical List of Documents and ReportsThe Numerical List of Documents and Reports lists numerically, with a brief title, all of the Senate and House Documents and Reports issued during a Session of Congress, and indicates the specific volume of the Congressional Serial Set in which each Document and Report is bound. Covers 1957 to the present. -- The Schedule of Serial Set Volumes lists numerically, by Serial Number, each volume of the Congressional Serial Set as well as the contents of each volume. Covers 1987 to the present. Earlier years, beginning with 1970, are available on a related site, Schedule of Volumes to the U.S. Serial Set: 1970 to Current.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set Inventory"Aims to be a complete inventory of serial set holdings in U.S. libraries, from volume 1 through volume 12879-1." May be searched or browsed by serial set volume, library, or session of Congress. Also includes links to information about the history of the serial set and to a list of assigned serial set numbers that were not used.
House and Senate Documents
For the 1st - 14th Congress, consult the online American State Papers [Rutgers Restricted] or the paper edition shelved in stack 35. From the 15th to the 96th Congress, use the U.S. Congressional Serial Set [Rutgers Restricted] digital collection; a microprint version is also available at the Annex. If a serial number is not known, see tables in the Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789 - 1909 (ALEXANDER DOCUSR GP 3.14) or other reference tools to obtain one.
House: 62nd Congress - 115th Congress (2018) Paper, ALEXANDER DOCLUS Stack 30-32
Senate: 61st Congress - 115th Congress (2018) Paper, ALEXANDER DOCLUS Stack 33
Exceptions:
96th Congress (House & Senate) are in largely in paper, but some documents are in microfiche at ALEXANDER DOCUSM X 96-Sess.#:H.DOC.# and X 96:Sess.#:S.DOC.#.
97th - 98th:1st Congress (House & Senate) are in paper, but some documents are in microfiche at ALEXANDER DOCUSM Y 1.1/7: (House) and Y 1.1/3: (Senate).
While the slip versions of most current House and Senate Documents are available in paper, GPO was unable to supply selected documents and substituted microfiche in the exceptions noted above. Also, several titles of reference value are shelved in the DOCUSR Y 1: section in range 102. House and Senate Documents beginning with the 104th Congress also appear on govinfo. Documents from 1774-1875 may also appear online in A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation 1774-1875.
House & Senate Reports
For the 1st - 14th Congress, consult the online American State Papers [Rutgers Restricted] or the paper edition shelved in stack 35. From the 15th to the 96th Congress, use the U.S. Congressional Serial Set [Rutgers Restricted] digital collection; a microprint version is also available at the Annex. If a serial number is not known, see tables in the Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789 - 1909 (ALEXANDER DOCUSR GP 3.14) or other reference tools to obtain one.
House: 60th Congress - 115th Congress (2018) Paper, ALEXANDER DOCLUS Stack 32-33
Senate: 63rd Congress - 115th Congress (2018) Paper, ALEXANDER DOCLUS Stack 34-35
Exceptions:
96th Congress (House & Senate) are in largely in paper, but some reports are in microfiche at ALEXANDER DOCUSM X 96-Sess.#:H.RP.# and X 96:Sess.#:S.RP.#.
97th - 98th:1st Congress (House & Senate) are in paper, but some documents are in microfiche at ALEXANDER DOCUSM Y 1.1/8: (House) and Y 1.1/5: (Senate).
While the slip versions of most current House and Senate Documents are available in paper, GPO was unable to supply selected documents and substituted microfiche in the exceptions noted above. Also, several titles of reference value are shelved in the DOCUSR Y 1: section in range 102. House and Senate Documents beginning with the 104th Congress also appear on govinfo. Documents from 1774-1875 may also appear online in A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation 1774-1875.
Senate Executive Documents and Reports
15th - 91st Congress Microfiche Cabinet 12
For a guide to the microfiche collection of Senate Documents and Reports (not printed in the Serial Set) see CIS Index to US Senate Executive Documents and Reports … Not Printed in The U.S. Serial Set, 1817-1969 located in ALEXANDER DOCREF KF40.C57 1987.
87th Congress, 2nd Sess. - 115th Congress (2018) Paper, ALEXANDER DOCLUS Stack 33-34
104th - current Available on govinfo
Senate Treaty Documents
97th Congress - 115th Congress (2018) Paper, ALEXANDER DOCLUS Stack 34
104th - current Available on govinfo