Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875
Searchable versions of Congressional documents including Journals of the Continental Congress, House Journal, Senate Journal, Annals of Congress, Register of Debates, Congressional Globe, American State Papers, early statutes, and more.
Search Congressional bills and resolutions, public laws, roll call votes, the Congressional Record, Committee Reports, Treaties, or explore a variety of other useful links.
Fastcase [Rutgers Restricted]
Case law, statutes, regulations, court rules, constitutions, law review articles, and other types of legal content. The focus is state and federal primary source materials.
Provides links to a variety of resources for people doing federal legal research. Includes a Topical and Title Index to the site; a separate subject listing for Federal Laws and Regulations; sections on the Federal Judiciary and the Legislative Branch; and much more. From the Center for Regulatory Effectiveness.
govinfo: Public and Private Laws
Public and private laws are also known as slip laws before they are compiled and published in the United States Statutes at Large. Cover the 104th Congress (1995-1996) to the present.
HeinOnline [Rutgers Restricted]
A legal research collection that features full-text searching of scholarly legal and criminal justice periodicals and related materials such as the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), a Federal Register Library, a Treaties and Agreements Library, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, a U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, a U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Congressional Documents, U.S. Congressional Serial Set, and U.S. Statutes at Large.
Law Library Microform Consortium Digital [Rutgers Restricted]
Includes a wide range of full-text archival material broken down into U.S. Federal (executive, legislative, and judicial branches), U.S. States, U.S. Territories, Anglo-American Collections, Foreign Jurisdictions, International Law and Organizations, and Multi-Jurisdiction Subject Collections. Online collections are incomplete but new material is added each month.
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, 1620-1970 [Rutgers Restricted]
A full-text database of primary material in U.S. legal history. It comprises codes, subject arrangements of the law, at the federal, state and local levels; proceedings and other documents from constitutional conventions; legal dictionaries and other sources. Complements Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926.
United States Code
A searchable version of the United States Code, "a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States."
Westlaw Campus Research [Rutgers Restricted]
Contains the full text of court opinions, statutes, and regulations from state and federal governments; in excess of 800 law reviews and journals; as well as other legal materials. Includes West's KeyCite feature for verification of the status of a case, statute, administrative decision, or regulation. Laws, regulations, reports, and related European Union material is also included.
- Statutes at Large, v.1-current, 1789-present (w/gaps) Paper, ALEXANDER DOCLUS Stack 26
- Statutes at Large, v.1-32, 1789-1903 Microfiche, ALEXANDER DOC MFICHE Cabinet 14
- U.S. Code Paper, ALEXANDER DOCLUS Stack 26
- U.S. Code Congressional and Admin. News, 1941-2002 Paper, ALEXANDER DOCLUS Stack 26