Congressional Research
Library research guide to locating print and online materials from the United States Congress.
Proceedings of Congress
- Annals of CongressCovers the 1st (1789) to 18th:1 (1824) Congresses. Available in A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation, part of the American Memory project from the Library of Congress.
- Annals of Congress [Rutgers Restricted]The HeinOnline database includes the Annals, cross-searchable with an extensive collection of U.S. Congressional documents and other legal materials.
- Register of DebatesCovers the 18th:2 (1824) to 25th (1837) Congresses. Available in A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation, part of the American Memory project from the Library of Congress.
- Register of Debates [Rutgers Restricted]The HeinOnline database includes the Register, cross-searchable with an extensive collection of U.S. Congressional documents and other legal materials.
- Congressional GlobeCovers the 23rd (1833) to 42nd (1873) Congresses. Available in A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation, part of the American Memory project from the Library of Congress.
- Congressional Globe [Rutgers Restricted]The HeinOnline database includes the Congressional Globe, cross-searchable with an extensive collection of U.S. Congressional documents and other legal materials.
- Congressional Record (Daily edition)Covers the 103d (1994) Congress to the present.
- Congressional Record (Bound edition)Digital versions of the permanent bound edition of the Congressional Record beginning with the first volume from 1873. At the end of each session of Congress, all of the daily editions are collected, re-paginated, and re-indexed into the permanent, bound edition.
- Congressional Record [Rutgers Restricted]The HeinOnline database includes the Congressional Record, cross-searchable with an extensive collection of U.S. Congressional documents and other legal materials. Includes both daily and bound editions to provide complete coverage from 1873 to the present.
- C-SPAN: Congressional ChronicleC-SPAN video recordings of hearings and House and Senate floor proceedings. The video recordings are matched with the text of the Congressional Record as soon as the Record is available. Includes only those members of Congress who appeared on the floor to deliver or insert their remarks.
With the exception of the C-SPAN resource, the titles listed above are held in paper format at Alexander Library and are located in Government Publications stacks 36-39. Beginning with the 104th Congress, the bound permanent edition of the Congressional Record is held only in microfiche format, and filed with class numbers that begin with X in the DOCUSM fiche cabinets near stack 49. The indexes for the permanent edition are bound paper and are shelved with the other bound volumes.
Related Guides
- Sources for the Congressional RecordA more extensive listing of both free and commercial sources for online access to the Congressional Record and its predecessors.