Congressional Research
Hearings - Full text online
- U.S. Congressional Publications [Rutgers Restricted]Indexes and provides selected full-text for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports (Congressional Serial Set), Hearings, and Legislative Histories. It also provides member and committee information, as well as access to the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Federal Register, and the Congressional Record (1985-present).
- HeinOnline: Congressional Hearings [Rutgers Restricted]Select "U.S. Congressional Documents: Congressional Hearings" to limit your search to the hearings collection.
- govinfo: Congressional HearingsIncludes hearings from the 99th Congress (1985-1986) to the present.
- C-SPAN: Congressional ChronicleC-SPAN video recordings of hearings and House and Senate floor proceedings. The video recordings are matched with the text of the Congressional Record as soon as the Record is available. Includes only those members of Congress who appeared on the floor to deliver or insert their remarks.
Hearings not available full text online
1824-present: Many hearings for this period are now available online through the resources listed above. In addition:
Prior to the 97th Congress, Alexander Library also has most hearings in paper format. Subject access is through the Monthly Catalog and the Catalog of Government Publications. Holdings are noted in the documents card catalog under U.S. Congress. [House or Senate]. [Committee name]. and title. Many are NOT in QuickSearch. Locating paper hearings requires the SuDoc number, Congress/Session, and title or, in some cases, the serial number. An exception is that Senate Appropriations Committee hearings for the 96th Congress are in microfiche format.
From the 97th Congress (1981) to the 116th Congress 2019, Congressional hearings are also in microfiche and are filed by the SuDoc number in cabinet 1-10+. The Monthly Catalog, the CIS Index and Abstracts, and the Catalog of Government Publications are the primary finding aids for obtaining the SuDoc classification numbers by which the fiche are filed.
- Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsThis official source is the online counterpart to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications. Covers electronic and print publications from all branches of the U.S. government beginning with 1976. Includes links to full-text electronic publications, and will eventually include records for publications dating back to the late 1800s.
- Government Document IndexesDigitized versions of the principle indexes published by the U.S. Government Printing Office and Congress identifying documents published from 1789 to 2004. Includes the complete run of the Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications. Some titles identified in the indexes are available online; additional titles are available in Rutgers University Libraries.
- QuickSearchIncludes some hearings, including those from databases like HeinOnline and U.S. Congressional Publications.
- CIS AnnualPaper indexes to Congressional hearings and related material. Later years have a a slightly variant title but are shelved at the same location.
Special collections of hearings
The following represent other special collections of hearings that the Libraries own:
18th - 94th Congress (1823 - 1976) Microfiche, ALEXANDER DOC MFICHE Cabinet 12
This collection of unpublished Senate hearings is indexed by CIS Index to Unpublished U.S. Senate Committee Hearings in ALEXANDER DOCREF KF40.C55 1986 and its supplement.
22nd - 88th Congress (1833 - 1964) Microfiche, ALEXANDER DOC MFICHE Cabinet 12
This collection of unpublished House hearings is indexed by CIS Index to Unpublished U.S. House of Representatives Committee Hearings in ALEXANDER DOCREF KF27.A2U6 1988 and supplement.
25th - 73rd Congress (1839 - 1934) Microfiche, ALEXANDER DOC MFICHE Cabinet 13
This collection of Congressional Committee Hearings not in the U.S. Senate Library is indexed by Supplement to the Index of Congressional Hearings...1934 in ALEXANDER DOCREF KF40.U49 1971 Supp.
(1869 - 1934) Microfiche, Cabinet 13
Hearings, both House and Senate, are indexed by Index of Congressional Committee Hearings (not confidential in character) Prior to 1935 in US Senate Library in DOCREF KF40.U49 1971.