Basic Resources
- HUD USER
- From HUD's Office of Policy Development and Research. "HUD User is the primary source for federal government reports and information on housing policy and programs, building technology, economic development, urban planning, and other housing-related topics." Provides access to thousands of publications and data sets.
Other Reference Resources
- The Encyclopedia of Housing
- Andrew T. Carswell. 2nd edition. Los Angeles, SAGE, 2012.
- Entries, with bibliographies, on a wide range of topics relating to housing. A valuable resource. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Encyclopedia of American Urban History
- David R. Goldfield. Thousand Oaks, Calif., SAGE, 2007. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Encyclopedia of Urban Studies
- Ray Hutchison, editor. Thousand Oaks, Calif., Sate Publications, 2010. 2 vol.
- Some 325 entries on issues (crime, housing, gentrification, homelessness, homeownership, etc.), themes, theories, individuals, and cities. Interdisciplinary and international in scope. Entries include useful brief bibliographies. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and Suburbs. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 1998. 2 vols.
- Signed entries with bibliography relating to "specific urban phenomena, people, places, and events." Available?
- Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures: Cities and Cultures Around the World. Edited by Melvin Ember and Carol R. Ember. Danbury, Conn., Grolier, 2002. 4 vols.
- Available?
- Urban America: A Historical Bibliography. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 1983.
- Classified bibliography with abstracts of articles concerned with the development of, and life in, American cities through the 1970s. Available?
- New Jersey Guide to Affordable Housing
- Lists income-restricted affordable housing units for rent and for sale in New Jersey.
Librarian
Natalie Borisovets
Contact:
185 University Avenue
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
Subjects: American Studies, Communication, Criminal Justice, History - Global & Eurasian, History - North America, Journalism & Media Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Literatures in English, New Jerseyana, Political Science, Social Work, Spanish & Portuguese Studies, Women's & Gender Studies