New Jersey Genealogy

Most genealogical materials at Rutgers can be found in Special Collections and University Archives which is housed in the Alexander Library in New Brunswick. In addition to the Libraries' own New Jersey holdings, the collection includes the Library of the New Jersey Daughters of the American Revolution and the collections of the Genealogical Society of New Jersey. Available material includes transcriptions of family Bible records, gravestone inscriptions, church records, papers and genealogical compilations on New Jersey families, and many other printed materials. A detailed guide, Genealogical Resources: Archibald S. Alexander Library, is available.

NOTE: The Genealogical Society of New Jersey's Bible and Family Records and Cemetery Records: New Jersey Cemetery Records have been temporarily relocated to the New Jersey State Archives. See: Accessing GSNJ Collections at the New Jersey State Archives.

Special Collections and University Archives Hours:

The Special Collections and University Archives Reading Room is currently available on the first floor of Alexander Library, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays, 10am-12:30pm and 1:30pm-4:00pm, by appointment only.For more information see: SC/UA Migration Project: Seeking Higher Ground

In addition to the New Jersey materials housed in Special Collections, there are also major microform collections available at other Rutgers Libraries. The Alexander Library in New Brunswick has all available enumeration schedules for New Jersey federal and state censuses, collections of New Jersey city directories, and many New Jersey newspapers in its Microforms Collection. The Robeson Library in Camden also has the Camden/Southern Jersey portion of many of these in its collections. Printed materials of interest may also be found in other Rutgers libraries.