Skip to main content

New Jersey Genealogy: Immigration and Naturalization

Basic guide to Rutgers and other genealogical resources.

Naturalization Records

Guide to Naturalization Records in New Jersey. Newark, N. J., New Jersey Historical Records Survey Project, 1941. Naturalization procedures, as well as abstracts of Colonial, New Jersey, and Federal naturalization laws, up to 1940. County by county listing of what records were available at each county clerk's office and their arrangement. Available?

Most New Jersey naturalization records are available from the office of the County Clerk in the county in which the naturalization was recorded.

Copies of naturalizations by court action or statute for all New Jersey counties from the 1600s to about 1830 are also available from the New Jersey State Archives in Trenton. The State Archives also have copies of naturalizations for many New Jersey counties; for some counties this includes records into the 1950s.

The U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services has duplicate records of all naturalizations that occurred after September 26, 1906. The USCIS has an index to their naturalization certificate files (C-Files), and can retrieve individual records (from September 27, 1906 to April 1, 1956) based on name, date of birth, and place of birth.

Monmouth County Naturalization Record Search 1804-1906. In addition to indexing persons naturalized, the data also includes immigrants who declared their intent but did not get naturalized, those whose petition was denied, and a few whose naturalizations were cancelled.

The Monmouth County Archives also have the Monmouth naturalization records from 1907 to 1981 on microfilm.

Camden, N.J. Naturalizations Index. Index to the naturalization records that were issued by the Camden, New Jersey Federal Court, which cover the following counties: Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, Salem, Cape May, Cumberland and Atlantic counties. It includes: Petitions from 1932 through 1981; and Declarations of Intent from 1933 through 1964.

Trenton, N.J. Naturalizations Index. Index to over 26,000 naturalization records that were issued between 1838 and 1967 by the Trenton, New Jersey courts. The index contains certificate numbers for Declarations of Intent, Petitions, Repatriations, Transfer and Military WWII naturalizations.

Immigration Records

Most immigrants to New Jersey arrived via the ports of New York or Philadelphia; a small number came directly to ports in New Jersey.

Immigrant Ships Index
Currently thirteen "volumes" of transcriptions of ship passenger lists have been completed, with each volume consisting of 1000 transcribed lists. Includes ships arriving from the 17th through the 20th centuries. Browse by date, ship name, port of departure, port of arrival (including New York and Philadelphia) or surname; or search by name. Volume 2 includes a list of passengers arriving in Newark in 1836 and at a unspecified New Jersey port in 1662; Volume 3 includes a list of passengers landing in Cape May in 1828; Volume 5 includes a list of passengers landing in Perth Amboy in 1685, and Volume 13 includes a list of passengers landing in Perth Amboy in 1829. A project of the Immigrant Ships Transcribers Guild.
CastleGarden.org: America's First Immigration Center
From 1855 to 1890, the Castle was America's first official immigration center. The database lets you search for information on 11 million immigrants from 1820 through 1892, the year Ellis Island opened.
Passenger Search - Statue of Liberty - Ellis Island Foundation
Index to ship manifests listing more than 22 million immigrants and passengers who came through Ellis Island and the Port of New York between 1892 and 1924. Stephen P. Morse's One-Step Search of the Ellis Island Database allows you to set advanced search parameters in your initial search.
Passenger Arrivals at the Port of Philadelphia, 1800-1819 : The Philadelphia Baggage Lists
Michael H. Tepper, general editor; transcribed by Elizabeth P. Bentley. Baltimore : Genealogical Pub. Co., 1986.
As until 1820 federal law did not require that passenger lists for ships arriving at American ports be maintained, the "baggage lists" are among the oldest existing passenger lists. Arranged by surname, the lists identify about 40,000 passengers primarily from Great Britain (especially Northern Ireland) and Germany. Available
Dutch Immigrants in U.S. Ship Passenger Manifests, 1820-1880 : An Alphabetical Listing by Household Heads and Independent Persons
Robert P. Swierenga. 2 volumes. Wilmington, Del. : Scholarly Resources, 1983.
Approximately 55,000 names from 100,000 passenger lists of Dutch nationals arriving at New York and Philsdelphia as well as Baltimore, Boston, New Orleans, and certain minor ports. Where available, entries include name, relationship within the family, sex, age, occupation, destination, country of origin, vessel, port of embarcation, on board accommodation, and port of arrival. Available?
The Famine Immigrants : Lists of Irish Immigrants Arriving at the Port of New York, 1846-1851
Ira A. Glazier, editor ; Michael Tepper, associate editor. Baltimore : Genealogical Pub. Co., 1983-1986.
Contents: v. 1. January 1846-June 1847 -- v. 2. July 1847-June 1848 -- v. 3. July 1848-March 1849 -- v. 4. April 1849-September 1849 -- v. 5. October 1849-May 1850 -- v. 6. June 1850-March 1851 -- v. 7. April 1851-December 1851.
Chronological listing of nearly 651,000 passengers with name, age, sex, occupation, date of arrival, port of embarcation, and vessel. Available?
Germans to America : Lists of Passengers Arriving at U.S. Ports
Ira A. Glazier and P. William Filby. Wilmington, DE : SR Scholarly Resources, 1988-.
67 chronologically-arranged volumes covering the period 1850-1897, each listing approximately 70,000 names, have been published. Each volume has an index to the names listed in that volume. Up to 1890, coverage includes all major U.S. ports; beginning with 1891 only arrivals at the port of New York are included. The period covered in each volume can be found listed at the German Roots site. Available?
Germans to America Passenger Data File, 1850 - 1897
National Archives database. This series consists of records of 4,048,907 passengers who arrived at the United States between 1850 through 1897; about 90 percent identified their country of origin or nationality as Germany or a “German” state, city, or region.
Germans to America : Lists of Passengers Arriving at U.S. Ports in the 1840s
Ira A. Glazier. Wilmington, Del. : Scholarly Resources, 2002-
The period covered in each volume can be found listed at the German Roots site. Available?
Italians to America: Lists of Passengers Arriving at U.S. Ports.
Edited by Ira A. Glazier and P. William Filby. Wilmington, Del.: Scholarly Resources, 1992- .
Contents:v. 1. Passengers arriving at New York, January 1880-December 1884 -- v. 2. Passengers arriving at New York, January 1885-June 1887 -- v. 3. Passengers arriving at New York, July 1887-June 1889 -- v. 4. Passengers arriving at New York, July 1889-October 1890 -- v. 5. Passengers arriving at New York, November 1890-December 1891 -- v. 6. Passengers arriving at New York, January 1892-December 1892 -- v. 7. Passengers arriving at New York, January 1893-September 1893 -- v. 8. Passengers arriving at New York, October 1893-May 1895 -- v. 9. Passengers arriving at New York, June 1895-June 1896 -- v. 10. Passengers arriving at New York, July 1896-June 1897 -- v. 11. Passengers arriving at New York, June 1897-May 1898 -- v. 12. Passengers arriving at New York, May 1898-April 1899 -- v. 13. Passengers arriving at New York, May 1899-November 1899 -- v. 14. Passengers arriving at New York, December 1899-May 1900 -- v. 15 Passengers arriving at New York, May 1900-November 1900 -- v. 16. Passengers arriving at New York, November 1900-April 1901-- v. 17. Passengers arriving at New York, April 1901-September 1901 -- v. 18. Passengers arriving at New York, October 1901-March 1902 -- v. 19. April 1902-June 1902 -- v. 20. June 1902-October 1902 -- v. 21. November 1902-March 1903 -- v. 22. March 1903-April 1903 --v. 23. Lists of passengers arriving at U.S. ports, April 1903-June 1903 -- v. 24. Lists of passengers arriving at U.S. ports, June 1903-October 1903 --v. 25. Lists of passengers arriving at U.S. ports, October 1903-March 1904 --v. 26. Lists of passengers arriving at U.S. ports, March 1904-May 1904
Chronologically arranged volumes, projected to cover the period 1880-1915. Name index in each volume. Available?
Italians to America Passenger Data File, 1855 - 1900
National Archives database; records of 845,368 passengers who arrived at the United States between 1855 through 1900. About 99 percent identified their country of origin or nationality as Italy or one of the following Italian regions: Lombardy, Piedmont, Sardinia, Sicily, or Tuscany. Most of the records are of passengers arriving at the Port of New York.
New York City Immigrants (Austria, Galicia, Poland), 1890
Searchable database of some 44,000 immigrants from Austria, Galicia, and Poland who arrived at the Port of New York between January 2, and December 30, 1890.
New York City Immigrants (Austria, Galicia, Poland), 1891
This database contains the names of 52,647 persons who arrived in New York City during 1891 and had listed their country of citizenship as Austria, Poland, or Galicia.
Russians to America Passenger Data File, 1834 - 1897
National Archives database; records of 527,394 passengers who arrived at the United States between 1834 through 1897 and identified their country of origin or nationality as Armenia, Finland, Galicia, Lithuania, Poland, Russia, Russian Poles, or Ukraine. Most of the records are of passengers arriving at the Port of New York.
Swedish Passenger Arrivals in New York, 1820-1850.
Nils William Olsson. Chicago, Swedish Pioneer Historical Society, 1967. Available?