Skip to main content

New Jersey Genealogy: Military Records

Basic guide to Rutgers and other genealogical resources.

New Jersey State Archives

Most of the state's military records for the colonial period through the Spanish American War are held by the State Archives. Limited records have been received for twentieth-century conflicts and National Guard service.

Search and photocopy fees are listed in their Guide to Reproduction and Research Services.

National Personnel Records Center

The National Personnel Records Center-Military Personnel Records in St. Louis is the repository for military personnel, health, and medical records of discharged and deceased veterans who served in the military in the 20th century. Due to privacy laws, access to service records is restricted to the veteran and their next-of-kin (unremarried widow or widower, son or daughter, father or mother, brother of sister) or third parties who have secured the veteran's (or next-of-kin's) signed authorization.

In Memoriam: 20th Century Wars

The American Battle Monuments Commission has searchable (by name) databases of those interred at the American military cemeteries overseas and those Missing in Action from World War I, World War II, Korea and Vietnam. Record includes rank, branch of service, serial number, company, state entered service from, date of death, cemetery and plot, and military awards.

World War I Casualties: Descriptive Cards and Photographs. New Jersey State Archives database. 3,427 name entries, linked to an information card or photograph, or often both. Information cards include name; service number; race; residence; place and date of enlistment; place and date of birth; service unit and dates of assignment or transfer; date killed or otherwise died (if not killed in action, cause of death); wounds or injuries received; and the name and address of the person notified of the death.

World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel from: New Jersey. Arranged by county and then alphabetically by name of deceased. Information provided includes serial number, rank and type of casualty.

State Summary of War Casualties from World War II for Navy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard Personnel from: New Jersey. Entries in the list are arranged into the following sections: Dead (Combat), Dead (Prison Camp), Missing, Wounded and Released Prisoners, and thereunder alphabetically by name. The list includes the rank of the decedent, and the name, address and relationship of next-of-kin.

New Jersey Korean War Memorial
Includes name, rank, and service branch.

U.S. Military Fatal Casualties of the Korean War for Home-State-of-Record: New Jersey. Includes service branch, rank, birthdate, home of record [city/county], indicent or death date, and if remains recovered.

U.S. Military Fatal Casualties of the Vietnam War for Home-State-of-Record: New Jersey. Includes service branch, rank, birthdate, home of record [city/county], indicent or death date, and if remains recovered.

At Rutgers: Revolutionary War Soldiers

The Chester N. Jones Collection
30,000 cards, arranged by surname, on New Jersey soldiers in the Revolution. Located in Special Collections and filed alphabetically by surname.

Compiled Revolutionary War Service Records

Compiled Service Records of Soldiers Who Served in the American Army During the Revolutionary War: New Jersey
Washington, D.C. U.S. National Archives, (Record Group 93).

Records for Continental Army units raised in the state--state militia and volunteer (non-regular army) units. A compiled service record consists of one or more cards where information about the soldier has been abstracted from enlistment papers, muster rolls, payrolls, etc.

The New Jersey portion of the Compiled Service Records consists of 75 microfilm reels from the National Archives M881 microfilm set. These have been digitized and are available from the Internet Archive. Reels:0571 0572 0573 0574 0575 0576 0577 0578 0579 0580 0581 0582 0583 0584 0585 0586 0587 0588 0589 0590 0591 0592 0593 0594 0595 0596 0597 0598 0599 0600 0601 0602 0603 0604 0605 0606 0607 0608 0609 0610 0611 0612 0613 0614 0615 0616 0617 0618 0619 0620 0621 0622 0623 0624 0625 0626 0627 0628 0629 0630 0631 0632 0633 0634 0635 0636 0637 0638 0639 0640 0641 0642 0643 0644 0645

General Index to Compiled Military Service Records of Revolutionary War Soldiers
Washington, D.C., National Archives, 1972.
58 microfilm reels (National Archives M860). Name index to the compiled service records.

The Guide to the General Index lists the name ranges for each reel. The microfilm set is in the collection of the Center for Research Libraries; current Rutgers faculty and students may place an Interlibrary Loan Request to obtain individual reels from CRL. The General Index reels are also available at The New York Public Library

Compilations

Up to 1815

Official Register of the Officers and Men of New Jersey in the Revolutionary War
Database based on William Stryker's 1872 work. From the New Jersey State Library.
The Loyalists of New Jersey: Their Memorials, Petitions, Claims, etc., From English Records.
E. Alfred Jones. New Jersey Historical Society,1927. Available?
The King's Men on Command : A Compilation on the New Jersey Loyalist Volunteers in the American Revolution.
Theodore V. Brush. Port Jervis, N.Y. : Minisink Valley Historical Society, c1998. Available?
Revolutionary War Pensioners Living in New Jersey Before 1834.
Inez Raney Waldenmaier. Tulsa, Okla. : I. Waldenmaier, c1983. Available?
Compiled Records of the Middlesex County, New Jersey Militia 1791-1795: With Biographical Sketches of the Officers of Selected Companies.
Russell K. Dutcher. Baltimore, Md., Clearfield, 1996. Available?
Records of Officers and Men of New Jersey in Wars, 1791-1815.
New Jersey. Adjutant-General's Office. Trenton, N.J., State Gazette Publishing Co., 1909.
Contents:Expedition against the Indians in 1791.--Pennsylvania insurrection in 1794.--Naval war with France, 1798-1801.--Naval war with Tripoli, Africa, 1801-1805.--War with Great Britain, 1812-1815.--Naval war with Algiers, Africa, in 1815.
Includes name, rank, dates of enrollment and discharge.
Index to Military Men of New Jersey, 1775-1815
Ronald Vern Jackson and Gary Ronald Teeples. Bountiful, Utah : Accelerated Indexing Systems, c1977. Available?

Mexican War

Record of Officers and Men of New Jersey in the War with Mexico, 1846-1848.
Trenton, 18__? Available?

Civil War

Rutgers Special Collections and University Archives has records from a number of New Jersey militia units, the majority from the Civil War period. Many of these are described in

A Guide to the Manuscript Collection of the Rutgers University Library
/ compiled by Herbert F. Smith. New Brunswick, N.J. : Rutgers University Libraries, 1964. Available?

The New Jersey Historical Society in Newark has an 11,000-card index, arranged by county, to burial records for New Jersey Regiment Infantry Volunteers in the U.S. Civil War. Only veterans who are buried in the state of New Jersey are included.

Record of Officers and Men of New Jersey in the Civil War, 1861-1865
Digitized searchable version of William S. Stryker's classic work.
Civil War Payment Vouchers, 1861-1865
Includes soldiers' discharge certificates for final pay (over 9,300 items), affidavits of family members for pay due to deceased soldiers (over 1,400 items), and quarterly returns of the counties and cities listing the names of soldiers’ families and dependant mothers who received subsistence pay during their service.
Register of the Commissioned Officers and Privates of the New Jersey Volunteers, in the Service of the United States.
New Jersey. Adjutant-General's Office. Jersey City, Printed by J. H. Lyon, 1863.
Index to Compiled Service Records of Volunteer Union Soldiers Who Served in Organizations from the State of New Jersey [microform].
Washington, National Archives, National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1964.
26 microfilm reels.
Contents: v. 1. A-Bar -- v. 2. Bas-Bo -- v. 3. Br-Cal -- v. 4. Cam-Com -- v. 5. Con-Dau -- v. 6. Dav-Dr -- v. 7. Du-Fh -- v. 8. Fi-Ga -- v. 9. Ge-Hal -- v. 10. Ham-He -- v. 11. Hi-Hy -- v. 12. I-Kem -- v. 13. Ken-La -- v. 14. Le-Mal -- v. 15. Mem-McG -- v. 16. McH-Moo -- v. 17. Mor-O'C -- v. 18. Od-Pl -- v. 19. Po-Ri -- v. 20. Ro-Scho -- v. 21. Schr-Sk -- v. 22. Sl-St -- v. 23. St.G-Ti -- v. 24. To-V -- v. 25. W-Wh -- v. 26. Wi-Z. Available?
Soldiers of the War of the Rebellion (Civil War) from Ocean County, N.J.
Lists taken from Salter's History of Monmouth and Ocean Counties. Name, company, regiment, date enrolled, and date discharged/mustered out/died/transferred, etc.
New Jersey Roll of Honor: Union Soldiers Interred in the Military Asylum Cemetery, D. C., 1861-1864.
Includes name, rank, regiment, company, and date of death.