Skip to main content

New Jersey Genealogy: Census

Basic guide to Rutgers and other genealogical resources.

Federal Census Records

New Jersey census records for the first four federal census--1790, 1800 (except for Cumberland County), 1810, and 1820--have not survived. Except for parts of Hudson County, the 1890 (11th census) records were destroyed in a fire at the National Archives in 1921.

By law, census data on individuals may not be released for 72 years. The 1940 Census population schedules were released in April of 2012.

New Jersey State Census Records

The State of New Jersey also conducted a census in 1855, 1865, 1875, 1885, 1895, 1905, and 1915. Not all counties are available for the 1855, 1865, and 1875 census. There are no indexes to the state census records.

For a complete list of extant censuses on microfilm see the New Jersey State Archives Finding Aid. See below on right for a list of state census microfilm at Rutgers.

Federal Census

Federal Census

 

1830

Fifth census of the United States, 1830 [microform] : population schedules, New Jersey. 5 microfilm reels
Contents: Reel 1. Bergen and Essex counties -- reel 2. Burlington and Monmouth counties -- reel 3. Gloucester, Cape May, Salem and Cumberland counties -- reel 4. Morris, Sussex and Warren counties -- reel 5. Somerset, Middlesex and Hunterdon counties. Available?
United States Census, 1830
Name index to population schedules. [No images]

1840

Population schedules of the sixth census of the United States, 1840 [microform] : New Jersey. 5 microfilm reels
Contents: Reel 1. Atlantic, Bergen and Burlington counties -- reel 2. Cape May, Cumberland, Essex counties -- reel 3. Gloucester, Hudson and Hunterdon counties -- reel 4. Middlesex and Morris counties -- reel 5. Sussex, Salem and Warren counties. Available? The Robeson Library in Camden also has the reels for Burlington County and Gloucester County.
United States Census, 1840
Name index to population schedules. [No images]

1850

Population schedules of the seventh census of the United States, 1850 [microform] : New Jersey. 5 microfilm reels
Alex: Microfilm 2693
Camden: Microfilm C3.223/9 :1850/ M432(reels 3-4 and 10; Burlington, Camden, and Gloucester Counties).
United States Census, 1850
Name index and images of population schedules.

1860

Population schedules of the eighth census of the United States, 1860, [microform] : New Jersey. 7 microfilm reels
Contents: reel 1. Atlantic, Burlington, and Camden (pt. 1) counties -- reel 2. Camden (pt. 2), Cumberland and Essex (pt. 1) counties -- reel 3. Essex (pt. 2), Gloucester and Hudson (pt. 1) counties -- reel 4. Hudson (pt. 2), Hunterdon and Mercer counties -- reel 5. Middlesex, Monmouth and Morris counties -- reel 6. Ocean, Passaic, Salem and Somerset (pt. 1) counties -- reel 7. Somerset (pt. 2), Essex, Union and Warren counties. Available?. The Robeson Library in Camden also has the reels for Burlington, Camden, & Gloucester Counties.
United States Census, 1860
Name index and images of population schedules.

1870

Population schedules of the ninth census of the United States, 1870 [microform] : New Jersey. 9 microfilm reels
Contents: reel 1. Atlantic, Bergen, Burlington, Camden (pt. 1) and Essex (pt. 2) counties -- reel 2. Camden (pt. 2), Burlington (pt. 2, Cape May and Cumberland counties -- reel 3. Essex (pt. 3), Gloucester and Hudson (pt. 1) counties -- reel 4. Hudson (pt. 2) and Hunterdon (pt. 1) counties -- reel 5. Hunterdon (pt. 2), Mercer and Middlesex (pt. 1) counties -- reel 6. Middlesex (pt. 2), Monmouth and Morris counties -- reel 7. Essex county (pt. 1) -- reel 8. Ocean, Passaic, Salem and Somerset (pt. 1) counties -- reel 9. Somerset (pt. 2), Sussex, Union and Warren counties. Available? The Robeson Library in Camden also has the reels for Burlington, Camden, & Gloucester Counties.
United States Census, 1870.
Name index and images of population schedules.

1880

Population schedules of the tenth census of the United States, 1880 [microform] New Jersey. 30 microfilm reels
Contents: Reel 770-771. Atlantic, Bergen -- Reel 772-773. Burlington. -- Reel 774-775. Camden. -- Reel 776. Cape May, Cumberland -- Roll 777-780. Essex -- Reel 781. Essex, Gloucester -- Reel 782-786. Hudson -- Reel 787. Hunterdon -- Reel 788-789. Mercer -- Reel 790-791. Middlesex -- Reel 792. Monmouth -- Reel 793. Mercer -- Reel 794. Ocean, Passaic -- Reel 795-796. Passaic -- Reel 797-798. Salem, Somerset -- Reel 799-800. Sussex, Warren -- Reel 801. Warren, Union. Available? The Robeson Library in Camden also has the reels for Burlington, Camden, and Gloucester Counties.
United States Census, 1880.
Names index to population schedules. [No images]

1900

Twelfth census of the United States, 1900, New Jersey. 46 microfilm reels
Contents: reel 1. Atlantic -- reel 2. Atlantic, Bergen -- reel 3. Bergen -- reel 4. Bergen, Burlington -- reel 5. Burlington, Camden -- reel 6-7. Camden -- reel 8-9. Cumberland -- reel 10-17. Essex -- reel 18. Essex, Gloucester -- reel 19. Gloucester, Hudson -- reel 20-27. Hudson -- reel 28. Hudson, Hunterdon -- reel 29. Hunterdon, Mercer -- reel 30. Mercer -- reel 31. Mercer, Middlesex -- reel 32. Middlesex -- reel 33. Middlesex, Monmouth -- reel 34. Monmouth -- reel 35. Monmouth, Morris -- reel 36. Morris -- reel 37. Ocean, Passaic -- reel 38-40. Passaic -- reel 41. Passaic, Salem -- reel 42. Somerset, Sussex -- reel 43. Sussex, Union -- reel 44. Union -- reel 45. Union, Warren -- reel 46. Warren. Available? The Robeson Library in Camden also has Reels 4-7; 13-14.
United States Census, 1900
Name index and images of population schedules.

1910

Thirteenth census of the United States, 1910, New Jersey 46 microfilm reels
Contents: reel 1. Atlantic -- reel 2-3. Bergen -- reel 4. Bergen, Cape May -- reel 5. Burlington -- reel 6. Burlington, Camden -- reel 7-8. Camden -- reel 9. Cumberland -- reel 10-18. Essex -- reel 19. Gloucester, Hudson -- reel 20-28. Hudson -- reel 29. Hunterdon, Mercer -- reel 30-31. Mercer -- reel 32-33. Middlesex -- reel 34. Middlesex, Monmouth -- reel 35. Monmouth -- reel 36. Morris -- reel 37. Morris, Ocean -- reel 38-40. Passaic -- reel 41. Passaic, Somerset -- reel 42. Somerset, Salem -- reel 43. Sussex, Union -- reel 44. Union -- reel 45. Union, Warren -- reel 46. Warren. Available? The Robeson Library in Camden also has reels 5-6, 19 (871-872, 885).
United States Census, 1910
Name index and images of population schedules.

1920

14th census of population, 1920. New Jersey [microform]. 59 microfilm reels
Contents: Reel 1015. Atlantic. -- Reel 1016. Atlantic, Bergen. -- Reels 1017-1019. Bergen. -- Reel 1020. Bergen, Burlington. -- Reel 1021. Burlington. -- Reels 1022-1023. Camden Co.--Camden City. -- Reel 1024. Camden Co.--Camden City; Camden Co. -- Reel 1025. Camden Co., Cape May. -- Reel 1026. Cumberland. -- Reel 1027. Cumberland, Gloucester. -- Reels. 1028-1030. Essex Co. -- Reels. 1031-1039. Essex Co.--Newark City. -- Reels 1040-1050. Hudson Co.--Jersey City. -- Reel 1051. Hudson Co.-Jersey City (cont.), Hunterdon. -- Reel 1052. Mercer Co.-Trenton City. -- Reel 1053. Hunterdon. -- Reel 1054. Mercer Co.-Trenton City. -- Reels 1055-1057. Middlesex. -- Reels 1058-1059. Monmouth. -- Reel 1060. Morris. -- Reel 1061. Morris, Ocean. -- Reels 1062-1063. Passaic. -- Reels 1064-1066. Passaic Co.--Paterson City. -- Reel 1067. Salem, Somerset. -- Reel 1068. Somerset, Sussex. -- Reels 1069-1071. Union. -- Reel 1072. Union, Warren. -- Reel 1073. Warren. Available? The Robeson Library in Camden also has reels 1020-1025, 1027.
United States Census, 1920
Name index and images of population schedules.

1930

15th census, population, 1930. New Jersey [microform]. 84 microfilm reels
Contents: Reel 1-2. Atlantic (part) (1308-1309) -- reel 3. Atlantic (part), Bergen (part) (1310) -- reel 4-9. Bergen (part) (1311-1316) -- reel 10. Bergen (part), Burlington (part) (1317) -- reel 11. Burlington (part) (1318) -- reel 12. Burlington (part), Camden County, Camden City (part) (1319) -- reel 13-15, Camden County, Camden City (part) (1320-1322) -- reel 16-17. Camden (part) (1323-1324) -- reel 18. Camden (part), Cape May (1325) -- reel 19. Cumberland (part) (1326) -- reel 20. Cumberland (part), Essex (part) (1327) -- reel 21-25. Essex (part) (1328-1332) -- reel 26-35. Essex County, Newark City (part (1333-1342) -- reel 336-37. Essex (part) (1343-1344) -- reel 38. Gloucester (part) (1345) -- reel 39. Gloucester (part), Hudson (part) (1346) -- reel 40-42. Hudson 9Part) (1347-1349) -- 43-49. Hudson County, Jersey City (part) (1350-1356) -- reel 50-53. Hudson (part) (1357-1360) -- reel 54. Hunterdon Mercer (part) (1361) -- reel 55-58. Mercer County, Trenton City (part) (1362-1365) -- reel 59-62. Middlesex (part) (1366-1369) -- reel 63-65. Monmouth (part) (1370-1372) -- reel 66-67. Morris (part) (1373-1374) -- reel 68. Ocean Passaic (part) (1375) -- reel 69-70. Passaic (part) (1376-1377) -- reel 71-74. Passaic County, Paterson City (1378-1381) -- reel 75. Passaic (part), Salem (part) (1382) -- reel 76. Salem (part), Somerset (part) (1383) -- reel 77. Somerset (partt), Sussex (1384) -- reel 78-80. Union County, Elizabeth City (part) (1385-1387) -- reel 81-83. Union (part) (1388-1390) -- reel 84. Warren (1391). Available?
United States Census, 1930
Name index and images of population schedules.

1940

1940 Census
Official 1940 Census website. Free access to the 1940 census images, as well as 1940 census maps and descriptions.
1940 United States Federal Census: New Jersey
Family Search site offers free searching with access to census images.

State Census Records

New Jersey State census, 1855 [microform]
Trenton : New Jersey Dept. of State, 1855. 3 microfilm reels
Contents: Reel 1. Atlantic, Bergen, Camden, Cumberland, Gloucester -- reel 2. Hunterdon, Hudson, Monmouth, Morris -- reel 3. Passaic, Somerset, Sussex, Warren. Available?
New Jersey State Census, 1855
Name index and images of population schedules. Incomplete, with a relatively small percentage of records.
NJ State census, 1865 [microform]
Trenton : New Jersey Dept. of State 1962. 4 microfilm reels
Contents: Reel 1. Atlantic, Bergen, Burlington, Camden. -- Reel 2. Cumberland, Gloucester, Hudson, Hunterdon. -- Reel 3. Middlesex, Monmouth, Passaic. -- Reel 4. Salem, Union. Available?
New Jersey State Census, 1865
Name index and images of population schedules. Incomplete, with a relatively small percentage of records.
New Jersey State census,1875. Hunterdon County.
Trenton : New Jersey Dept. of State, 1989. 2 microfilm reels
Contents: reel 1. Alexandria Township-Raritan Touwnship -- reel 2. Raritan Township-West Amwell Township. Available?
The New Jersey State Archives also have reels for the 1875 census for
parts of Essex, Sussex, and Monmouth counties
New Jersey State census, 1885 [microform].
Trenton : New Jersey State Dept. of State, 1962. 45 microfilm
Contents: 1. Atlantic County -- 2. Bergen County -- 3-4. Burlington County -- 5-7. Camden County -- 8. Cape May County -- 9-10. Cumberland County -- 11-16. Essex County -- 17. Gloucester County -- 18-25. Hudson County -- 26. Hunterdon County -- 27-28. Mercer County -- 29-30. Middlesex County -- 31-32. Monmouth County -- 33-34. Morris County -- 35. Ocean County -- 36-38. Passaic County -- 39. Salem County -- 40. Somerset County -- 41. Sussex County -- 42-43. Union County -- 44. Warren County. Available?
Passaic County and Atlantic City Census, 1885
New Jersey State Archives database. Passaic County index includes name, location (city/ward), and record page; Atlantic City index also includes race/nationality, sex, and age.
New Jersey State Census, 1885
Name index and images of population schedules.
New Jersey State census, 1895 [microform].
Trenton : New Jersey Dept. of State, 1962. 54 microfilm reels
Contents: Reel 1. Atlantic. -- Reels 2-3. Bergen. -- Reels 4-5. Burlington. - - Reels 6-8. Camden. -- Reel 9. Cape May. -- Reels 10-11. Cumberland. -- Reels 12-21. Essex. -- Reel 22. Gloucester. -- Reels 23-33. Hudson. -- Reel 34. Hunterdon. -- Reels 35-37. Mercer. -- Reels 38-39. Middlesex. -- Reels 40-41. Monmouth. -- Reels 42-43. Morris. -- Reel 44. Ocean. -- Reels 45-48. Passaic. -- Reel 49. Salem. -- Reel 50. Somerset. -- Reel 51. Sussex. -- Reels 52-53. Union. -- Reel 54. Warren. Available?
New Jersey State Census, 1895
Browseable images of population schedules.
New Jersey State census, 1905 [microform].
Trenton, N.J. : New Jersey Dept. of State, 1962. 42 microfilm reels
Contents: 1. Atlantic County -- 2-3. Bergen County -- 4-5. Burlington County -- 6-7. Camden County -- 8. Cumberland County -- 9-16. Essex County -- 17. Gloucester County -- 18-26. Hudson County -- 27. Hunterdon County -- 28-29. Mercer County -- 30. Middlesex County -- 31-33. Monmouth County -- 33-34. Morris County -- 35-37. Passaic County -- 38. Salem County -- 39. Sussex County -- 40-41. Union County -- 42. Warren County. Available?
New Jersey State Census, 1905
Name index and images of population schedules.
New Jersey State census, 1915 [microform].
Trenton : New Jersey Dept. of State, 1962. 63 microfilm reels
Contents: 1-2. Atlantic County -- 3-7. Bergen County -- 8. Burlington County -- 9-11. Camden County -- 12. Cape May County -- 13. Cumberland County -- 14- 25. Essex County -- 26. Gloucester County -- 27-40. Hudson County -- 41. Hunterdon County -- 42-44. Mercer County -- 45-47. Middlesex County -- 48-49. Monmouth County -- 50-51. Morris County -- 52. Ocean County -- 53-57. Passaic County -- 58. Somerset County -- 59-62. Union County -- 63. Warren County. Available?
New Jersey State Census, 1915
Name index and images of population schedules.