Skip to main content

New Jersey Genealogy: Newspapers

Basic guide to Rutgers and other genealogical resources.

Obituary and Other Look-ups

While we do not offer a "look-up" service for obituaries, the Rutgers Libraries will usually (although not always) lend newspapers on microfilm to other libraries via interlibrary loan. So if you are not able to come and use the materials on site, you may have a library that you are affiliated with request that the reels of the newspaper for the period in which you are interested be sent to that library for your use.

NJ Newspapers Online

Access World News provides access to 95 more recent New Jersey newspapers including: the Jersey Journal 1999- ; the Press of Atlantic City 1988- ; the (Bergen) Record 1985- ; the (Newark) Star-Ledger 1989- ; and the (Trenton) Times 1993- .Rutgers-restricted Access

Digitized and (mostly) Searchable

Atlantic County Digitized Newspapers
Among others, includes South Jersey Republican 1863-1923; the Mays Landing Record 1877-1906; the Atlantic County Record 1908-1917; and the South Jersey Star 1917-1923

The Bayonne Herald. 1869-1915. [Hudson County].

[Bayshore] Independent
March 1972 to March 2000. [Monmouth County]

Camden Democrat. 1859-1908. [Camden County]

Cranbury Press 1886-1926 [Middlesex County]

Cranford Chronicle 1894-2005 [Union County]

Daily True American. Trenton, 1880-1908. Trenton True American. 1908-1912. Evening True American. 1912-1913. [Mercer County].

Elizabeth Daily Journal
1872-1915. [Union County]

Franklin Township Newspaper Archives. Includes The Record [1948-1958]; the Franklin News [1954-1958]; and the Franklin News-Record[1958-1978] [Somerset County]

Matawan Journal 1870-1973; and the Matawan Independent 1972-2000 [Monmouth County]

The The Millburn Township Historical Archives include The Budget [1886]; The Short-Hills News Item [1889-1891]; and The Item of Millburn and Short Hills [1889-1891, 1935-1939, and 1941-1950]. [Essex County]

New Jersey Courier
December 1852-December 1922. [Ocean County]

Newspaper Archives of New Brunswick
New Brunswick Daily Times 1871-1916; and the Daily Home News 1887, 1889, 1903-1906 [scattered issues]. [Middlesex County]

Newark Sunday Call. June 1881 to July 1883.
[Essex County]

Ocean City Public Library Newspaper Archives. April 1893 to August 1993, includes issues from the: Cape May County Gazette, Daily Reporter, Ocean City Sentinel, The Daily Sentinel, News, et al, Ocean City Daily Reporter, Ocean City Ledger, Ocean City Sentinel Ledger. One issue a month digitized. The Sentinel Ledger is available September 1993-February 1998; Ocean City Sentinel March 1998-December 2011. [Due to copyright restrictions, these are no longer available remotely and can only be accessed within the Ocean City Free Public Library.]

Historical Society of Ocean Grove newspaper collection
Ocean Grove Times, 1875-1974, plus selected issues of the Asbury Park Press and Asbury Park Journal late 1800s and early 1900s.

Red Bank Register Archive
The Red Bank Register, 1878-1964, and the Daily Register, 1964-1991. [Monmouth County]

The Rockaway Township Library has digitized The Iron Era [Dover, Morris County] from 1872 to 1905, and The Rockaway Record [Rockaway, Morris County] from 1900 (scattered issues back to 1890) to 1936.

Scotch-Plains-Fanwood Times (weekly) 1959-2008; and the Union County Local Source [weekly] 2008-present.

South Amboy Citizen
July 2, 1910 through December 29, 2000. [Middlesex County]

Tuckerton Beacon.
Only 1917 to 1922 available for remote use; online access to 1917 to 1987 available at all Ocean County library locations. [Ocean County]

Westfield Historical Newspapers
Includes among others, Westfield Leader 1907-2015; Westfield Record Press 1990-2007; and the Union County Standard 1891-1915. Four or Five issues per month digitized. [Union County]

Woodbridge Township Historic Newspapers
Among others, includes Carteret Press 1925-1965; Fords Beacon 1936-1961; Independent Leader 1940-1965; Woodbridge Independent 1919-1938; and the Woodbridge Leader 1926-1939. [Middlesex County]

New Jersey Newspapers

If you are interested in information published in New Jersey newspapers, keep in mind that in addition to any original copies that may be housed in the Libraries' Sinclair New Jersey collection, the Alexander Library also maintains an extensive newspaper collection on microfilm.

To find out what the Rutgers Libraries' may own in print or on microfilm, check The Library Catalog under the title of the newspaper in which you are interested. The basic directory of New Jersey newspapers is the

Directory of New Jersey Newspapers, 1765-1970
Edited by William C. Wright and Paul A. Stellhorn. Trenton, NJ: New Jersey Historical Commission, 1977. Available?

The New Jersey Information Center at the Newark Public Library has online their Inventory of New Jersey Newspapers on Microfilm.

The New Jersey State Archives has over 8,000 master negative reels of nearly 600 New Jersey newspapers on microfilm. Duplicate copies are available for sale; some titles are also available for interlibrary loan.

For some more information on New Jersey newspapers, see the Newspapers guide.


Obituaries and Other Notices

New Jersey Obituaries Index, 1974-1983.
Robert E. Lupp. Trenton, N.J. : Division of State Library, New Jersey State Dept. of Education, 1983.
Selective index to obituaries from seven New Jersey newspapers: Atlantic City Press, Asbury Park Press, The Record (Bergen), Camden Courier Post, Star Ledger (Newark), The Trentonian and The Times (Trenton). Available?

Asbury Park Evening Press

Obits: 1913-1919: A-G Index for the Asbury Park Evening Press

Obits: 1913-1919: H-Q Index for the Asbury Park Evening Press
Obits: 1913-1919: R-Z Index for the Asbury Park Evening Press

March 6, 1913-December 1919. Index excludes the Sunday edition.
Obits: 1921-1967 [Partial] Surname Index for the Asbury Park Evening Press
Sunday edition excluded.
Obits: 1943 Index for the Asbury Park Evening Press
Daily and Sunday editions.

Burlington County

Burlington County Newspaper Notices Index
Database with citations to birth announcements, marriage announcements, death notices, obituaries, and other related news items gathered from over twenty-five Burlington County area newspapers and publications. Majority of the citations are death notices and marriage announcements from the mid-1800's and 1910-through the WW II era; most birth announcement date form the 1970s-early 1980s. From the Burlington County Library System.
New Jersey Mirror
The New Jersey Mirror (originally the Burlington Mirror) was published from 1818 to 1947. Includes marriage and death notices, legislative and agricultural news, social news, Civil War coverage, court news, local news from individual townships, etc. Burlington County Library System database.

Cape May Newspapers

Cape May Library Obituary Finder
Includes Cape May Gazette 1/6/1982-2/10/1982, 8/11/1982-5/1/1985; Cape May County Herald, 2003-2005; The Press of Atlantic City (Cape May Edition) 1973-1987.

Hudson County Obituaries

Bayonne Herald and Greenville Register Deaths, 1901-1915
Nearly 1,700 deaths published between 1901 and 1915.
Bayonne Times Death Notice Index
Over 13,000 death notices appearing in The Bayonne Times from 1915 to 1945.
Hudson Observer Death Notices
July 1904-January 1906.
Jersey Journal Obituaries
1907 [Jan. & May]; 1924; 1925; 1925 [Aug., Oct. & Dec.]; and Dec. 1927.
Union City Deaths 1936-1946
Names and death dates of 326 individuals who died in the Union City vicinity between 1936 and 1946. Not a complete record of death in Union City.

Hunterdon County

Hunterdon County Democrat
Abstracts, 1838-1888.
Hunterdon Gazette
Surname index. 1825-1866.
Hunterdon Republican
Abstracts currently available: 1856-1900; 1928 and 1930.

New Brunswick Newspapers

List of Marriage and Death Notices Appearing in the New Brunswick Newspapers Between the Years 1792-1816.
Agnes Williamson Storer. New Brunswick, N.J., 1931. Available?
Elmer Tindall Hutchinson Papers
Manuscript collection in Rutgers Special Collections includes abstracts (4 folders and 4 drawers of cards) of marriage and death notices, 1792-1865, from newspapers published at New Brunswick. The New Brunswick newspapers abstracted include: Guardian or New Brunswick Advertiser, 1792-1807 and 1810-1813; Fredonian (later New-Brunswick Fredonian), 1811-1827, 1838-1844, 1847-1851 and 1861-1865; Times and New Brunswick General Advertiser (and its successors), 1815-1823 and 1858-1862; and New Brunswick Daily News, 1855-1858.
Index to the Times and the Times and New Jersey Union, 1859-(June) 1868 : A Compilation of Obituaries, Marriages, Injuries, Accidents, Advertisements and Petitions.
Kendall Park, NJ : New Jersey Information Service, 1993. Available?
Index to New Brunswick Daily Times, 1872-1876 : A Compilation of Obituaries, Marriages, Injuries, Accidents, Arrests, Social Clubs and Other Significant Local and Regional Items of Interest.
Kendall Park, NJ : New Jersey Information Service, c1992. Available?
Index to New Brunswick Daily Times, 1877-1881 : A Compilation of Obituaries, Marriages, Injuries, Accidents, Arrests, Social Clubs and Other Significant Local and Regional Items of Interest.
Kendall Park, NJ : New Jersey Information Service, 1992. Available?
Index to New Brunswick Daily Times, 1887-1891 : A Compilation of Obituaries, Marriage Announcements, Injuries, Accidents, Arrests, Social Happenings, and Other Significant Local and Regional Items of Interest.
Kendall Park, NJ : New Jersey Information Service, 1993. Available?

Trenton Obituaries

Trenton Obituary Indexes
Year by year indexes to obituaries found in Trenton newspapers, 1883-1889; 1901-1934; March 1964; December 1967; 1973-1993. Includes an Index to Deaths Reported in Trenton Newspapers, 1770s - 1899, for Surnames beginning with the letter "A"

Warren County

Belvidere Apollo/Intelligencer
Obituary Index, 1826-1953.
The Washington Star
Obituary index to the Washington, N.J. newspaper. Includes, 1891-1915; 1917-1936; and 1962-1980.