Need help?
Introduction
Locating health-related data and statistics can be challenging! This guide will help you locate health-related data.
Here are a couple things to keep in mind when trying to locate data on a health-related topic:
- Think in terms of major stakeholders. Who is likely to be responsible for keeping track of data on a particular health-related topic?
- It takes time to compile data on a topic. The past few years may have to suffice as "recent" data.
Want to learn more about concepts in statistics? Check out:
Data and Statistics Resources
Similar to searching the literature in various disciplines, you made need to explore various resources to locate relevant data and statistics. Use the tabbed box to identify resources. If you run into problems finding relevant research content, please contact a librarian!
- American Community Survey (ACS)Collected by the U.S Census Bureau. The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing survey that provides data every year. Survey samples the U.S population on topics such as age, sex, race, family, income, health insurance, education, disabilities, commuting, housing and more.
- Cochrane Library (Authentication Required)Is a collection of databases including Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, etc.
- Data-Planet Statistical DatasetsProvides fast and easy access to data from more than 70 organizational sources, with over 35 billion data points from 4.9 billion datasets available. All of the data have been standardized and structured, and are described with up to 37 fields of metadata, including a controlled vocabulary. Coverage includes US Federal, US State, International, and Nonprofit organizational sources.
- Data.govData.gov aims to improve public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.The site is a repository for federal, state, local, and tribal government information, made available to the public.
- FASTATSA-Z topic list of statistics and data available from U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
- Google Public Data ExplorerAllows you to search across publicly available data sets via the Google search interface.
- Health, United StatesHealth, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics. Presents national trends in health statistics. Each report includes an executive summary, highlights, a chartbook, trend tables, extensive appendixes, and an index. Produced by the National Center for Health Statistics.
- Kaiser Family FoundationFeatures data on health care produced by the Kaiser Family Foundation as well as from other organizations. Includes data on each U.S. state.
- Policy MapPolicyMap is an online data and mapping application that provides access to over 10,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, income, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, and more.
- StatistaGathers data from over 18,000 sources, including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
- Wolfram AlphaDynamic computations based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms, and methods. Topics include health and medicine, food and nutrition, and socioeconomic data.
- WONDER: Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic ResearchProvides a single point of access to a wide variety of public health reports and data systems produced by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Conditions Featured
Cancer
Heart Disease and Diabetes
HIV/AIDS
Injuries and Occupational Health
Mental Health and Substance Abuse
Obesity and Overweight
Oral Health
- Cancer.gov - StatisticsProduced by the National Cancer Institute (NCI). Includes links to: Cancer Mortality Maps and Graphs; Statistics by Cancer Type; Data Sources; Understanding Statistics (includes estimated U.S. cancer prevalence); NCI Research on Childhood Cancers.
- NCI Cancer AtlasThe NCI Cancer Atlas is an interactive digital atlas that enables users to generate geographic maps of cancer rates, risk factors for cancer, screening statistics, and other geographical data related to cancer. The system offers free data download for research purposes.
- Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER)Authoritative source of information on cancer incidence and survival in the United States compiled by the National Cancer Institute (NCI).
- United States Cancer StatisticsThe United States Cancer Statistics are the official government statistics on cancer. These statistics include cancer registry data from CDC’s National Program of Cancer Registries (NPCR) and the National Cancer Institute’s (NCI) Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program,external icon as well as mortality data from CDC’s National Center for Health Statistics. The statistics provide information on newly diagnosed cancer cases and cancer deaths for the whole U.S. population.
- Cardiovascular diseasesStatistics on cardiovascular diseases (CVDs) compiled by the World Health Organization (WHO).
- Diabetes Data & StatisticsDiabetes Data and Statistics, the Web publication of the US National Diabetes Surveillance System, provides resources documenting the public health burden of diabetes and its complications in the United States.
- Global Report on DiabetesThe first WHO Global report on diabetes demonstrates that the number of adults living with diabetes has almost quadrupled since 1980 to 422 million adults.
- Heart Attack and Stroke StatisticsIncludes biostatistical fact sheets on selected populations and risk factors; check source notes for original data sources. Compiled by the American Heart Association.
- HIV/AIDSCollected data on internationally recognized AIDS indicators and on the capacity of health care facilities to deliver HIV prevention and treatment services. Collected by MEASURE DHS; Funded by U.S. Agency for International Development’s (USAID) Bureau for Global Health (BGH)
- HIV/AIDS Statistics CenterProduced by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC). Site links to the following United States data: Basic Statistics (Cumulative AIDS Cases); Surveillance Reports; Populations at Risk; and Trends.
- HIV/AIDS Surveillance DatabaseCompilation of information on the AIDS pandemic and on HIV seroprevalence (infection) in population groups in developing countries, from studies appearing in the medical and scientific literature, presented at international conferences, and appearing in the press. Summary tables include complete list of references to data sources. Compiled by U.S. AID.
- UN AIDS Data and Data ToolsContains links to epidemiological data and reports regarding HIV/AIDS on a global level.
- Injury, Illness and Fatality StatisticsPresents the number and rate of injuries and illnesses by industry, additional details on the worker injured, the nature of the disabling condition, and the event and source producing that condition for those cases that involve one or more days away from work, and fatality data. Compiled by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
- Injury, Violence and SafetyList of topics compiled by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Includes data on child abuse, brain injuries, falls among older adults and motor vehicle injuries.
- WISQARS: Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting SystemMaintained by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. WISQARS provides customized reports of injury-related data.
- Worker Health Surveillance Data and StatisticsLink provides access to to a range of CDC/NIOSH surveillance resources. Can be used as a central checkpoint for the latest NIOSH surveillance data and statistics as well as historic NIOSH surveillance information.
- WHO: Global Status Report on Alcohol and Health 2018Profiling alcohol use, problems and policies in 175 countries, the Global Status Report on Alcohol summarizes the information available to date from published reports and articles, expert informants, WHO central and regional offices, other UN agencies, and governmental and private sources.
- Mental Disorders (World Health Organization)This fact sheet compiled by the World Health Organization (WHO) contains data on the global incidence/prevalence of mental disorders
- National Comorbidity SurveyFirst large-scale field survey of mental health in the United States.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health - DataCompiled by the Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration (SAMSHA), this site includes national statistics on: mental health, metal illness and suicide; alcohol abuse and binge drinking; smoking; drug abuse, drug-related emergency room visits; substance abuse; and treatment services.
- Trends and Statistics on Drug AbuseIncludes information on drugs of abuse; data tables and figures from the Monitoring the Future study; fact sheets and other online publications. Produced by the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA).
- Obesity and OverweightSite contains CDC data on obesity and overweight in the United States.
- World Health Data Platform: Overweight and obesityStatistics on overweight and obesity compiled by the World Health Organization (WHO).
- The State of Obesity 2019Compiled by the Trust for America’s Health, this report "provides an annual snapshot of obesity rates nationwide" as well as policy suggestions to alleviate the burden of obesity in the united States.
- Dental Care - Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS)Detailed information on dental events, including source of payment(s), total payment and total charge, type of provider seen and procedures(s) associated with each dental event. Compiled by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.
- Healthy People 2020: Oral Health Objectives (Baseline Data)Lists the oral health objectives for the Healthy People 2020 initiative. Select "Expand All Objectives" to see the baseline data that is available for each objective listed.
- National Oral Health Surveillance System (NOHSS)Contains statistics on oral health indicators, including: Dental Visit, Teeth Cleaning, Complete Tooth Loss, Lost 6 or More Teeth, Fluoridation Status, Dental Sealants, Caries Experience, Untreated Tooth Decay, and Cancer of the Oral Cavity and Pharynx.
- Oral Health Statistics and DataProvides links to a federal web sites containing data related to oral and craniofacial health. Compiled by the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR).
Topics Featured
Health Insurance, Medicare, Medicaid & Social Security
Healthcare Expenditure
Healthcare Personnel
Hospitals and Medical Facilities
Medical Procedures
- Research, Statistics, Data & Systems - Data and Statistics - Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services (CMS)Includes national health care indicators and expenditures (aggregate national health care spending); Medicare enrollment (aged, disabled, all), utilization, and expenditure; DRG data for short-stay hospitals; Medicare Chartbook; Data Compendium (Annual compilation of national health care data); Medicaid data.
- Health Insurance DataCompiled by the U.S. Bureau of the Census. Site links to Current Population Survey reports and tables, including health insurance coverage, children's health insurance, low-income uninsured children by state, and detailed historical tables (1987- ).
- Mapping Medicare DisparitiesThe Mapping Medicare Disparities (MMD) Tool contains health outcome measures for disease prevalence, costs, and hospitalization for 18 specific chronic conditions, emergency department utilization, readmissions rates, mortality and preventable hospitalizations.
- MedicareProduced by the Kaiser Family Foundation.
- Physician Appointment Wait Times and Medicaid and Medicare Acceptance RatesThe private research firm Merritt Hawkins & Associates conducted a large survey of major metropolitan areas and wait times for different specialties and their Medicaid/Medicare acceptance rates.
- Social Security StatisticsProvides ongoing statistical data and research analyses of the old-age, survivors, and disability insurance (OASDI) and Supplemental Security Income (SSI) programs.
- State of Health Care Quality ReportContains plan-specific information on clinical performance, accreditation and member satisfaction from 273 organizations, collectively covering some 63.3 million lives, that voluntarily submitted their performance results to the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) . Includes national, regional and state averages, as well as benchmarks, on specific measures of care and service.
- The UninsuredProduced by the Kaiser Family Foundation. Includes data on topics related to the uninsured.
- Dartmouth Atlas ProjectProduced by the Dartmouth Institute, the project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
- Research, Statistics, Data & Systems - Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services (CMS)Includes national health care indicators and expenditures (aggregate national health care spending); Medicare enrollment (aged, disabled, all), utilization, and expenditure; DRG data for short-stay hospitals; Medicare Chartbook; Data Compendium (Annual compilation of national health care data); Medicaid data.
- Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS)A set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.
- AAFP Facts about Family PracticeA compilation of studies compiled by the American Academy of Family Practice related to primary care.
- Providers & Service UseKaiser Family Foundation provides data related to dentists, physicians and non-physicians (nurses and physician assistants) for both the United States as well as for individual states.
- American Hospital DirectoryIncludes hospital revenue data derived from Medicare Cost Reports and info on number of staffed beds, discharges.
- Fast Facts on US HospitalsProduced by the American Hospital Association (AHA).
- BenchmarkingCreated by the Dartmouth Institute. The Benchmarking tool allows you to compare rates in selected areas or hospitals to each other or the national or state average.
- Data.Medicare.GovAccess to data-sets regarding hospitals, nursing homes, dialysis facilities, and home health agencies. Compiled by the Center for Medicaid and Medicare Services.
- Facts on Hospice and Palliative CareData is produced by the National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization (NHPCO), whic is the largest nonprofit membership organization representing hospice and palliative care programs and professionals in the United States.
- Healthcare Cost & Utilization Project (HCUP)U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's health statistics and information on hospital stays at the national, regional, and state level.
- National Hospital Discharge and Ambulatory Surgery DataConducted by National Center for Health Statistics, the survey provides information on characteristics of inpatients discharged from non-Federal short-stay hospitals in the US.
- Nursing Home ComparePrimary purpose of this tool is to provide detailed information about the past performance of every Medicare and Medicaid certified nursing home in the country. Compiled by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services.
- Physician Appointment Wait Times and Medicaid and Medicare Acceptance RatesThe private research firm Merritt Hawkins & Associates conducted a large survey of major metropolitan areas and wait times for different specialties and their Medicaid/Medicare acceptance rates.
- Inpatient ProceduresThe National Hospital Discharge Survey contains data on: Number and rate of hospital discharges; Average length of stay and days of care; First-listed diagnoses by selected patient characteristics; Procedures by selected patient characteristics; Hospital inpatient deaths; and Expected source of payment.
- Outpatient ProceduresThe National Ambulatory Medical Care Survey and the National Hospital Ambulatory Medical Care Survey contains data on: Physician Office Visits; Community Health Center Visits; Hospital Outpatient Department Visits; and Hospital Emergency Department.
- Relative Price and Provider Price VariationContains reports prepared by the Massachusetts' Center for Health Information and Analysis.
New Jersey
- The New Jersey Department of Health's State Health Assessment Data (NJSHAD) SystemThe New Jersey State Health Assessment Data (NJSHAD) System provides access to public health datasets, statistics, and information on the health status of New Jerseyans in five ways: health topics; community profiles; indicator reports; dataset queries; and other data and resources.
Nutritional Status
- ERS/USDA Data ProductsList of data sets on a variety of topics produced by the Economic Research Service (ERS) of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.
- FAOSTAT DataProduced by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, this site provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.
- National Health and Nutrition Examination (NHANES)A program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations. Coordinated by the National Center for Health Statistics of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
- Nutrition Landscape Information System (NLIS)Nutrition Landscape Information System (NLIS) is web-based tool provides nutrition and nutrition-related health and development data in the form of automated country profiles and user-defined downloadable data. Produced by the World Health Organization.
- What We Eat in America (WWEIA)What We Eat in America (WWEIA) represents the integration of two nationwide surveys - USDA's Continuing Survey of Food Intakes by Individuals (CSFII) and HHS' NHANES.
Populations Featured
Aged
Children
Immigrants
Military Personnel and Veterans
Minorities
Persons with Disabilities
Refugees
Women
- Aging - Data and ResearchCompiled by the Administration on Aging (AOA). Includes data on the following topics: ACL Data: AGing Integrated Database (AGID), Profile of Older Americans, Census Data & Population Estimates, Projected Future Growth of Older Population, Minority Aging, and Key Indicators of Well-Being.
- Mapping Medicare DisparitiesThe Mapping Medicare Disparities (MMD) Tool contains health outcome measures for disease prevalence, costs, and hospitalization for 18 specific chronic conditions, emergency department utilization, readmissions rates, mortality and preventable hospitalizations.
- Older Americans 2020: Key Indicators of Well-BeingA periodic Chartbook prepared by the Federal Interagency Forum (Forum) on Aging-Related Statistics, provides a comprehensive, easy-to-understand picture of our older population.
- State of Aging and Health in America ReportReport assesses the health status and health behaviors of U.S. adults aged 65 years and older and makes recommendations to improve the mental and physical health of all Americans in their later years. The report includes national- and state-based report cards that examine 15 key indicators of older adult health.
- KIDS COUNT Data BookNational and state-by-state effort to track the status of children in the United States. It measures the educational, social, economic, and physical well-being of children.
- Child Health USAPopulation characteristics, health status of infants, children and adolescents, health services utilization, state- and city-level data, and MCH measures and goals. Compiled by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration, and Maternal and Child Health Bureau.
- ChildStats.govFederal and state statistics and reports on children and their families, including population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment,and education.
- Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent HealthThe Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health provides online access to survey data that allows users to compare state, regional, and nationwide results – plus resources and personalized assistance for interpreting and reporting findings.
- Clinical Growth Charts for ChildrenProvide data on national averages for children's height, weight and body mass index. Based upon data compiled by the National Center for Health Statistics.
- Causes of Cancers in ChildrenA narrative background summary (with statistics) and recent key findings on causes of cancer in children. Produced by the National Cancer Institute.
- The State of the World's Children ReportsPrepared by the United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund (UNICEF). Economic and social statistics on the nations of the world, with particular reference to children's well-being. Includes tables for basic indicators, nutrition, health, education, demographic indicators, economic indicators, women, and the rate of progress.
- Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
monitors six categories of priority health-risk behaviors among youth and young adults -- behaviors that contribute to unintentional and intentional injuries; tobacco use; alcohol and other drug use; sexual behaviors that contribute to unintended pregnancy and sexually transmitted diseases (STDs) (including HIV infection); unhealthy dietary behaviors; and physical inactivity.
- Yearbook of Immigration Statistics - United StatesProduced by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, "the Yearbook is a compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals who, during the specified fiscal year, were granted lawful permanent residence, were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis, applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration enforcement actions.
- Immigration: Data MattersThis guide links users directly to the most credible, high-quality data on immigrants and immigration in the United States and internationally. The easy-to-use publication includes more than 220 data resources compiled by governmental and authoritative nongovernmental sources.
- Migration and Health Research CenterThe Migration and Health Research Center strives to improve the health of migrant communities globally by: conducting research with the aim of improving the health of migrants; promoting awareness of issues of migration and health through an annual Summer Institute, social media, lectures, and policy briefs; disseminating research findings and news related to migration and health for academic and non-academic audiences; and collaborating with international partners to improve the health of migrants globally
- Resources on Immigrants and Health Care CoverageComplied by the Kaiser Family Foundation, this site contains resources on the health coverage of America’s immigrants.
- National Center for Veterans Analysis and StatisticsThe National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics (NCVAS) supports planning, analysis, and decision-making activities through the collection, validation, analysis, and dissemination of key statistics on Veteran population and VA programs.
- Reports - Military Health System (MHS)Online reports released by the Military Health System (MHS), which is responsible for health care delivery, medical education, public health, private sector partnerships, and cutting edge medical research and development in relation to the U.S. armed services.
- National Healthcare Quality and Disparities ReportsThe National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report presents trends for measures related to access to care, affordable care, care coordination, effective treatment, healthy living, patient safety, and person-centered care. The report presents, in chart form, the latest available findings on quality of and access to healthcare, as well as disparities related to race and ethnicity, income, and other social determinants of health.
- LGBTData.comMaintained by Drexel University, LGBTData.com serves as a no-cost open-access clearinghouse for the collection of sexual orientation & gender identity data and measures.
- Office of Minority Health - Policy and DataCollection of statistical resources pertaining to the health status of minority groups in the Unites States.
- New Jersey Health Indicator Report of Population DemographicsNJSHAD Indicator Reports are brief online reports that contain data, graphs, and contextual information for a specific public health issue, such as why it's important, what the current status is, and what is being done to improve it. Each Indicator Report has a graph (or several graphs) to give a picture of the data. Text is also provided to answer the most commonly asked questions about the specific topic addressed.
- Annual Disability Statistics CompendiumCompiled by the Institute on Disability at University of New Hampshire, this web-based tool pools disability statistics published by various federal agencies together in one place.
- DisabilityData on disability collected by the U.S. Census Bureau via the American Community Survey (ACS) and the Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP).
- Disability and FunctioningData compiled by the National Center for Health Statistics on non-institutionalized adults 18 years and over.
- Disability and RehabilitationWorld-wide data on disability and rehabilitation compiled by the World Health Organization (WHO).
- Disability Employment StatisticsCompiled by the Office of Disability Employment Policy, this site contains statistical information related to the employment status of people with disabilities .
- Disability StatisticsCompiled by Cornell University's Institute on Employment and Disability, this site features links to major sources for data and statistics on persons with disabilities int he United States.
- Admissions and Arrivals - Refugee Processing CenterData on refugee admissions and arrivals (including data by region and state) produced by the Refugee Processing Center (RPC) [which] is operated by the U.S Department of State (DOS) Bureau of Population, Refugees, and Migration (PRM).
- Migration Policy InstituteThe Migration Policy Institute provides analysis, development, and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at local, national, and international levels. It aims to meet the demand for pragmatic and thoughtful responses to the challenges and opportunities that large-scale migration, whether voluntary or forced, presents to communities and institutions in an increasingly integrated world.
- Refugee Arrival DataCompiled by the U.S. Office of Refugee Resettlement, this site provides the option to view refugee arrival data sorted by country of origin and state of initial resettlement in the United States.
- Refugee population by country or territory of asylumData is compiled by the World Bank.
- Refugee population by country or territory of originData is compiled by the World Bank.
- Statistics & Operational Data - United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)Provides data, reports, maps and other information essential for field operations. It also carries statistical reports on the people of concern to UNHCR: refugees, asylum-seekers, returned refugees, the internally displaced and stateless people. Detailed information on country of asylum, place of origin, gender, age, location and legal status of refugees is available.
- Gender Data (DHS)Includes survey data information related to the following: Women's Status and Empowerment, Domestic Violence, and Female Genital Cutting.
- Guttmacher Institute Data CenterBuild, download and share custom tables, graphs and maps utilizing data on key sexual and reproductive health indicators.
- Study of Womens Health Across the Nation (SWAN)The SWAN Public Use Datasets provide access to longitudinal data describing the physical, biological, psychological, and social changes that occur during the menopausal transition. Data collected from 3,302 SWAN participants from Baseline through the 10th Annual Follow-Up visit are currently available to the public. Registered users are able to download datasets in a variety of formats, search variables and view recent publications.
- FastStats - Women's Health (CDC)Provides statistics on health status, alcohol use, physical activity, smoking, and more.
- Women's Health (Kaiser Family Foundation)Includes health status, utilization of services, health insurance coverage, family planning and childbirth, and abortion statistics and policies. Also view State Profiles for Women’s Health, an interactive map and dashboard of the latest national and state-specific data on women’s health, including insurance and Medicaid coverage, poverty, mental health, HIV, cancer, pregnancy, abortions, and use of preventive services. Many indicators provide health care information for women of different racial and ethnic groups.
- Women & Health (WHO)Statistics on maternal mortality, life expectancy, causes of death, and more.
- Women's Health Initiative (NYU)The Women's Health Initiative (WHI) is a long-term national health study that focuses on strategies for preventing heart disease, breast cancer, colorectal cancer, and osteoporotic fractures in postmenopausal women. The study includes data from 161,808 women aged 50-79. Datasets include information on demographics, diet, medical and physical measurements, medical history, outcomes (both adjudicated and self-reported), psychological habits, social habits, personal habits, genotypes, and specimen results.
Surveillance
- Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)Coordinated by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the BRFSS is a state-based system of health surveys that collects information on health risk behaviors, preventive health practices, and health care access primarily related to chronic disease and injury. World’s largest telephone survey; it tracks health risks of adults in the US.
- Diabetes Data and StatisticsProvides resources documenting the public health burden of diabetes and its complications in the United States. The surveillance system also includes county-level estimates of diagnosed diabetes and selected risk factors for all U.S. counties to help target and optimize the resources for diabetes control and prevention.
- Global Alert and Response (GAR)Created by the World Health Organization, GAR is an integrated global alert and response system for epidemics and other public health emergencies based on strong national public health systems and capacity and an effective international system for coordinated response.
- HIV/AIDS Statistics CenterCDC’S National HIV Surveillance System is the primary source for monitoring HIV trends in the United States. CDC funds and assists state and local health departments to collect the information. Health departments report de-identified data to CDC so that information from around the country can be analyzed to determine who is being affected and why.
- HIV/AIDS Surveillance DatabaseCompilation of information on the AIDS pandemic and on HIV seroprevalence (infection) in population groups in developing countries, from studies appearing in the medical and scientific literature, presented at international conferences, and appearing in the press. Compiled by U.S. AID.
- Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report: MMWRProduced by the U.S.Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Contains data on specific diseases as reported by state and territorial health departments and reports on infectious and chronic diseases, environmental hazards, natural or human-generated disasters, occupational diseases and injuries, and intentional and unintentional injuries.
- National Notifiable Diseases Surveillance SystemCoordinated by the U.S.Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Lists notifiable infectious and non-infectious diseases.
- Oral Health IndicatorsContains statistics on oral health indicators, including: Dental Visit, Teeth Cleaning, Complete Tooth Loss, Lost 6 or More Teeth, Fluoridation Status, Dental Sealants, Caries Experience, Untreated Tooth Decay, and Cancer of the Oral Cavity and Pharynx. Compiled by the
National Oral Health Surveillance System (NOHSS). - Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER)Authoritative source of information on cancer incidence and survival in the United States compiled by the National Cancer Institute (NCI).
- Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System (WISQARS)Maintained by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. WISQARS provides customized reports of injury-related data.
- Worker Health Surveillance Data and StatisticsLink provides access to to a range of CDC/NIOSH surveillance resources. Can be used as a central checkpoint for the latest NIOSH surveillance data and statistics as well as historic NIOSH surveillance information.
- Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
monitors six categories of priority health-risk behaviors among youth and young adults -- behaviors that contribute to unintentional and intentional injuries; tobacco use; alcohol and other drug use; sexual behaviors that contribute to unintended pregnancy and sexually transmitted diseases (STDs) (including HIV infection); unhealthy dietary behaviors; and physical inactivity.
Topics Featured
- America's Health RankingsProduced by the United Health Foundation, America's Health Rankings presents a yearly 'top ten' list of healthiest, and least healthiest, states based on health status indicators, such as: access to primary care, high school degree attainment, smoking, activity level, etc.
- Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)Coordinated by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the BRFSS is a state-based system of health surveys that collects information on health risk behaviors, preventive health practices, and health care access primarily related to chronic disease and injury. World’s largest telephone survey; it tracks health risks of adults in the US.
- Health, United StatesHealth, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics. Presents national trends in health statistics. Each report includes an executive summary, highlights, a chartbook, trend tables, extensive appendixes, and an index. Produced by the National Center for Health Statistics.
- Healthy People 2030Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.
- National Health and Nutrition Examination (NHANES)A program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations. Coordinated by the National Center for Health Statistics of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
- National Health Interview Survey (NHIS)Principal source of information on the health of the civilian non-institutionalized population of the United States and is one of the major data collection programs. Interviewers are from the U.S. Census Bureau.
- Birth and Infant Mortality DataBirth and infant mortality rates for the United States compiled by the National Center for Health Statistics.
- Life ExpectancyCompiled by the National Center for Health Statistics.
- Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report: MMWRProduced by the U.S.Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Contains data on specific diseases as reported by state and territorial health departments and reports on infectious and chronic diseases, environmental hazards, natural or human-generated disasters, occupational diseases and injuries, and intentional and unintentional injuries.
- Mortality DataOne of the few sources of health-related data that are comparable for small geographic areas and are available for a long time period in the United States. The data are also used to present the characteristics of those dying in the United States, to determine life expectancy, and to compare mortality trends with other countries. Compiled by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Major Data Sources
- Asia & South Pacific:Health StatisticsCreated by Himmelfarb Library at George Washington University, this guide links to health-related data pertaining to Asia & the South Pacific.
- Demographic and Health SurveysProduced by MEASURE DHS. Nationally representative household surveys with large sample sizes of about 5,000 households in developing countries. Provide data for a wide range of monitoring and impact evaluation indicators in the areas of population, health, and nutrition, including family planning, maternal and child health, child survival, HIV/AIDS/STIs (sexually transmitted infections), and reproductive health. Survey information can be searched by country/year, by sub-region, or by content.
- Disability and RehabilitationWorld-wide data on disability and rehabilitation compiled by the World Health Organization (WHO).
- Eurostat: Statistics on HealthLinks to statistical information on public health, health & safety and health indicators among European Union (EU) nations.
- FAOSTAT DataProduced by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, this site provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.
- Global Health Observatory (GHO)Guide to health and health-related epidemiological and statistical information available from the World Health Organization, and elsewhere.
- Health and Social Care Statistics - United KindgomProduced by the Office of National Statistics - United Kingdom. Site contains data on the following: Health Care System, Health of the Population, Social Care and Specialist Health Services.
- Health Data - Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)Includes a collection of summaries of health-related facts and figures that characterize each country in the Americas; maps and graphs showing the magnitude and distribution patterns of selected health indicators; indicators include selected mortality rates, incidence of diseases under national surveillance, resources and health services coverage.
- Health in CanadaCompiled by Statistics Canada. A comprehensive topical index to health statistics. Topics include: disability, factors influencing health, health service performance, injuries, mental health, and prevention of disease.
- HIV/AIDS Surveillance DatabaseCompilation of information on the AIDS pandemic and on HIV seroprevalence (infection) in population groups in developing countries, from studies appearing in the medical and scientific literature, presented at international conferences, and appearing in the press. Summary tables include complete list of references to data sources. Compiled by U.S. AID.
- International Programs DataContains statistical tables of demographic, and socio-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world. Major types of data available include: Population by age and sex; Vital rates, infant mortality, and life tables. Compiled by the U.S. Bureau of the Census.
- Nutrition Landscape Information System (NLIS)Nutrition Landscape Information System (NLIS) is web-based tool provides nutrition and nutrition-related health and development data in the form of automated country profiles and user-defined downloadable data. Produced by the World Health Organization.
- OECD Health DataContains data on health expenditure, health care resources, health care activities, mortality, and risk factors for OECD member nations
- The State of the World's Children ReportsPrepared by the United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund (UNICEF). Economic and social statistics on the nations of the world, with particular reference to children's well-being. Includes tables for basic indicators, nutrition, health, education, demographic indicators, economic indicators, women, and the rate of progress.
- UNAIDS DataContains links to UNAIDS' most recent data.
- World Development Indicators - Health DataStatistical data compiled by the World Bank for over 550 development indicators and time series data for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
- World Health Organization (WHO) Data and StatisticsWHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation.
- World Health StatisticsThe World Health Statistics series is WHO’s annual compilation of health statistics for its 194 Member States. World Health Statistics focuses on the proposed health and health-related Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and associated targets.
