Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Statistical and Data Resources for New Jersey
A collection of research guides for data resources and services.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets [Rutgers Restricted]
Easy access to data from more than 70 organizational sources with over 4.9 billion datasets. Coverage includes US Federal, US State, International, and Nonprofit organizational sources.
New Jersey Data Book
The online publication of the New Jersey Legislative District Data Book. Produced by Rutgers Center for Government Services, the Data Book provides data on NJ municipalities, congressional and legislative districts, counties, schools, elections, and people.
NJOIT Open Data Center
Subject links to sources of NJ data.
PolicyMap [Rutgers Restricted]
An online data and mapping application that provides access to over 10,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, income, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, and more. Data is available at many common geographic entities (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, metro area) as well as unique geographies such as school districts and political boundaries.
Provides users with access to interactive, customizable and up-to-date comparative performance measurement data for 50 states in six key areas: fiscal and economic, public safety and justice, energy and environment, transportation, health and human services, and education. From the Council of State Governments.
Statistical Reference Index (SRI) [Print resource]
Print edition begins in 1980. This index covers USA private organizations and state government agencies. Includes annual reports, periodicals and monographs. Indexed by subjects, names categories, issuing sources, and titles. Alexander Library has the SRI collection on microfiche from 1980 to 2017.
Transparency Center (YourMoney.NJ.Gov)
Data and analytical tools for NJ state revenue, expenditures, payroll, and debt, with related resources.
Explore Census Data (data.census.gov)
The primary site for accessing Census Bureau data, including upcoming releases from the American Community Survey, the Economic Census, the 2020 Census, and more. All new data (previously released on American FactFinder) will be released on this new platform.
Census of Governments
Identifies the scope and nature of the nation's state and local government sector; provides authoritative benchmark figures of public finance and public employment; classifies local government organizations, powers, and activities; and measures federal, state, and local fiscal relationships.
New Jersey State Data Center
The data center is a cooperative project of the State of New Jersey and the U.S. Bureau of the Census. It has data on census-related topics such as employee wages in NJ.
QuickFacts: New Jersey (U.S. Census Bureau )
Basic statistical information on the people, business, and geography of the state and counties of New Jersey, with links to additional data sets.
Social Explorer [Rutgers Restricted]
Interactive data maps of the United States, including Census tracts and historical data back to 1790. Some material requires a subscription.
DOE Archives (NJ Department of Education)
Includes No Child Left Behind School, District, and State reports; New Jersey School Report Cards from 1994-95 to 2011; and Vital Education Statistics.
DOE Data & Reports (NJ Education Department)
Data on school enrollments, graduates, dropouts, staff, state aid, and more. Some historical data back to 1997 is included.
New Jersey Office of the Secretary of Higher Education
Includes the New Jersey Data Dashboard with links to data on graduation rates, enrollment, tuition, academic programs offered, and more.
New Jersey School Performance Reports (NJ Education Department)
Beginning with the 2011-2012 school year, these enhanced versions of the NJ school report cards seek to: "focus attention on metrics that are indicative of college and career readiness; benchmark a school’s performance against other peer schools that are educating similar students, against statewide outcomes, and against state targets to illuminate and build upon a school’s strengths and identify areas for improvement; and improve educational outcomes for students by providing both longitudinal and growth data."
Elections Division (NJ State Department)
Includes election results and voter counts beginning with 1998, voter resources, candidate resources, and other information.
Follow the Money - National Institute on Money in State Politics
Includes campaign-donor, lobbyist, and other information related to elections for all 50 states.
OpenSecrets - New Jersey
The Center for Responsive Politics tracks the money behind the candidates in all current Presidential, Congressional, and local elections. Provides information including the total amount raised, top contributors, a searchable database, and more. This site is the New Jersey specific page, but data is available for all states and territories.
Project Vote Smart
Information on current elections and elected officials for Federal and State governments. Includes biographies, campaign finance figures, voting records, etc.