Overview
Click on a title within one of the sections below to view the full QuickSearch record (including locations, call numbers, and availability), access the e-book, visit the website, or search the database. For most materials before 1850, consult Special Collections & University Archives on the basement level of the Alexander Library.
These databases also include aggregated New Jersey materials that overlap or complement the sources provides in the sections below..
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryA collaborative repository of millions of books, government publications, dissertations, journals, and other published and unpublished materials. Titles published prior to 1923 and those that are open access or Creative Commons-licensed are available full-text. Other materials include limited-access searching. -- Access to the resource is unrestricted, but Rutgers affiliates can log in to gain access to additional features such as full-text download and the ability to create permanent collections.
- HeinOnline [Rutgers Restricted]Includes extensive historical archives of state reports and state statutes.
- Law Library Microform Consortium Digital [Rutgers Restricted]Includes the full text of NJ laws, Attorney General Opinions and Reports, New Jersey Reports, Superior Court Reports, and other court cases, as well as Public Health Laws. Online collections are incomplete but new material is added on a continuing basis.
- New Jersey Digital Legal Library (NJDLL)Full text materials on NJ law and legal history. Includes NJ Administrative Reports [First Series] 1979-1991; NJ Attorney General Opinions, 1949-1998; NJ Executive Orders 1941-1990; and more. Later AG Opinions and Executive Orders are linked from this site and are available from the State of NJ.
Bills
Indexes to Bills
- New Jersey Legislative Index [1919-20, 1937, 1951-present] [Paper]Located in ALEXANDER DOCLNJ (Stack 83)
- New Jersey Legislative News [1970-1992] [Paper]Located in ALEXANDER DOCLNJ (Stack 83)
Texts of Bills
- Assembly (A.#) and Senate (S.#) bills [circa 1950-2003] [Paper & Microfilm]Located in ALEXANDER DOCLNJ (Stack 85-86)
The New Jersey State Library has a collection of older bills in print format. Access requires the year and bill number which can be found in the Journal and Minutes of the Legislature.
Court Decisions
- Westlaw Campus Research [Database] [Rutgers Restricted]Includes NJ court opinions, statutes, current regulations, and related law reviews and news sources.
- New Jersey Courts [Website]Home page for the NJ Judiciary.
- State Court Web sites [Website]Links to web pages for the state courts from the Supreme Court to the municipal level.
- West's New Jersey digest 2d [Paper]Located in ALEXANDER DOCLNJ (Stack 83) along with earlier edition.
- New Jersey Reports (Reports of cases argued and determined in the Supreme Court of New Jersey) [Paper]Located in ALEXANDER DOCLNJ (Stack 84).
- New Jersey Courts Search Page [Website]A searchable full-text archive of the Opinions of the New Jersey Courts, including the Supreme Court (since March, 1994); Superior Court Appellate Division (since September, 1995); and Tax Court (since September, 1995). From the Rutgers School of Law - Camden.
- Shepard's New Jersey Citations. [Paper]Located in ALEXANDER DOCLNJ (Stack 84). Historical only.
Executive Orders
- New Jersey Administrative Code [Database] [Rutgers Restricted]Via Westlaw, and including Executive Orders from 1994 to the present.
- New Jersey Administrative Code [Paper]Print edition available ALEXANDER DOCLNJ (Stack 83). Includes Executive Orders from 1994 to the present.
Laws
Session Laws
- Laws of New Jersey [Paper]Located in ALEXANDER DOCLNJ (Stack 82)
- New Jersey Session Law Service [Paper]Located in ALEXANDER DOCLNJ (Stack 83)
Codification of Laws
Regulations
- New Jersey Register [Database]Publicly accessible version covering 10 years.
- New Jersey Register [Paper]Print edition available ALEXANDER DOCLNJ (Stack 83), 1969-present; DANA PER, 1991-present
Codified Version of NJ Regulations
- New Jersey Administrative Code [Database]Publicly accessible version.
- New Jersey Administrative Code [Paper]Print edition available ALEXANDER DOCLNJ (Stack 83). Includes Executive Orders from 1994 to the present.
- New Jersey Administrative Code [Database] [Rutgers Restricted]Via Westlaw, and including Executive Orders from 1994 to the present.
Hearings
New Jersey legislative hearings are fully cataloged and may be found using QuickSearch. Links to online versions are included when links were located during the cataloging process.
Proceedings
- Votes and proceedings of the ... General Assembly of the State of New Jersey [1776-1840] [Paper]Located in ALEXANDER DOCLNJ (Stack 82)
- Minutes of the votes and proceedings of the ... General Assembly of the State of New Jersey [1841-1851] ] [Paper]Located in ALEXANDER DOCLNJ (Stack 82)
- Minutes of votes and proceedings of the General Assembly of the State of New-Jersey [1852-1944] [Paper]Located in ALEXANDER DOCLNJ (Stack 82)
- Minutes of the votes and proceedings of the ... General Assembly of the State of New Jersey [1945-present] [Paper]Located in ALEXANDER DOCLNJ (Stack 82)
- New Jersey. Legislature. Senate. Journal. [1845-present] [Paper]Located in ALEXANDER DOCLNJ (Stack 82)
Veto Messages
- New Jersey Legislature - Bill Search [Website]Beginning with the 2000-2001 session, veto actions are accessible via the Bill Search feature. Use the Governor's Action drop-down menu to limit your search.
- QuickSearch [Database]Use the keywords: veto messages jersey. Holdings are divided between ALEXANDER DOCNJ JK2454.A22 and Special Collections.
Voting Records
- New Jersey Legislature- Voting Records [Website]Beginning with the 2000-2001 session, voting records are available by Legislator.
- Legislative Roundup: News from Trenton [Paper]1973-1981 only
Guides to the Literature
Basic Bibliographies of New Jersey Government Documents
Newspapers
Visit the Newspapers research guide for information on the availability of newspapers from New Jersey and other states. Coverage of New Jersey legislative issues may also be included in newspapers like the New York Times.