New Jersey State and Local Governments

An annotated subject list of databases produced by New Jersey State agencies.

Case law, statutes, regulations, court rules, constitutions, law review articles, and other types of legal content. The focus is state and federal primary source materials.

Easy access to the NJ Constitution, statutes, case law, and other resources in one place.

Includes the full text of NJ laws, Attorney General Opinions and Reports, New Jersey Reports, Superior Court Reports, and other court cases, as well as Public Health Laws. Online collections are incomplete but new material is added on a continuing basis.

A searchable version of the Code, updated quarterly. Includes information on searching the New Jersey Register to confirm the currentness of the information provided. Issues of the NJ Register from 1969 to 1995 are available from the State Library.

Full-text PDF scans that can be keyword searched, saved, and printed.

Full text materials on NJ law and legal history. Includes NJ Administrative Reports [First Series] 1979-1991; NJ Attorney General Opinions, 1949-1998; NJ Executive Orders 1941-1990; and more. Later AG Opinions and Executive Orders are linked from this site and are available from the State of NJ.

Arranged by year (1970+) and by Chapter number, these histories are a compilation of the documents which express the purpose or intent behind the passage of a particular law. Citations to bills, reports, hearings, newspaper articles, etc. and some full text links are included. From the NJ State Library.

Includes searchable NJ bills and statutes; information on members of the NJ Legislature; the NJ Constitution; the latest Legislative Calendar and Legislative Digest; and more.

Browseable full-text of the Acts of the New Jersey Colonial Assembly and Session Laws of the New Jersey Legislature, covering 1703-1999.

Contains the full text of court opinions, statutes, and regulations from state and federal governments; in excess of 800 law reviews and journals; as well as other legal materials. Includes West's KeyCite feature for verification of the status of a case, statute, administrative decision, or regulation. Laws, regulations, reports, and related European Union material is also included.

Case law, statutes, regulations, court rules, constitutions, law review articles, and other types of legal content. The focus is state and federal primary source materials.

Easy access to the NJ Constitution, statutes, case law, and other resources in one place.

A searchable full-text archive of Administrative Law decisions beginning with opinions dating from October, 1997. From the Rutgers School of Law - Camden.

A searchable full-text archive of the Opinions of the New Jersey Courts, including the Supreme Court (since March, 1994); Superior Court Appellate Division (since September, 1995); and Tax Court (since September, 1995). From the Rutgers School of Law - Camden.

Full-text archive of the School Law decisions issued by the Commissioner and School Board of the NJ Department of Education, and the NJ Office of Administrative Law beginning with 1912. From the Rutgers Law Library - Camden.

A searchable index of New Jersey Supreme Court case files from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. From the New Jersey State Archives.

A joint project of the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) and the Administrative Office of the United States Courts to provide public access to opinions from selected U.S. appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts. The content of this collection dates back to April 2004, though searchable electronic holdings for some courts may be incomplete for the earlier time period.

Contains the full text of court opinions, statutes, and regulations from state and federal governments; in excess of 800 law reviews and journals; as well as other legal materials. Includes West's KeyCite feature for verification of the status of a case, statute, administrative decision, or regulation. Laws, regulations, reports, and related European Union material is also included.

"Includes electronic New Jersey State government publications along with digital books, photographs and postcards about New Jersey but not published by state government (Jerseyana). This database is designed to address the long-term preservation and access requirements of electronic government publications and other digital material."

A collaborative repository of millions of books, government publications, dissertations, journals, and other published and unpublished materials. Titles published prior to 1923 and those that are open access or Creative Commons-licensed are available full-text. Other materials include limited-access searching. -- Access to the resource is unrestricted, but Rutgers affiliates can log in to gain access to additional features such as full-text download and the ability to create permanent collections.

Non-fiction books and novels that represent the broad and rich history of New Jersey. Includes some NJ government documents.

The online publication of the New Jersey Legislative District Data Book. Produced by Rutgers Center for Government Services, the Data Book provides data on NJ municipalities, congressional and legislative districts, counties, schools, elections, and people.

Includes a wide range of full text resources from repositories in New Jersey and Delaware. The New Jersey materials include state documents, documents from the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, and more.

A searchable collection of materials related to New Jersey history and culture, including a variety of publications from the State of New Jersey and the Federal government.

A searchable collection of environmental information from New Jersey's government agencies; research institutes; academic departments; and non-profit and non-governmental organizations.

Facilitates submissions of Open Public Records Act requests for New Jersey state & local government agencies - including townships, counties, school districts & independent authorities. Also publishes all requests online.

A full-text repository of federal Inspector General reports relating to New Jersey.

An online data and mapping application that provides access to over 10,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, income, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, and more. Data is available at many common geographic entities (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, metro area) as well as unique geographies such as school districts and political boundaries.

From the National Conference of State Legislatures, the site provides information on state initiatives, referenda, and other measures as they appeared on public ballots. Data ranges from 1892 to the present.

Includes full historical listings for women who have held office at the congressional, statewide elected executive, and state legislative levels nationwide. For each woman officeholder, the database includes geographic information, party identification, and race identification where available. From the Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP) at Rutgers.