Health Communication & Information
This research guide covers a broad range of health communication and information research resources and supports the Master of Health Communication and Information (MHCI) and other programs offered through the School of Communication and Information.
Need help?
Notable Books
Cultural Sensibility in Healthcare by
The healthcare workforce and landscape continues to evolve with the ongoing education systems forming in foreign countries and immigration and foreign employment continuing to grow in the United States. Every heath care provider and patient is challenged with cultural competency and acceptance on a daily basis. Often times our own prejudices and beliefs have great potential to interfere with effective health care interactions when what is truly important is providing the best patient care possible. There is much discussion around cultural sensitivity and cultural expertise, but now the discussion has shifted to cultural sensibility, which is a deliberate behavior that proactively provides an enriched provider consumer/patient interaction, where the health care provider acknowledges cultural issues and situations through thoughtful reasoning, responsiveness, and discreet (attentive, considerate, and observant) interactions.
ISBN: 9781937554958Publication Date: 2015-06-01
Designing Health Messages by
"Chapter overviews, subheadings, and summaries facilitate a quick reading and review for graduate students and busy professionals in public health, the social sciences, communication, and related health policy-making fields." --Academic Library Book Review How do you design an effective health campaign message? Designing Health Messages explores this question from both theoretical and practical perspectives. The authors, all well-known for cutting-edge research in their field, demonstrate the necessity of basing message design decisions on appropriate theories of human behavior and communication effectiveness by synthesizing and integrating knowledge and insights from communication and health behavior change. Part I covers theory-driven approaches and includes content and linguistic considerations, the role of fear in content, and using positive affect. Part II discusses audience-centered strategies and looks at the "America Responds to AIDS" campaign and the Cancer Communication's "5 a Day for Better Health" program. This comprehensive volume concludes with recent developments and policy and administrative practices for health message design. A much-needed book, Designing Health Messages is an indispensable resource and an essential aid for professors, students, and professionals in communication, specifically mass communication, and public health. "This book would make a strong addition to a graduate-level course on health communication. With complementary reading to broaden students'' knowledge of the core theories and empirical research applied by these authors to message design, this book would enhance students'' capacity to link health communication theory and practice." --Health Policy and Planning
ISBN: 9780803953987Publication Date: 1995-02-10
Health Communication by
Now in its second edition, Health Communication: From Theory to Practice provides a comprehensive introduction to theory, intervention design, current issues, and special topics in health communication. The book also represents a hands-on guide to program development, implementation, and evaluation. This second edition further emphasizes the importance of a people-centered and participatory approach to health communication interventions, which takes into account key social determinants of health as well as the interconnection of various health and social fields. While maintaining a strong focus on the importance of behavioral, social, and organizational results as key outcomes of health communication interventions, this second edition also includes new or updated information, theoretical models, resources, and case studies on: Health equity Urban health New media Emergency and risk communication Strategic partnerships in health communication Policy communication and public advocacy Cultural competence Health literacy The evaluation of health communication interventions To access a companion website with instructor resources (PowerPoint presentations for all chapters, sample assignments, and other resources), please visit www.wiley.com/go/schiavo2e This title is also available as a mobile App from MedHand Mobile Libraries. Buy it now from iTunes, Google Play or the MedHand Store.
ISBN: 1118122194Publication Date: 2013-11-04
Public Health Communication by
This volume argues the case that public health communication has affected health behavior. It brings together 16 studies of large-scale communication in a variety of substantive health areas--tobacco, drugs, AIDS, family planning, heart disease, childhood disease, highway safety--prepared by the authors who did the original research. These studies show important effects and illustrate the central conditions for success. The book also includes complementary analytic chapters which provide a meta-analysis of published results, some approaches to developing communication interventions, and alternative methods for evaluation of public health communication projects. Including studies based on communication programs in the United States, as well as projects done elsewhere in the world, including Europe, Africa, Asia and Latin America, this book: *offers a broad presentation of the alternative research designs that have been used to evaluate public health communication programs; *includes a great range of approaches from field experiments and natural experiments to simple before-after and complex time series designs, using data gathered from individuals and from archives; and *utilizes an innovative perspective on how to exercise public health communication from a leading and thoughtful practitioner. As such, it is required reading for scholars, students, practitioners, and policymakers in public health, health communication, health psychology, and related areas.
ISBN: 0805831770Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Electronic Books: Health Sciences
- AccessMedicine [Rutgers Restricted]An online collection of key medical reference texts that provide authoritative and current medical data.
- Books@Ovid [Rutgers Restricted]A full-text collection of respected medical, nursing, and pharmacy texts from a variety of publishers. It offers the complete text of these sources in a highly interlinked and easily navigated graphical interface.
- ClinicalKey [Rutgers Restricted]Provides full-text access to over 500 journals, 1,000 e-books, 9,000 medical and procedural videos, and more.
- Digital Collections: National Library of Medicine [Rutgers Restricted]A free online archive of biomedical books and videos.
- National Academies PressBooks on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health. As of June 2011, "PDFs of reports that are currently for sale on the National Academies Press (NAP) Website and PDFs associated with future reports will be offered free of charge to all Web visitors."
- R2 Digital Library [Rutgers Restricted]Includes books in the fields of medicine and public health, nursing, pharmaceutical sciences, psychology, and related fields.
Electronic Books: Science & Technology
- IEEE Xplore MIT Press eBooks Library [Rutgers Restricted]A searchable full-text collection of electronic books containing many of the MIT Press's recent and classic titles in computer and information science. Topics include programming, artificial intelligence, machine learning, human computer interaction, databases, digital libraries, networking, and robotics.
- InfoSci-Books [Rutgers Restricted]A fully searchable database of electronic books covering broad subject categories such as artificial intelligence, bioinformatics, business information systems, cognitive informatics, data mining/databases, e-services and service delivery systems, electronic business, electronic commerce, electronic government, environmental informatics, global information technology, health information systems, high performance computing, human aspects of technology, industrial informatics, and more.
- National Academies PressBooks on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health. As of June 2011, "PDFs of reports that are currently for sale on the National Academies Press (NAP) Website and PDFs associated with future reports will be offered free of charge to all Web visitors."
- ScienceDirect [Rutgers Restricted]Full-text handbooks, encyclopedias, and other materials in economics, behavioral science, and other fields.
- SpringerLink [Rutgers Restricted]A full-text journal package that includes e-books, particularly in the fields of mathematics and computer science, behavioral science, biomedical and life sciences, chemistry and materials science.
Electronic Books: Multidisciplinary
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) [Rutgers Restricted]Includes a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, covering a variety of subjects such as behavioral science, business, technology, science, literature and humanities as well as a comprehensive range of audience levels from basic introductory level texts to high level research materials.
- Oxford Scholarship Online [Rutgers Restricted]A collection of over 16,000 ebooks published by Oxford University Press. Rutgers owns all the Oxford University Press ebooks published through 2022. Subjects include: biology, business and management, classical studies, economics and finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, mathematics, music, neuroscience, palliative care, philosophy, physics, political science, psychology, public health and epidemiology, religion, social work, and sociology.
- ProQuest Ebook Central [Rutgers Restricted]A searchable full-text collection of electronic books across all academic disciplines. A searchable full-text collection of electronic books across all academic disciplines. Includes an extensive collection of encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference sources.
- Wiley Online Library [Rutgers Restricted]Subjects covered include: business; chemistry; computer science; earth and environmental science; education; engineering; law; life sciences; mathematics and statistics; medicine and healthcare; physics and astronomy; polymers and materials science; psychology; and social sciences. Includes encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference tools.
NCA Distinguished Books
Communication As Comfort: Multiple Voices in Palliative Care by
This exceptional work explores the complexities of communication at one of the most critical stages of the life experience--during advanced, serious illness and at the end of life. Challenging the predominantly biomedical model that informs much communication between seriously ill and/or dying patients and their physicians, caregivers, and families, Sandra L. Ragan, Elaine M. Wittenberg-Lyles, Joy Goldsmith, and Sandra Sanchez-Reilly pose palliative care--medical care designed to comfort rather than to cure patients--as an antidote to the experience of most Americans at the most vulnerable juncture of their lives. With an author team comprised of three health communication scholars and one physician certified in geriatrics and palliative medicine, this volume integrates the medical literature on palliative care with that of health communication researchers who advocate a biopsychosocial approach to health care. Applying communication theories and insights to illuminate problems and to explain their complexities, the authors advocate a patient-centered approach to care that recognizes and seeks to lessen patients' suffering and the many types of pain they may experience (physical, psychological, social, and spiritual) during life-threatening illness.
ISBN: 9780805858082Publication Date: 2008-03-18
Communication in Palliative Nursing by
Communication in Palliative Nursing unites complementary work in communication studies and nursing research to present a theoretically grounded curriculum for teaching palliative care communication to nurses. The chapters outline the COMFORT curriculum, comprised of these elements:Communication, Orientation and opportunity, Mindful presence, Family, Openings, Relating, and Team communication. Central to this curriculum is the need for nurses to practice self-care.Based on a narrative approach to communication, which addresses communication skills development holistically, this volume teaches nurses to consider a holistic model of communication that aligns with the holistic nature of palliative care. This work moves beyond the traditional and singular view ofthe nurse as patient and family teacher, to embrace more complex communication challenges present in palliative care -- namely, providing care and comfort through communication at a time when patients, families, and nurses themselves are suffering.In addition to collaborating with physicians, the nurse's role involves speaking with patients and families after they have received bad news and often extends to discussions of spiritual and religious concerns. This book covers communication theory, clinical tools, and teaching resources to helpnurses enhance their own communication and create comfort for themselves, as well as for patients and their families.
ISBN: 0199796823Publication Date: 2012-12-14
Dirty Words: The Rhetoric of Public Sex Education, 1870-1924 by
Dirty Words: The Rhetoric of Public Sex Education, 1870-1924, details the approaches and outcomes of sex-education initiatives in the Progressive Era. In analyzing the rhetorical strategies of sex education advocates, Robin E. Jensen engages with rich sources such as lectures, books, movies, and posters that were often shaped by female health advocates and instructors. She offers a revised narrative that demonstrates how women were both leaders and innovators in early U.S. sex-education movements, striving to provide education to underserved populations of women, minorities, and the working class. Investigating the communicative and rhetorical practices surrounding the emergence of public sex education in the United States, Jensen shows how women in particular struggled for a platform to create and circulate arguments concerning this controversial issue. The book also provides insight into overlooked discourses about public sex education by analyzing a previously understudied campaign targeted at African American men in the 1920s, offering theoretical categorizations of discursive strategies that citizens have used to discuss sex education over time, and laying out implications for health communicators and sexual educators in the present day.
ISBN: 9780252077661Publication Date: 2010-11-01
Health Communication and Breast Cancer among Black Women by
Health Communication and Breast Cancer among Black Women: Culture, Identity, Spirituality, and Strength addresses how the discourse of strength constructs the identity of Black women even during times of chronic illness through the lens of Black feminist thought and womanist ideology. In doing so, Madlock Gatison explores how the narratives surrounding pink ribbon awareness and survivorship culture, religion and spirituality, and the myth of the strong Black woman impact Black female breast cancer survivors' self-perceptions, views others had of them, and their ability to express their needs and concerns including those involving their healthcare. This book will be of interest to scholars of public health, health communication, and sociology.
ISBN: 0739185152Publication Date: 2016-06-23
The Material Gene:Gender, Race, and Heredity after the Human Genome Project by
Winner of the 2014 Diamond Anniversary Book Award Finalist for the 2014 National Communications Association Critical and Cultural Studies Division Book of the Year Award In 2000, the National Human Genome Research Institute announced the completion of a "draft" of the human genome, the sequence information of nearly all 3 billion base pairs of DNA. Since then, interest in the hereditary basis of disease has increased considerably. In The Material Gene, Kelly E. Happe considers the broad implications of this development by treating "heredity" as both a scientific and political concept. Beginning with the argument that eugenics was an ideological project that recast the problems of industrialization as pathologies of gender, race, and class, the book traces the legacy of this ideology in contemporary practices of genomics. Delving into the discrete and often obscure epistemologies and discursive practices of genomic scientists, Happe maps the ways in which the hereditarian body, one that is also normatively gendered and racialized, is the new site whereby economic injustice, environmental pollution, racism, and sexism are implicitly reinterpreted as pathologies of genes and by extension, the bodies they inhabit. Comparing genomic approaches to medicine and public health with discourses of epidemiology, social movements, and humanistic theories of the body and society, The Material Gene reworks our common assumption of what might count as effective, just, and socially transformative notions of health and disease.
ISBN: 0814790674Publication Date: 2013-05-06
Narratives, Health, and Healing by
This distinctive collection explores the use of narratives in the social construction of wellness and illness. Narratives, Health, and Healing emphasizes what the process of narrating accomplishes--how it serves in the health communication process where people define themselves and present their social and relational identities. Organized into four parts, the chapters included here examine health narratives in interpersonal relationships, organizations, and public fora. The editors provide an extensive introduction to weave together the various threads in the volume, highlight the approach and contribution of each chapter, and bring to the forefront the increasingly important role of narrative in health communication. This volume offers important insights on the role of narrative in communicating about health, and it will be of great interest to scholars and graduate students in health communication, health psychology, and public health. It is also relevant to medical, nursing, and allied health readers.
ISBN: 0805850317Publication Date: 2005-05-18
On the Frontier of Science: An American Rhetoric of Exploration and Exploitation by
"The frontier of science" is a metaphor that has become ubiquitous in American rhetoric, from its first appearance in the public address of early twentieth-century American intellectuals and politicians who aligned a mythic national identity with scientific research, to its more recent use in scientists' arguments in favor of increased research funding. Here, Leah Ceccarelli explores what is selected and what is deflected when this metaphor is deployed, its effects on those who use it, and what rhetorical moves are made by those who try to counter its appeal. In her research, Ceccarelli discovers that "the frontier of science" evokes a scientist who is typically male, a risk taker, an adventurous loner--someone separated from a public that both envies and distrusts him, with a manifest destiny to penetrate the unknown. It conjures a competitive desire to claim the riches of a new territory before others can do the same. Closely reading the public address of scientists and politicians and the reception of their audiences, this book shows how the frontier of science metaphor constrains American speakers, helping to guide the ends of scientific research in particular ways and sometimes blocking scientists from attaining the very goals they set out to achieve.
ISBN: 1611861004Publication Date: 2013-11-01
Risky Rhetoric by
Risky Rhetoric: AIDS and the Cultural Practices of HIV Testing is the first book-length study of the rhetoric inherent in and surrounding HIV testing. In addition to providing a history of HIV testing in the United States from 1985 to the present, J. Blake Scott explains how faulty arguments about testing's power and effects have promoted unresponsive and even dangerous testing practices for so-called healthy subjects as well as those deemed risky. A new afterword to the paperback edition discusses changes in testing technology, treatments, and public health responses in the last ten years. The ultimate goal of Risky Rhetoric is to offer strategies to policy makers, HIV educators and test counselors, and other rhetors for developing more responsive and egalitarian testing-related rhetorics and practices.
ISBN: 0809324946Publication Date: 2003-02-20
Scientific Characters:Rhetoric, Politics, and Trust in Breast Cancer Research by
Scientific Characters chronicles the contests over character, knowledge, trust, and truth in a politically charged scientific controversy that erupted after a 1994 Chicago Tribune headline: "Fraud in Breast Cancer Research: Doctor Lied on Data for Decade." In the aftermath of this dramatic news, Dr. Bernard Fisher, the eminent oncologist and celebrated pioneer of breast cancer research, came under intense scrutiny following allegations that one of his investigators falsified data in landmark breast cancer research. Although he was eventually cleared of all wrongdoing, the controversy called into question the treatment decisions of tens of thousands of women, because Fisher's research had demonstrated that lumpectomy and radiation were as effective as breast removal for early stage cancers--a finding that was hailed as revolutionary in women's health care. Moving back and forth between news coverage, medical journals, letters to the editor, and oncology pamphlets, Lisa Keränen draws insights from rhetoric, literary studies, sociology, and science studies to analyze the roles of character in shaping the outcomes of the "Datagate" controversy. Throughout the scandal, debates about the character of Fisher and other key players endured, showing how scientific knowledge is shaped by perceptions of the personal temperament, trustworthiness, integrity, and transparency of those who produce it. As administrators, politicians, scientists, patients, journalists, and citizens attempted to make sense of what had happened, and to assess the integrity of the research, they raised questions, assigned blame, attributed responsibility, and reshaped the norms of scientific practice. Scientific Characters thusaddresses what happens when scientists, patients, and advocates are called to defend themselves in public concerning complex technical matters with direct implications for human life. In assessing the rhetoric that animated Datagate, Scientific Characters sheds light on the challenges faced by scientists and citizens as science becomes more bureaucratized, dispersed, and accountable to varied publics.
ISBN: 081731704XPublication Date: 2010-07-27
The Viagra Ad Venture by
Since the FDA approved Viagra in March 1998, the «little blue pill» has been prescribed to over twenty million men. The Viagra Ad Venture: Masculinity, Media, and the Performance of Sexual Health chronicles the story of Viagra as reported in our nation's news outlets and promoted by Pfizer Pharmaceutical's marketing materials. In this critical discourse analysis, author Jay Baglia uses feminist and performance theory to uncover the meaning of Viagra and its relationship to performances of masculinity. At stake are the ways in which we construct normalcy, particularly as it relates to health, sexuality, gender, and the body. This book fits well in a variety of classes including gender studies, media studies, research methods, feminist theory, human sexuality, and health communication.
ISBN: 0820474894Publication Date: 2005-07-28
What Are Stem Cells? by
In recent years political, religious, and scientific communities have waged an ethical debate regarding the development and research of embryonic stem cells. On the one hand, does the manipulation of embryonic stem cells destroy human life? On the other hand, do limitations imposed on stem cell research harm the patients who might otherwise benefit?
ISBN: 0817317481Publication Date: 2011-09-30
