Need help?
Open Access Reference
- A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
- Effective Media Communication During Public Health Emergencies World Health Organization Handbook and Field Guide. The handbook describes a seven-step process to assist officials and others to communicate effectively through the media during emergencies. The Field Guide is a shortened version of the Handbook. It highlights the practical aspects of the seven-step approach.
- Making Health Communication Programs Work Published by the National Cancer Institute, this is a guide to communication program planning that includes strategy development, testing concepts and materials, implementing programs, and more.
- Making Data Talk: A Workbook This workbook provides key information, practical suggestions, and examples on how to effectively communicate health-related scientific data to the public, policy makers, and the media.
Dictionaries
A Dictionary of Epidemiology by
This sixth edition of A Dictionary of Epidemiology -- the most updated since its inception -- reflects the profound substantive and methodological changes that have come to characterize epidemiology and its associated disciplines. Sponsored by the International Epidemiological Association, this book remains the essential reference for anyone studying or working in epidemiology, biostatistics, public health, medicine, or the growing number health sciences in which epidemiologic competency is now required. More than just a dictionary, this text is an essential guidebook to the state of the science. It offers the most current, authoritative definitions of terms central to biomedical and public health literature -- everything from confounding and incidence rate to epigenetic inheritance and Number Needed to Treat. As epidemiology continues to change and grow, A Dictionary of Epidemiology will remain its book of record.
ISBN: 1306688809Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Dictionary of Public Health Promotion and Education by
Written for public health professionals and students, the Dictionary of Public Health Education and Health Promotion, 2nd ed, includes definitions for terms and concepts frequently used in public health education and promotion. The book offers both students and professionals a handy resource and contains a wide range of health education related terminologies and effectively eliminates the need for wading through scores of books or articles to find a definition. The book also provides an easily used reference for those working in research or design of public health interventions and offers a reference list of the terms found most often in the professional literature Includes key terms used in related public health disciplines such as epidemiology, health administration, biostatistics, environmental health, and behavioral sciences. Presents terms relevant to the four settings of health promotion and education - community, workplace, primary care and school. Provides a useful study aid when preparing for the exam to become a Certified Health Education Specialist (CHES)
Call Number: Reference WA13 M691d 2004ISBN: 9780787969196Publication Date: 2004-08-13
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Communcation by
Designed for the non-specialist, this is a complete reference covering finance and banking, accounting, marketing, management and information systems. Drawing on practical expertise and current scholarship, the contributors include executives, scholrs and government administrators.
ISBN: 0028658876Publication Date: 2003-12-01
Encyclopedia of Epidemiology by
The Encyclopedia of Epidemiology presents state-of-the-art information from the field of epidemiology in a less technical and accessible style and format. With more than 600 entries, no single reference provides as comprehensive a resource in as focused and appropriate manner. The entries cover every major facet of epidemiology, from risk ratios to case-control studies to mediating and moderating variables, and much more. Relevant topics from related fields such as biostatistics and health economics are also included.
ISBN: 9781412928168Publication Date: 2007-11-27
Encyclopedia of Global Health by
The 'Encyclopedia of Global Health' is a comprehensive A-Z interdisciplinary, one-stop reference to a broad array of health topics worldwide. The encyclopedia covers all aspects of health including: physical and mental health entries; biographies of major doctors and researchers; and profiles of medical institutions.
ISBN: 1452265844Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Encyclopedia of Healthcare Information Systems by
Healthcare, a vital industry that touches most of us in our lives, faces major challenges in demographics, technology, and finance. Longer life expectancy and an aging population, technological advancements that keep people younger and healthier, and financial issues are a constant strain on healthcare organizations' resources and management. Focusing on the organization's ability to improve access, quality, and value of care to the patient may present possible solutions to these challenges."The Encyclopedia of Healthcare Information Systems" provides an extensive and rich compilation of international research, discussing the use, adoption, design, and diffusion of information communication technologies (ICTs) in healthcare, including the role of ICTs in the future of healthcare delivery; access, quality, and value of healthcare; nature and evaluation of medical technologies; ethics and social implications; and medical information management.
ISBN: 1599048892Publication Date: 2008-06-30
Encyclopedia of Health Communication by
From the dynamics of interpersonal communication between health professionals and clients to global command-and-control during public health emergencies that cross international borders, the field of health communication bridges many disciplines and involves efforts from the micro to the macro. It involves navigating personal, cultural, and political complexities and an ability to distill complex technical science into quickly and easily understood terms for ready distribution by the mass media--or to an individual patient or to the parent of an ailing child. Despite an abundance of textbooks, specialized monographs, and academic handbooks, this is the first encyclopedic reference work in this area, covering the breadth of theory and research on health communication, as well as their practical application.
ISBN: 9781452258751Publication Date: 2014-05-07
Encyclopedia of Human Services and Diversity by
Encyclopedia of Human Services and Diversity is the first encyclopedia to reflect the changes in the mission of human services professionals as they face today's increasingly diverse service population. Diversity encompasses a broad range of human differences, including differences in ability and disability, age, education level, ethnicity, gender, geographic origin, religion, sexual orientation, socioeconomic class, and values. Understanding the needs and problems of Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, the deaf, the blind, the LGBT community, and many other groups demands an up-to-date and cutting-edge reference. This three-volume encyclopedia provides human services students, professors, librarians, and practitioners the reference information they need to meet the needs of an increasingly diverse population.
ISBN: 148334665XPublication Date: 2014-09-22
Encyclopedia of Medical Decision Making by
Decision making is a critical element in the field of medicine that can lead to life-or-death outcomes, yet it is an element fraught with complex and conflicting variables, diagnostic and therapeutic uncertainties, patient preferences and values, and costs. Together, decisions made by physicians, patients, insurers, and policymakers determine the quality of health care, quality that depends inherently on counterbalancing risks and benefits and competing objectives such as maximizing life expectancy versus optimizing quality of life or quality of care versus economic realities. Broadly speaking, concepts in medical decision making (MDM) may be divided into two major categories: prescriptive and descriptive. Work in the area of prescriptive MDM investigates how medical decisions should be done using complicated analyses and algorithms to determine cost-effectiveness measures, prediction methods, and so on. In contrast, descriptive MDM studies how decisions actually are made involving human judgment, biases, social influences, patient factors, and so on. The Encyclopedia of Medical Decision Making gives a gentle introduction to both categories, revealing how medical and healthcare decisions are actually made-and constrained-and how physician, healthcare management, and patient decision making can be improved to optimize health outcomes. Key Features Discusses very general issues that span many aspects of MDM, including bioethics; health policy and economics; disaster simulation modeling; medical informatics; the psychology of decision making; shared and team medical decision making; social, moral, and religious factors; end-of-life decision making; assessing patient preference and patient adherence; and more Incorporates both quantity and quality of life in optimizing a medical decision Considers characteristics of the decisionmaker and how those characteristics influence their decisions
ISBN: 1412953723Publication Date: 2009-08-18
Encyclopedia of Primary Prevention and Health Promotion by
Public Health is one of the fastest growing university programs in the United States today. At the same time, the challenges that face the practitioner continue to grow and become more complex. This Encyclopedia of Primary Prevention and Health Promotion, 2nd ed covers more than 250 topics, taking a lifespan approach to the fields of public health and prevention. The encyclopedia is divided into four volumes: 1. Foundational Topics 2. Early Childhood and Childhood 3. Adolescence 4. Adulthood and Older Adulthood Within each volume, issues of illness prevention and health promotion (sometimes referred to as "positive psychology") are addressed in chapter-length entries arranged alphabetically. An international group of contributors synthesizes research focusing on improving the physical and mental health of the community as a whole. Each entry will have a structured format: Introduction, Definition of Terms, Prevalence, Theories, Empirical Studies, and Strategies (What Works, What Is Promising, What Doesn't Work). Each entry concludes with a look ahead to the coming decades of Public Health - what are the next steps to primary prevention and health promotion - and a "See Also" box recommending books, films, or articles by the editors for further reading. The encyclopedia is designed for practitioners, students, and researchers working in prevention, public health, and psychology. It will also serve as reference for practitioners in sociology, social work, nursing and medicine. The second edition more than doubles the number of entries in the first edition by adding entries focusing on gender, African American and Latino issues, social support, social and emotional learning, and physical health and disease. All entries from the first edition will be rewritten and expanded, reflecting the most up to date thinking in the field.
ISBN: 1461459990Publication Date: 2014-10-24
Encyclopedia of Public Health by
Providing context to today's public health practices and broad coverage of topics, this book demonstrates how cross-disciplinary studies are critical to addressing current health issues. The concepts of public health and the methods we use to care for and promote the health of people in communities, groups, and our nation as a whole are of interest to all health professionals. Comprising contributions from historians, scholars, researchers, sociologists, and other public health professionals, the Encyclopedia of Public Health: Principles, People, and Programs offers a firsthand, in-depth view of public health as it applies to everyday life and practice. The encyclopedia contains a wealth of information on critical theories, people, and movements and shows how various disciplines can work together to create healthy communities and practices for many people. As a secondary objective, the book encourages future generations to actively participate in public health. This reference covers the defining moments in the development of public health, from ancient times to the modern day, and offers entries with historical information and examinations of current controversies as they relate to recurring social conflicts. The entries provide a breadth and depth of content that is accessible to a wide readership. Readers will understand the benefits of physical activity and good nutrition as well as the psychology behind the choices that we make and how early life and social experiences can influence behaviors even decades after the event. The wide variety of topics covered includes the life expectancy of Americans at birth, the Tuskegee syphilis study, and marijuana use, and will give readers an informed perspective on past public health successes and likely directions for the future. Presents complex health issues in ways that encourage readers to pursue the many different opportunities in the field of public health Supplies insights from contributors that include experts on diseases such as hepatitis, substance abuse prevention, the history of medicine, and neurology Provides a functional foundation for those working to improve the health of communities or individuals Identifies relevant connections between physical, social, and emotional health and well-being to everyday life Serves as a gateway to additional research and study by providing suggested further readings with each entry
ISBN: 9781610699822Publication Date: 2018-06-08
Encyclopedia of Public Health by
The Encyclopedic Reference of Public Health presents the most important definitions, principles and general perspectives of public health, written by experts of the different fields. The work includes more than 2,500 alphabetical entries. Entries comprise review-style articles, detailed essays and short definitions. Numerous figures and tables enhance understanding of this little-understood topic. Solidly structured and inclusive, this two-volume reference is an invaluable tool for clinical scientists and practitioners in academia, health care and industry, as well as students, teachers and interested laypersons.
ISBN: 140205615XPublication Date: 2008-06-16
Encyclopedia of Public Relations by
When initially published in 2005, the two-volume Encyclopedia of Public Relations was the first and most authoritative compilation of the subject. It remains the sole reference source for any library serving patrons in business, communication, and journalism as it explores the evolution of the field with examples describing the events, changing practices, and key figures who developed and expanded the profession. Reader's Guide topics include Crisis Communications & Management, Cyberspace, Ethics, Global Public Relations, Groups, History, Jargon, Management, Media, News, Organizations, Relations, Reports, Research, and Theories & Models. Led by renowned editor Robert L. Heath, with advisory editors and contributors from around the world, the set is designed to reach a wide array of student readers who will go on to serve as opinion leaders for improving the image and ethics of the practice. The Second Edition continues to explore key challenges facing the profession, such as earning the trust and respect of critics and the general public. Much greater emphasis and space will be placed on a theme that was just emerging when the First Edition appeared: the Internet and social media as public relations tools. International coverage and representation has been greatly expanded, as well. Finally, biographies (which are now widely available on the Web) have been deleted to give room to areas of enhanced coverage, and biographical material are included where appropriate within the context of topical entries. However, a long entry on women pioneers in public relations has been included as an appendix.
ISBN: 1452240795Publication Date: 2013-09-13
The International Encyclopedia of Organizational Communication, 4 Volume Set by
The International Encyclopedia of Organizational Communication offers a comprehensive collection of entries contributed by international experts on the origin, evolution, and current state of knowledge of all facets of contemporary organizational communication. Represents the definitive international reference resource on a topic of increasing relevance, in a new series of sub-disciplinary international encyclopedias Examines organization communication across a range of contexts, including NGOs, global corporations, community cooperatives, profit and non-profit organizations, formal and informal collectives, virtual work, and more Features topics ranging from leader-follower communication, negotiation and bargaining and organizational culture to the appropriation of communication technologies, emergence of inter-organizational networks, and hidden forms of work and organization Offers an unprecedented level of authority and diverse perspectives, with contributions from leading international experts in their associated fields Part of The Wiley Blackwell-ICA International Encyclopedias of Communication series, published in conjunction with the International Communication Association. Online version available at Wiley Online Library Awarded 2017 Best Edited Book award by the Organizational Communication Division, National Communication Association
ISBN: 1118955609Publication Date: 2017-03-06
International Encyclopedia of Public Health by
International Encyclopedia of Public Health, Second Edition is an authoritative and comprehensive guide to the major issues, challenges, methods, and approaches of global public health. Taking a multidisciplinary approach, this new edition combines complementary scientific fields of inquiry, linking biomedical research with the social and life sciences to address the three major themes of public health research, disease, health processes, and disciplines. This book helps readers solve real-world problems in global and local health through a multidisciplinary and comprehensive approach. Covering all dimensions of the field, from the details of specific diseases, to the organization of social insurance agencies, the articles included cover the fundamental research areas of health promotion, economics, and epidemiology, as well as specific diseases, such as cancer, cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, and reproductive health. Additional articles on the history of public health, global issues, research priorities, and health and human rights make this work an indispensable resource for students, health researchers, and practitioners alike. Provides the most comprehensive, high-level, internationally focused reference work available on public health Presents an invaluable resource for both researchers familiar with the field and non-experts requiring easy-to-find, relevant, global information and a greater understanding of the wider issues Contains interdisciplinary coverage across all aspects of public health Incorporates biomedical and health social science issues and perspectives Includes an international focus with contributions from global domain experts, providing a complete picture of public health issues
ISBN: 0128037083Publication Date: 2016-10-06
Related Research Guides
Handbooks
The Handbook of Global Health Communication by
International in scope, The Handbook of Global Health Communication offers a comprehensive and up-to-date analysis of the role of communication processes in global public health, development and social change Brings together 32 contributions from well-respected scholars and practitioners in the field, addressing a wide range of communication approaches in current global health programs Offers an integrated view that links communication to the strengthening of health services, the involvement of affected communities in shaping health policies and improving care, and the empowerment of citizens in making decisions about health Adopts a broad understanding of communication that goes beyond conventional divisions between informational and participatory approaches
ISBN: 1444338625Publication Date: 2012-05-29
Health Communication by
Health communication inquiry has developed over the last thirty years as a rapidly growing, active, and important interdisciplinary area of study concerned with the powerful roles performed by human and mediated communication in health care delivery and health promotion. Health communication is an exciting applied behavioral science area of communication inquiry that examines the ways communication influences health, health care delivery, and health promotion. Research concerning health communication is often problem-focused, designed to identify, examine, and solve serious health care and health promotion problems.The first volume, Health Communication in the Delivery of Health Care, focuses on amongst other things consumer-provider health communication, interprofessional relations and team work in health care services and the role of communication in both leading to and reducing disparities in health outcomes.The second volume, Health Communication and Health Promotion, focuses on topics such as the role of communication in public health promotion campaigns, social marketing strategies and the role of media in health promotion.The third volume, Health Risk Communication, focuses on theory and research on health risk awareness, health risk prevention and health risk reduction. The fourth volume, Health Communication and New Information Technologies (eHealth), focuses on the use of technology in the dissemination of relevant health information and the advent of empowered e-patients, and ehealth policy and regulation.
ISBN: 1847875785Publication Date: 2010-06-15
The Medical Library Association's Master Guide to Authoritative Information Resources in the Health Sciences by
In a field where resources must be accurate, dependable, and up to date to be useful, the task of developing or maintaining a collection can be stressful--and expensive. The Medical Library Association's Master Guide to Authoritative Information Resources in Health Sciences will make the process infinitely easier and more efficient. Under the guidance of expert contributors, the editors have compiled the best titles in an impressive range of disciplines and specialties in the health sciences literature, making their selections on the basis of quality, value, and professional importance. The guide: * Encompasses 35 specialties, plus additional sub-specialties, basic sciences, and emerging disciplines * Provides over 1,600 authoritative recommendations * Covers both the monographic and serial literature, in print and also in digital and online formats, including audiovisual resources As many as twenty of the top titles in each discipline are arranged by the G01 Biological Sciences and G02 Health Occupations tree schedules of the National Library of Medicine's Medical Subject Headings. Each entry contains full bibliographic information, followed by an annotation describing the scope and coverage of the work, any significant features, and intended audience. The editors also indicate whether the work is appropriate for a hospital collection, a well-rounded academic collection, specialized collections, and/or for a core consumer collection. Intended for both experienced practitioners and those new to the field, this unique guide will be an indispensable tool for librarians who must differentiate among the many choices of medical resources.
Call Number: Reference ZWB100 M489 2011ISBN: 9781555707194Publication Date: 2011-05-01
Oxford Handbook of Public Health Practice by
Fully revised and updated for the third edition, the Oxford Handbook of Public Health Practice remains the first resort for all those working in this broad field. Structured to assist with practical tasks, translating evidence into policy, and providing concise summaries and real-world issues from across the globe, this literally provides a world of experience at your fingertips. Easy-to-use, concise and practical, it is structured into seven parts that focus on the vital areas of assessment, data and information, direct action, policy, health-care systems, personal effectiveness and organisational development. Reflecting recent advances, the most promising developments in practical public health are presented, as well as maintaining essential summaries of core disciplines. This handbook is designed to assist students and practitioners around the world, for improved management of disasters, epidemics, health behaviour, acute and chronic disease prevention, community and government action, environmental health, vulnerable populations, and more.
ISBN: 129975354XPublication Date: 2013-01-01
The Routledge Handbook of Health Communication by
The Routledge Handbook of Health Communication brings together the current body of scholarly work in health communication. With its expansive scope, it offers an introduction for those new to this area, summarizes work for those already learned in the area, and suggests avenues for future research on the relationships between communicative processes and health/health care delivery. This second edition of the Handbook has been organized to reflect the goals of health communication: understanding to make informed decisions and to promote formal and informal systems of care linked to health and well-being. It emphasizes work in such areas as barriers to disclosure in family conversations and medical interactions, access to popular media and advertising, and individual searches online for information and support to guide decisions and behaviors with health consequences. This edition also adds an overview of methods used in health communication and the unique challenges facing health communication researchers applying traditional methods to efforts to gain reliable and valid evidence about the role of communication for health. It introduces the promise of translational research being conducted by health communication researchers from multiple disciplines to form transdisciplinary theories and teams to increase the well-being of not only humans but the systems of care within their nations. Arguably the most comprehensive scholarly resource available for study in this area, the Routledge Handbook of Health Communication serves an invaluable role and reference for students, researchers, and scholars doing work in health communication.
ISBN: 1136931678Publication Date: 2011-08-24
The SAGE Handbook of Healthcare by
With escalating healthcare costs, changes to the regulatory control on pharmaceutical industries and the inevitable adjustments made in policies and investment in healthcare there is enormous interest in the commercial as well as the scientific aspects of today's healthcare industry. The SAGE Handbook of Healthcare provides an authoritative analysis of the current (and anticipated) developments in the global healthcare industries. Providing a unique perspective that interfaces between the science and business aspects, it combines information on the latest scientific developments with applied, commercial business data from the global marketplace. The Handbook focuses on the aspects of paramount importance in the healthcare sector: - Pharmacoeconomics - Pharmacogenomics - Therapeutics - Diagnostics Areas covered include: - The role of nanotechnology, genomics and cell therapy in medicine - Diagnostics; Biomarkers and technological advances - Case studies in oncology and cardiovascular and CNS therapeutics
ISBN: 1847877001Publication Date: 2008-01-01
