Health Communication & Information
This research guide covers a broad range of health communication and information research resources and supports the Master of Health Communication and Information (MHCI) and other programs offered through the School of Communication and Information.
Need help?
Databases
- Policy Map PolicyMap is an online data and mapping application that provides access to over 10,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, income, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, and more.
- Policy File Index A collection of public policy research reports from over 350 think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, and advocacy groups. The primary focus of the collection is U.S. public policy, but it also includes many reports on international public policy as well as reports issued by international organizations.
- PAIS Index PAIS Index provides coverage of public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public administration/policy. Useful for research comparing nations.
- Academic Search Premier Multi-disciplinary database with emphasis on scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals. Full-text available for many titles.
Journals of Interest
- Health Policy and Planning Available from 01/01/1996.
- Health Affairs It was described by The Washington Post as "the bible of health policy". Pearlstein, Steven (January 12, 2005). "Consolidation: Health Care's Empty Promise". The Washington Post
- Future of Children The Future of Children is a biannual academic journal published by the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs at Princeton University and the Brookings Institution. It focuses on providing policy makers with the best available information about policies and programs regarding children.
- Value in Health Presents original research and health policy articles specifically written to highlight contemporary topics.
- Milbank Quarterly Supports research of issues related to population health and health policy. It covers topics such as the impact of social factors on health, prevention, allocation of health care resources, legal and ethical issues in health policy, health and health care administration, and the organization and financing of health care.
- International Journal of Health Policy and Management Serves as an international and interdisciplinary setting for the dissemination of health policy and management research. It brings together individual specialties from different fields, notably health management, health policy, and health economics into a dynamic academic mix.
- Health Expectations Promotes critical thinking and informed debate about all aspects of patient and public involvement and engagement (PPIE) in health and social care, health policy and health services research.
- Health Policy Intended to be a vehicle for the exploration and discussion of health policy and health system issues and is aimed in particular at enhancing communication between health policy and system researchers, legislators, decision-makers and professionals concerned with developing, implementing, and analysing health policy, health systems and health care reforms, primarily in high-income countries outside the U.S.A.
Health Policy Resources
- Bloomberg School of Public Health Research Centers – Health Policy
Search the many Centers and Institutes within the Bloomberg School of Public Health - CDC Public Health Professionals Gateway
This page provides information about and links to CDC offices and programs that focus on policy-related matters and on various laws, regulations, and policies that have public health implications. - Community Commons
An interactive mapping, networking, and learning utility for the broad-based healthy, sustainable, and livable communities’ movement. - Community Toolbox
The Toolbox helps assessing community needs and resources, addressing social determinants of health, engaging stakeholders, action planning, building leadership, improving cultural competency, planning an evaluation, and sustaining your efforts over time. - Families USA
Families USA, a leading national, non-partisan voice for health care consumers, is dedicated to achieving high-quality, affordable health care and improved health for all. - Kaiser Family Foundation
Features data on topics such as health insurance, government healthcare programs, minority and women's health, and health reform. - KIDS COUNT
KIDS COUNT provides legislators, public officials and child advocates with reliable data, policy recommendations and tools to advance policies that benefit children. - The National Academy for State Health Policy
NASHP is a nonpartisan forum of policymakers throughout state governments, learning, leading and implementing innovative solutions to health policy challenges. - Rand Corporation: Health Policy
RAND advances understanding of health and health behaviors, and examines how the organization and financing of care affect costs, quality, and access. - Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
RWJF supports research and programs targeting some of America’s most pressing health issues—from substance abuse to improving access to quality health care. - StateNetwork.org
StateNetwork.org consolidates timely, high-quality resources on state health policy for busy policymakers and researchers. - U of P - Global Go To Think Tanks Index Reports
The Index is the result of an international survey of over 1,950 scholars, public and private donors, policy makers, and journalists who helped rank more than 6,500 think tanks using a set of 18 criteria developed by the TTCSP. Report includes the “Top Health Policy Think Tanks” and “Top Social Policy Think Tanks” - Urban Institute Health Policy Center
In our work analyzing employer-based coverage, Medicare and Medicaid, the health care safety net, and state and local initiatives to improve population health, we are providing the answers decision makers need to address health problems in America.
Related Research Guides
Rutgers Resources
- The Center for State Health PolicyThe Center provides analytic expertise in the areas of Access and Coverage, Health and Long-Term Care Workforce, Health System Performance Improvement, Long-Term Services and Supports, and Population Health.
- Center for Tobacco StudiesThe mission of the CTS is to enhance the evaluation and surveillance of tobacco control as well as industry initiatives and strategies by conducting research studies and translating and disseminating findings to program planners and policy makers.
- Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences Institute (EOHSI)Advancing science and policy to reduce health risks where people live, work and play.
- Institute for Health, Health Care Policy and Aging Research (IFH)IFH is a hub for multidisciplinary and translational research focused on improving population health.
- IR-4 Public Health Pesticides DatabaseThe IR-4 Project aids growers by facilitating registrations of pesticides and biopesticides on specialty food crops (fruits, vegetables, nuts, herbs, spices) and environmental horticulture crops (trees, shrubs, flowers).