Need help?
Searching the Literature
Because health informatics pulls from many different fields, it's important to search in multiple databases. Use the tabbed box to identify databases in Business, Computer Science, Medicine, and more. Also, check out the databases included in the Related Research Guides. If you run into problems finding relevant research content, please contact a librarian!
- ACM Digital LibraryThese publications cover various fields related to computing, including software, hardware, computational theory, artificial intelligence, information science, human-computer interaction, instructional technology, and the research and development communities involved in computing.
- DBLP Computer Science BibliographyThis server provides bibliographic information on major computer science journals and proceedings. DBLP indexes more than one million articles and contains more than 10,000 links to home pages of computer scientists.
- IEEE Xplore*Excellent resource on the topic, covering more than 30% of the world's literature in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science, information science, materials science, physical sciences and biomedical engineering. Includes peer-reviewed and grey literature.
- Business Source PremierFor articles on all aspects of business: topics, companies or industries which may be in trade journals as well as scholarly peer reviewed journals.
- MintelOffers demographic, product and industry market research reports covering US and international marketplaces which combine data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles.
- CINAHL with Full TextCINAHL provides comprehensive indexing of the nursing and allied health journal literature. It includes indexing for over 5,000 journals, including publications in nursing and allied health, consumer health, alternative/complementary medicine, biomedicine, and health sciences librarianship.
- PubMedUsing this Rutgers-specific link to access PubMed will allow Rutgers users to access full text articles from subscribed journals.
- Cochrane LibraryFocusing on high quality evidence to support health care providers in their clinical decision making, the Cochrane Library includes 6 databases which may be searched as a group or individually. The primary resource, the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, includes more than 4,650 reviews and 2,015 protocols.
- Academic Search PremierMulti-disciplinary database with emphasis on scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals. Full-text available for many titles.
- Dissertations and ThesesSearchable database of theses and dissertations from many countries and many institutions. International file begins in 1637; US file begins in 1861.
- Google Scholar (Rutgers restricted version)You will also see "Get it @ R" links when using Google Scholar while logged into the on-campus network. If you are using Google Scholar off campus, configure Google Scholar to display "Get it @ R" links by customizing your library links settings.
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science indexes leading scholarly journals, books, proceedings, reports, and other formats. Its major subject areas include sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Additional DatabasesOur over 300 indexes and databases can be found here.
Journals of Interest
- Applied Clinical Informatics Available from 2009 volume: 1
- BMC Medical Informatics Decision Making Available from 2001.
- Computers, Informatics, Nursing : CIN. Available from 2002 volume: 20 issue: 2.
- Health Informatics Journal Available from 1997 volume: 3 issue: 1
- Informatics in Primary Care Available from 02/01/2003
- International Journal of Medical Informatics Available from 03/01/1997.
- Journal of the American Medical Informatics Association: JAMIA Available from 1994 volume: 1
- Journal of Biomedical Informatics Available from 02/01/2001
- Methods of Information in Medicine Available from 2000 volume: 39 issue: 1
- BMJ Quality & Safety. The journal integrates the academic and clinical aspects of quality and safety in healthcare by encouraging academics to create evidence and knowledge valued by clinicians and clinicians to value using evidence and knowledge to improve quality.
Organizations
- American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA)
The professional organization for the health informatics community. Through education, training, accreditation and certification, AMIA supports the current and next generation of informatics professionals. - International Medical Informatics Association (IMIA)
As an "association of associations", the International Medical Informatics Association is dedicated to unifying several different informatics associations. The goal is to create a global perspective in the field. - Medical Informatics Caucus, Medical Library Association
Since 1991, the Medical Informatics Caucus (MIC) has provided a forum for, and communication between medical librarians, health professionals and other professionals from the information sciences.
Government Resources
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
AHRQ mission is to enhance the quality, appropriateness, and effectiveness of health care services and access to care by conducting and supporting research, demonstration projects, and evaluations; developing guidelines; and disseminating information on health care services and delivery systems. - HealthIT.gov
Health IT.gov was created to provide critical, reliable information on health IT and electronic health records (EHRs) to wider audiences. - HSRIC Health Informatics
Health Services Research Information Central maintains a page through the U.S. National Library of Medicine & National Institutes of Health with resources in Health Informatics. - Lister Hill National Center for Biomedical Communications
LHNCBC conducts research and development in biomedical informatics and the use of advanced communications and computing technologies to improve how NLM (National Library of Medicine) brings clinical data and health information to consumers, health care providers, and researchers.