Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Data Literacy: Resources & Tools

This is a collection of information resources on data literacy. Users can find links to courses, workshops, tools, tutorials, videos, webinars, and other resources related to data literacy.

Data Resources

  • CDC Wonder (https://wonder.cdc.gov/) - WONDER stands for Wide-ranging OnLine Data for Epidemiologic Research. It is an internet system that makes the CDC information resources (with a wide array of public health information) available to public health professionals and the public at large. Users can make queries on public-use data sets about mortality (deaths), cancer incidence, HIV and AIDS, TB, natality (births), census data and many other topics. The requested data are readily summarized and analyzed. Produce tables, maps, charts and download tab-delimited text exports of summary statistics.
  • Data for NJ (http://www.cshp.rutgers.edu/data-for-nj) - A collection of alphabetized links to external resources of general interest to the New Jersey health policy audience compiled by Rutgers Center for Sate Health Policy. The collection includes links to information specific to New Jersey and also to national sites that have state-level data for New Jersey.
  • Data.gov (https://www.data.gov/) - Data.gov is a federal open government data site managed and hosted by the U.S. General Services Administration, Technology Transformation Service. To find datasets, enter keywords in the search box.
  • FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data) (https://fred.stlouisfed.org/) -  FRED is a widely used database of regional and national financial and economic data. It is updated regularly and accessible 24/7. 
  • HealthData.gov (https://healthdata.gov/) - A federal government website managed by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, this site makes government data discoverable and accessible to the public. The data is collected and supplied from agencies from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services as well as state partners, including the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Food and Drug Administration, and the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, etc.
  • ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)   (https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/ICPSR/) - ICPSR is an international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations. It provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
  • New Jersey Data Book (https://njdatabook.rutgers.edu/) - The Dr. Ernest C. Reock, Jr. New Jersey Data Book is the most comprehensive online source of official, current statistics and information about New Jersey, published as a free public service by Rutgers' Center for Government Services (CGS).
  • New Jersey Geographic Information Network (NJGIN) Open Data (http://njogis-newjersey.opendata.arcgis.com/) - This website provides access to many of the New Jersey state's spatial datasets, allowing users to search, query and download filtered or complete records for each dataset.

  • New Jersey Department of Education (DOE) Data & Reports (https://nj.gov/education/data/) - This site contains New Jersey's educational data.

  • Pew Research Center - Download Datasets (https://www.pewresearch.org/download-datasets/) - Pew Research Center makes its data available to the public for secondary analysis after a period of time. Users need to log in to download datasets in various areas.

Useful Tools

For Data Management Plans

  • DMPTool (https://dmptool.org/) - DMPTool is a free online tool for anyone who creates data management plans that are required by many funding agencies as part of the grant proposal submission process. Rutgers University is now a member of DMPTool. Any Rutgers affiliated user can sign in using Rutgers NetID and password at https://dmptool.org/. Click the Sign In button on the top right and choose “Option 1: Institution affiliated with DMPTool.” If you need any help, contact your librarians.
  • DMPOnline (https://dmponline.dcc.ac.uk/) - Jointly developed by Digital Curation Centre (DCC) and University of California Curation Center (UC3), this is tool is UK based. Within the tool there are a few templates representing different funders. Users will be guided to an appropriate template.

For Data Visualization

  • Gephi (https://gephi.org/) - Gephi is an open-source and free visualization and exploration software for all kinds of graphs and networks.
  • Sci2 Tool (https://sci2.cns.iu.edu/user/index.php) - The Science of Science (Sci2) Tool is a modular toolset specifically designed for the study of science. It supports the temporal, geospatial, topical, and network analysis and visualization of scholarly datasets at the micro (individual), meso (local), and macro (global) levels.
  • Tableau Public https://public.tableau.com/en-us/s/) - Tableau Public is free software that can allow anyone to connect to a spreadsheet or file and create interactive data visualizations for the web.

For Data Sharing

  • Dryad (http://datadryad.org/) - The Dryad Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of datatypes.
  • figshare (https://figshare.com/) - Figshare is an open source online repository where users can make their research outputs available in a citable, shareable and discoverable manner.
  • GODAN (Global Open Data for Agriculture & Nutrition) (https://www.godan.info/) - It promotes the proactive sharing of Open Data to make information about agriculture and nutrition available, accessible and usable. GODAN website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.