Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote Tutorials

EndNote is a citation management tool used by researchers, faculty, and students to store, organize and cite references. This guide is to show how to use EndNote effectively.

Enable "Find Full Text" in EndNote and Find Full Text Remotely

EndNote allows users to find full text articles for the references in their library by enabling 1) Web of Science Full Text Links, 2) DOI, 3) PubMed Linkout, and 4) OpenURL, as long as there is an Internet connection. Rutgers users can take advantage of all the four options listed above to get full text articles in EndNote. 

Please note: To enable OpenURL (the 4th option), you must be using the latest version of EndNote (20.3 or higher). 

To enable the OpenURL feature in EndNote:

  1. Go to the Edit menu and choose Preferences
  2. Mark the checkbox for OpenURL
  3. Enter the OpenURL path: https://na04.alma.exlibrisgroup.com/view/uresolver/01RUT_INST/openurl?
  4. Enter the authentication URL: http://proxy.libraries.rutgers.edu/login?url=
  5. Click OK

See the screen capture below:

Once these preferences are set, you should be able to find fulltext. If you have any question, please feel free to contact your campus librarians.

To locate full text for references in your EndNote library:

  1. Select the references for which you want to locate full text
  2. Go to the References menu and choose Find Full Text > Find Full Text 

Please note that you may be prompted to authenticate using your Rutgers NetID. If you ever need to re-enter or update your login credentials, you can do this by going to References > Find Full Text > Authenticate. 

Find Full Text in EndNote

To find full text, please follow these steps:

  • Open your EndNote Library.
  • Highlight the references for which you are to find the full text. Even though EndNote 20 allows you to select up to 250 references at a time to find full text, I suggest you choose a smaller batch of references, because it might slow down the process if too many references are being checked for full text at the same time in a batch.
  • Under the References menu, choose Find Full Text -> Find Full Text...
  • The program then crawls the Internet and finds the matching full text to be attached to the appropriate reference.
  • A clip icon will be placed next to a reference if its full text is found and attached.

How to Attach a File to a Bibliographic Record in EndNote?

If using the Find Full Text feature does not retrieve a full text but you have the full text article in PDF, you can manually attach it to the bibliographic record:

  • In the EndNote library, double click the reference to which you want to attach the file. The right pane will be displayed,
  • In the right pane, under the Summary tab, there is a button called "+ Attach file". Click on the button, a dialog box pops up for you to select a file to link to the reference.
  • Find the file you want to attach.
  • Once attached, the full text article is placed in the accompanying data folder. So do not remove that data folder. The PDF file can be opened within EndNote or externally in your browser.  
  • A clip icon is now displayed to the right of the record in the EndNote library.

How to Read and Annotate a PDF File?

EndNote has a built-in PDF viewer. It is located in the right pane of the EndNote Library interface. In the right pane, there are a few tabs, one of which has the PDF icon named Attached Files. Click that tab, you will see the PDF file if it is attached. If not available, it will say "There are no PDFs attached to this reference." When it is displayed, the screen will be too small to read the content in the PDF. You need to expand it to the full screen by clicking the outward arrow which is at the most right in the right pane.

Once the PDF file is in full view, you may highlight any content, or place a sticky note anywhere you want. you may remove any annotation by right clicking your mouse and choose Delete Annotation at the bottom of that box. Caution: please do not choose Remove, which will remove the whole PDF file. The annotation and sticky notes can be saved and they are searchable.

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.