Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

New Americans: American Immigration History: Asians

Chronology

Asian American Chronology.
Xiaojian Zhao. Santa Barbara, Calif., Greenwood Press, 2009.
Pre-nineteenth to the 21st century. Available?

Need More?

Use these "formulas" to search the Catalog for material on specific immigrant groups:

[Country Name] Emigration and Immigration Example: Philippines Emigration and Immigration
[Country Name] Americans Example: East Indian Americans
[Group] United States Example: Filipinos United States

Need a Book Not in Dana?

If a book that you need is not available (not owned/checked out) at the Dana Library, but a circulating copy (BOOK-Y) is available from another Rutgers Library, you can request delivery of that book to Dana by bringing up the record for the book in the Catalog and clicking on tbe Book Delivery button.

Asian Immigrants

Asian American Encyclopedia
Franklin Ny, editor. New York, Marshall Cavendish, 1995. 6 vols.
Signed entries on topics dealing with various Asian groups in the U.S. Especially strong on cultural aspects and issues. Bibliographic references. An outstanding resource. Available?
Racism, Dissent, and Asian Americans From 1850 to the Present: A Documentary History
Edited by Philip S. Foner and Daniel Rosenberg. Westport, Conn., Greenwood Press, 1993. Available?

Chinese

China and America: A Bibliography of Interactions, Foreign and Domestic
James M. McCutcheon. Honolulu, University Press of Hawaii, 1972.
Selective bibliography of English-language materials. Includes sections on Chinese immigration and exclusion, and on the Chinese community in the U.S. Available?
A History Reclaimed: An Annotated Bibliography of Chinese Language Materials on the Chinese of America
Compiled by Him Mark Lai. Los Angeles, Asian American Studies Center, University of California, 1986. Available?

East Indians

Sikhs in North America: An Annotated Bibliography
Darshan Singh Tatla. New York, Greenwood Press, 1991. Available?
South Asian Diaspora Bibliographic Guide: Immigration
List of articles, books, and videos. From the UC Berkeley Library.
Coming From India: Part 1
Coming From India: Part 2
Radio documentary on the East Indian community in New Jersey. Co-production of NJN Radio and the New Jersey Historical Commission. 1998

Filipinos

Chronology of Filipinos in America Pre-1898
Eloisa Gomez Borah. Chronology with links where available.
Filipino Migration to the Unites States: Bibliography
Annotated list of books, articles, and videos relating to the Filipino migration.
Exclusion of Immigration from the Philippine Islands: Hearings Before the United States House Committee on Immigration and Naturalization
Washington, D.C., United States Congress. House Committee on Immigration and Naturalization, Seventy-First Congress, 2d Session, April 10-12, May 7 and 8, 1930. Rutgers-restricted access
Naturalization of Filipinos: Hearings Before the United States House Committee on Immigration and Naturalization
Washington, D.C., United States Congress. House Committee on Immigration and Naturalization, Seventy-Eighty Congress, 2d Session, November 22, 1944. Rutgers-restricted access

Japanese

Encyclopedia of Japanese American History: An A-to-Z Reference From 1868 to the Present
Brian Niiya, editor. Updated edition. New York, Facts on File, 2001. Available?
Japanese American Internment During World War II: A History and Reference Guide
Wendy L. Ng. Westport, Conn., Greenwood Press, 2002. Available?
The Japanese in America, 1843-1973: A Chronology & Fact Book
Masako Herman. Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1974. Available?

Koreans

Koreans in America, 1882-1974: A Chronology & Fact Book
Hyung-chan Kim. Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1974. Available?
Korean American History
Overview from 1904 to the present. A project of the Korean American Museum.
Korean American Digital Archive
"The Korean American Digital Archive brings more than 13,000 pages of documents, over 1,900 photographs, and about 180 sound files together in one searchable collection that documents the Korean American community during the period of resistance to Japanese rule in Korea and reveal the organizational and private experience of Koreans in America between 1903 and 1965." Part of the University of Southern California Digital Library.

Vietnamese

Socio-Cultural Adaptation of the Vietnamese Diaspora
Mark E. Pfeifer. Bibliography. One of a series of Vietnamese Studies Bibliographies.
Van Do, Peter. "Between Two Cultures: Struggles of Vietnamese American Adolescents," Review of Vietnamese Studies 2(1), 2002.
Vietnamese Exile Narratives
Annotated bibliography of narratives written by Vietnamese in the West.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.