Finding Archival Collections and Primary Documents
Commercials and Ads
- Ad*Access Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955. A digital collection from the Duke University Libraries.
- AdViews Thousands of television commercials from the 1950s to the 1980s.
- The Advertising Archives Database of over 100,000 searchable images. You can also browse by category
- Life Photo Archives Not just ads, but you can find them if you add "source:life" to any Google image search and search only the LIFE photo archive. The "Search LIFE images" box at the site itself does not seem to work.
- Bettmann Archive More than 11 million stock photography images. You can search by "advertisement" and your subject. For example, "advertisement train," or "advertisement japan* war."
- The Living Room Candidate Presidential Campaign Commercials 1952-2020.
- Early Television Commercials. From the Internet Archive.
- Classic TV Commercials. Another collection from the Internet Archive.
Subject Guide
Natalie Borisovets
Contact:
185 University Avenue
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
Subjects: American Studies, Communication, Criminal Justice, History - Global & Eurasian, History - North America, Journalism & Media Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Literatures in English, New Jerseyana, Political Science, Social Work, Spanish & Portuguese Studies, Women's & Gender Studies