English Literature
- Literature Online (LION)
- The full text of over 350,000 English-language literary works, including literary work in various genres from African Americans. Rutgers-restricted Access.
- African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
- 42 published works by 19th century black women writers; key-word searchable. Part of the Digital Schomburg collection.
- Black Drama: 1850 to the Present
- "The full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by 201 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries." Rutgers-restricted Access
- Black Women Writers
- Fiction, poetry, and essays by women of African nations and the African Diaspora. Writings by African American women from 1770 through the 20th century. Rutgers-restricted Access.
- Shakespeare in Performance: The Folger Shakespeare Library Prompt Books
- Over 1,000 digitized rare and unique prompt books. Rutgers-restricted Access
Imprints
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
- Access to every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in the American colonies or the United States between 1639 and 1800. Includes advertisements, almanacs, bibles, catalogs, charters and by laws, contracts, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, laws, maps, narratives, novels, operas, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, and treaties. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Early English Books Online (EEBO).
- A full-text, online image collection containing practically all books (nearly 120,000) printed in the English language and non-English language books printed in British territories from 1475 to 1700. Based on Pollard & Redgrave's Short Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions.Rutgers-restricted Access
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO).
- Digital versions of more than 180,000 English language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, allowing full text searching of more than 33 million pages of material. Includes books and broadsides, Bibles, tract books, and sermons, and printed ephemera. Rutgers-restricted Access
Subject Guide
Natalie Borisovets
Contact:
185 University Avenue
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
Subjects: American Studies, Communication, Criminal Justice, History - Global & Eurasian, History - North America, Journalism & Media Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Literatures in English, New Jerseyana, Political Science, Social Work, Spanish & Portuguese Studies, Women's & Gender Studies