Skip to Main Content
Rutgers University Library logo

Finding Archival Collections and Primary Documents

Minority and Ethnic Press

African-American Newspapers
Searchable full-text database consisting of:
Freedom's Journal (New York, 1827-1829)
Colored American (New York, 1837-1841)
North Star (Rochester, N.Y., 1847-1851)
National Era (Washington, DC, 1847-1850)
Frederick Douglass' Paper, (Rochester, N.Y., 1851-1852)
Provincial Freeman, (Toronto, 1854-1857)
Christian Recorder, (Toronto, 1861-1862)
Rutgers-restricted Access
American Indian Newspapers
Digitized American Indian newspapers dating from 1828 to 2016. Rutgers-restricted Access
Chicago Defender
The Chicago Defender was the most influential African-American newspaper of the 20th century. With the majority of its readership outside the Chicago region, it served as the de facto national black newspaper in the U.S. Search and display the full text of articles published between 1910 and 1975. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text collection of articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press back to 1960. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press
Search or browse Mexican and Mexican American publications, primarily daily and weekly newspapers, published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the present. A project of the University of Arizona.
U.S. Ethnic Press
Newspapers and periodicals published by various North American ethnic groups and held by the Center for Research Libraries (Chicago). Some have been digitized; those that have not are available to Rutgers users via Interlibrary Loan. Searchable by ethnic group.