Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Finding Archival Collections and Primary Documents: Finding Book Reviews

Print Resources

Book Review Digest
1906-  . Citations, along with brief excerpts, to reviews of English language books published or distributed in the United States.The majority of the reviews come from non-scholarly sources.
DANA REF Z1219 .C96; Current volumes on Index Table

American Literary and Drama Reviews: An Index to Late 19th Century Periodicals.
Indexes reviews appearing during the years 1880 to 1900 in a select number of magazines. Part I covers reviews of American dramatic productions, chiefly in New York City, and Part II covers literary works.
DANA REF PN2256 .M37

Literary Reviews in British Periodicals, 1798-1820: A Bibliography. Literary Reviews in British Periodicals, 1821-1826: A Bibliography
Index to scholarly journals with reviews of poetry, fiction and drama. Use for early reviews of British authors like Austin, Edgeworth, Mary Shelley and Scott
DANA REF PR442 .W36
DANA REF PR453 .W36

The Romantics Reviewed: Contemporary Reviews of British Romantic Writers.
9 volumes of reviews from scholarly journals reproduced in facsimile. Covers British writers of the period 1793 to 1824 including Wordsworth, Coleridge, Byron, Shelley, Keats and others. The author/title index appears in Part C, Volume II.
DANA REF PR590 .R43

Book Reviews

Book Review Index Plus
Index to book reviews from popular and scholarly journals from 1965 to the present.
Off-Campus Access  Rutgers-restricted Access
Periodicals Index Online/Archive Online
International Index to over 5000 journals ranging from the 18th century to 1995. Includes a growing archive of full-image articles and links to JSTOR collections where available.
Off-Campus Access  Rutgers-restricted Access
Humanities Index Retrospective
Indexes core, English-language periodicals in art, literture, music, philosophy and history published between 1907 and 1983.
Off-Campus Access  Rutgers-restricted Access
Reader's Guide Retrospective
Index to the most popular general-interest U.S. periodicals between 1890 and 1982.
Off-Campus Access  Rutgers-restricted Access

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.