Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching the Library Catalog
The Rutgers Libraries own more than 20,000 films, videos, DVDs, and other visual materials, along with more than 100,00 sound recordings, including documentaries and instructional materials of interest to educators. To identify relevant audio or visual materials, use the following search strategy:
- Go to the Library Catalog
- Use the Advanced Search mode
- Search by author, keyword, title, or subject (or an combination)
- Click on the FORMAT box and select "Recorded Sound" or "Visual Materials."
Graduate students and faculty can usually borrow audio or visual materials (the Catalog uses the symbol "Y" in Type/Circulation field to identify items that can be borrowed. Increasingly, however, audio and visual materials are being purchased in streaming format, allowing online access.
Sound and Image Databases
Academic Video Online
A collection of 21 cross-searchable video databases covering a broad range of disciplines.
Filmmakers Library Online
A collection of more than 1000 documentaries on a wide array of topics.
A cross-searchable platform of all of Rutgers University Libraries Alexander Street Press music-related products, including Smithsonian Global Sound and Opera in Video. Smithsonian Global Sound includes more than 42,000 tracks of American folk, blues, bluegrass, jazz, spoken word, and world music.
Naxos Music Library
More than 75,000 tracks of music--primarily classical, but also including world music, jazz, and national anthems.
Visual History Archive
The USC Shoah Foundation Institute's Visual History Archive contains nearly 52,000 video testimonies in 32 languages (without subtitles) from 56 countries. The Institute interviewed Jewish survivors (49,400 out of the total) and other persons with experience of the Holocaust.