Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Education: eReference Sources

A guide to research and curriculum resources in the field of education.

eReference Sources

Digital Reference Collections

Reference sources can be a valuable springboard for research.  They provide overviews of a topic or a field, define key terms, introduce key thinkers and theories.


Gale Virtual Reference Library

A virtual reference library that contains e-books, articles, videos and other pieces of information. It covers a wide range of topics and it may be accessed any where in the world. Here you can access valuable information instantly.

Sage eReference Encyclopedias  

This Encyclopedia provides readers with authoritative essays on virtually all social science methods topics, quantitative and qualitative, by an international collection of experts. Organized alphabetically, the Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods covers research terms ranging from different methodological approaches to epistemological issues and specific statistical techniques.

Individual Digital Reference Titles


Encyclopedia of Applied Developmental Science

Covers topics such as: adolescent, adult, child, and infant development; ads training and education; culture and diversity; developmental assessment, disorders, processes, and risks; the ecology of human development; emotional, social, and personality development; ethics; families and parenting; health; historical influences; organizations, schools and universities; religiosity and spirituality; research methodology; social issues; and more.

Encyclopedia of Behavior Modification and Cognitive Behavior Therapy

Provides a thorough examination of the components of behavior modification, behavior therapy, cognitive behavior therapy, and applied behavior analysis for both child and adult populations in a variety of settings. Although the focus is on technical applications, entries also provide the historical context in which behavior therapists have worked, including research issues and strategies. Entries on assessment, ethical concerns, theoretical differences, and the unique contributions of key figures in the movement (including B. F. Skinner, Joseph Wolpe, Aaron T. Beck, and many others) are also included.

Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology

Draws from a variety of disciplines including psychology, anthropology, education, sociology, public health, school psychology, counseling, history, and philosophy.

Encyclopedia of Giftedness, Creativity, and Talent

Contains thousands of ready-to-use facts from the fields of education, psychology, sociology, and the arts. The entries cover the major facets of this field, from artistic ability, to achievement motivation, to creative personality, to emotional intelligence, gender differences, genius, intelligence testing, learning styles, minority under-representation, multiple intelligences, musical ability, prodigies, scientists, self-actualization, thinking skills, and more.

Encyclopedia of Human Development
 

Includes information from the "fields of psychology, individual and family studies, and education." An electronic version of the 3 volume print resource, the set "covers topics as diverse as adolescence, cognitive development, education, family, gender differences, identity, longitudinal research, personality development, prenatal development, temperament, and more."

Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education

Intended to provide a comprehensive background for those interested in issues involving schools and society.

21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook

Provides "a general understanding of the issues of utmost importance in education in the 21st century. The text is a combination of historical reviews, current debates, and pending issues of concern at the classroom, state, and federal levels, with sections devoted to students, their teachers, professional staff, the educational context of curriculum and learning, and current and future issues."

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.