Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Education: Teaching and Learning Materials

A guide to research and curriculum resources in the field of education.

EDLAB

The EDLAB located on the Third Floor of Alexander Library, contains textbooks for grades K-12 on the major subjects: Reading, Language Arts, Mathematics, Social Studies, and Science. There are activity books and other curriculum-related sources, integrated into the regular Education collection. This guide includes publishers' sites for students and teachers for the major subject areas.

 

 

Web Sites

Edutopia

Provides learning tools and interactive media on a range of subjects for K-12.

GlobalSchoolNet.org

Provides collaborative eProjects for students

Searching for Teaching and Learning Materials

ERIC

Provides access to information in journals and non-journal literature, including conference papers, books, reports, dissertations, theses, and policy papers. NOTE: You can search this database simultaneously with Academic Search Complete and Professional Development Collection by clicking on Choose Databases and checking the box next to the specific database titles.  Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) or the U.S. Department of Education, the ERIC online digital library is publicly accessible at http://eric.ed.gov/

Teacher Reference Center

Provides information from the most popular teaching and administrator magazines and journals.

goENC.com

Collection of materials for math and science educators, including lesson plans, articles about teaching practices, curriculum resources and professional development tools.  Searchable by resource type, subject and grade level.  As section on No Child LEft Behind (NCLB) and State Standards provides an overview of NCLB, teacher accountability, scinetifically based research and links to state standards.

Library of Congress: American Memory

Provides holographs of important documents and art pieces. Featuring samples of current American Memory exhibits.

Databases Provided By Jersey Clicks


Primary Search

Provides full text popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

MAS Ultra - School Edition

Contains full text popular high school magazines, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

MasterFILE Elite

A multidisciplinary database of full text general reference publications dating as far back as 1975, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.

Middle Search Plus 

Provides full text of popular middle school magazines, biographies, historical essays, primary sources documents, and School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.