Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Education: Data/Statistics

A guide to research and curriculum resources in the field of education.

American Fact Finder

 American Fact Finder

Run by the American Census, you can find statistical information on many aspects of areas within the United States

Databases

Data Resource Person

An important resource person is Ryan Womack, Economics and Data Librarian.  Please see his guide to Data Services.

Higher Education

Association for Institutional Research: Web-Based IR Resources

Links to over 2200 websites with data and other information related to institutional research, including Common Data Sets available from higher education institutions participating in the collaborative effort between publishers and the higher educational community to provide quality and accurate information.

Chronicle of Higher Education

Provides statistics on a variety of topics related to higher education, including faculty salaries, pay and benefits of presidents, gender equity in athletics, endowments, graduation rates, philanthropy, crime, library holdings, and data on student enrollment, financial aid, and test scores.

College InSight 

Successor to EconomicDiversity.org,, College InSight, an initiative of the Institute for College Access and Success provides information for approximately 7,000  U.S. colleges and universities.  Includes data variables on cost of attendance, graduation rates, race/ethnic diversity of faculty, and race/ethnic and economic diversity of students, including debt of graduating seniors, percentage of undergraduates with financial need,  percentage who received Pell Grants.  A comparison tool allows users to compare and select variables and institutions, as well as view and compare the data elements for all institutions.

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets provides fast and easy access to data from more than 70 organizational sources, with over 35 billion data points from 4.9 billion datasets available. All of the data have been standardized and structured, and are described with up to 37 fields of metadata, including a controlled vocabulary.  Coverage includes US Federal, US State, International, and Nonprofit organizational sources.

Education Finance Statistics Center: Surveys and Programs

This segment of the National Center for Educational Statistics focuses on postsecondary education. Includes links to surveys of students in their last year of undergraduate studies, statistics on career and technical education of secondary and postsecondary students, and longitudinal studies of students from secondary through postsecondary education and workplace. Provides a link to the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS), the NCES data collection program which gathers data from postsecondary education providers and provides data tools for collection and analysis of data and statistics.

EDUCAUSE Core Data Service

Provides comparison data about campus information technology environments and practices for decisionmaking and planning for information technology in higher education.ECAR (EDUCAUSE Center for Applied Research) provides research studies and analyses of issues in higher education.

Grapevine: An Annual Compilation of Data on State Tax Appropriations for the General Operation of Higher Education

A project of the Center for the Study of Education Policy at Illinois State University, this is a source of data on tax support for universities, colleges, community colleges, and state higher education agencies. Provides individual state reports and a 50-state summary table showing the total state tax appropriations for the current year and percent changes over one, two, five, and ten years.

Higher Education Research Institute (HERI)

HERI, based in the UCLA Graduate School Education & Information Studies, encompasses the Cooperative Institutional Research Program (CIRP) which is considered the "largest and oldest empirical study of higher education". The website includes information from surveys and other research projects related to faculty and students on such topics as spirituality, transfer and retention, college and gender gap, impact of single-gender high schools on transition to college, and effects of service learning.

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)

This is the world's largest archive of digital social science data, including significant data relevant to higher education.

International Bibliographic Database on Higher Education (HEDBIB)

This is an integrated database of over 30.000 references related to higher education systems, administration, planning and policy, costs and finances, evaluation of higher education, issues related to staff and students, cooperation, mobility and equivalences of degrees, curricula, teaching methods and learning processes HEDBIB is maintained and compiled by the International Association of Universities (IAU) from its own data and with contributions from: UNESCO Headquarters in Paris (http://www.unesco.org); UNESCO European Centre for Higher Education (CEPES) (http://www.cepes.ro) UNESCO International Institute for Educational Planning (IIEP) (http://www.unesco.org/iiep); UNESCO International Institute for Higher Education in Latin America (IESALC) (http://www.iesalc.unesco.org.ve); American Council on Education (ACE) (http://www.acenet.edu); Center for Higher Education Policy Studies (CHEPS) (http://www.utwente.nl/cheps); ERIC Clearinghouse on Higher Education (ERIC) (http://eric.ed.gov).

National Center for Education Statistics

The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

National Center for Public Policy and Higher Education

This nonprofit, nonpartisan organization prepares analyses of performance results and key findings for promoting higher education policies.

National Science Foundation

Provides data and statistics related to science and engineering factors for higher education. Includes information for college and universities on research and development expenditures, research facilities, and federal support. Provides profiles for science and engineering factors for each state that includes higher education data and includes surveys on women, minorities, persons with disabilities, graduate students, doctorates, and post docs in science and engineering. The WebCASPAR Integrated Science and Engineering Resource Data System provides access to statistical data sources for science and engineering at U.S. academic institutions, as well as information on other fields and on higher education in general.

New Jersey School Report Card

Data about every school in New Jersey--including enrollment, test scores, attendance and dropouts, budgets, etc.

Security on Campus, Inc.

This site provides college and university campus crime data available from the U.S. Department of Education statistics from more than 6,000 schools and the FBI's Uniform Crime Reporting program data for about 400 schools. The analysis cutting tool provided by the Office of Postsecondary Education of the U.S. Department of Education facilitates customized reports based on data of one institution or campus, aggregated data for a group of campuses, or the complete data file for all institutions for a specified year.

State Higher Education Executive Officers (SHEEHO)**

Designed to serve the needs of statewide coordinating and governing boards in higher education, this site provides surveys on salaries, tuition, financial assistance, priorities, issues, and trends in higher education Includes links to data sources, fiscal resources, accountability reports, planning reports, and analytical tools for assessing and analyzing higher education data and general factors.

UNESCO Institute of Statistics

Provides education data from 200 countries and territories collected through two annual surveys. Information includes enrollment, graduates, demography, and educational finance. Provides data tool for building custom data tables.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.