Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Education: Dissertations

A guide to research and curriculum resources in the field of education.

Finding Dissertations and Theses

The  Dissertations and Theses  (Proquest) database is the primary source for identifying Doctoral dissertations and Master's theses from North American graduate schools and foreign universities. The database includes bibliographic citations for foreign dissertations beginning in the year 1637 and U.S. dissertations beginning with the first one, accepted in 1861. The database incorporates ongoing additions for dissertations and theses accepted as recently as last semester. 

Titles available as native or image PDF formats include free twenty-four page previews. For titles that are available full text from ProQuest, an "Order a Copy" link provides information about ordering options. Many of the foreign dissertations are available from the Center for Research Libraries. Many US dissertations can be requested through E-ZBorrow or interlibrary loan, thought some universities will not lend dissertations.

Rutgers users have free access to the full text (PDF format) of Doctoral dissertations completed at Rutgers University since 1997. A small number of Rutgers dissertations from previous years are also available full text. Beginning with some 2007 submissions, dissertations and theses from the Graduate School - New Brunswick are no longer sent to the libraries in paper format, but are instead added to RUCore as part of the Rutgers Electronic Theses and Dissertations (RUetd) project.  Dissertations from GSE have been added to RUcore starting in 2010.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.