Education

Academic Search Premier

Multidisciplinary index to scholarly, professional, and popular periodicals. Includes a significant number of education journals. Use the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) feature to limit your results.  NOTE: You can search this database simultaneously with ERIC and Professional Development Collection by clicking on Choose Databases and checking the box next to the specific database titles.

ERIC

Provides access to information in journals and non-journal literature, including conference papers, books, reports, dissertations, theses, and policy papers. NOTE: You can search this database simultaneously with Academic Search Complete and Professional Development Collection by clicking on Choose Databases and checking the box next to the specific database titles.  Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) or the U.S. Department of Education, the ERIC online digital library is publicly accessible at http://eric.ed.gov/. 

Teacher Reference Center

Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 peer-reviewed journals. Topics include assessment, pedagogy, elementary education, continuing education, higher education, school administration, teacher education, and literacy standards.

PsycINFO

Academic and professional journal and non-journal literature in psychology and related areas such as education.  Use the Peer Reviewed Journal limit feature.

Sociological Abstracts

Academic and professional journal and non-journal literature in sociology and related areas such as education.  Click on the Peer-Reviewed Journals tab. 

Web of Science

Includes scholarly peer-reviewed journal article information published from 1984 to the present for sciences, arts and humanities, and social sciences.

PLUS....

Google Scholar

Searches peer-reviewed papers, dissertations, books citations, and reports from a variety of providers available on the Web.  Sources of material include academic publishers, professional societies, prepreint repositories, universitites and open access publishers.  Google Scholar is not considered comprehensive for academic content, so for the most thorough search of your topic, use one of the specialized databases listed above, starting with ERIC.

• Scholarly/Peer-reviewed Limiter
  • by clicking this button you will only get results from peer-reviewed sources
  • Watch out for Book Reviews, Editorials, and News Pieces
• Publication date
  • Use the scale to find articles from a particular date range
  • Within 10 years is the recommended range for recent research
• Thesaurus
  • This can be used to find synonyms and other search terms
  • It can also be used to convert keywords into subject terms