Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences: Books

This subject research guide serves as a roadmap to the psychology resources available at the Rutgers University Libraries

Finding ebooks while Rutgers Libraries are not open during the COVID-19 closure

Searching to see if Rutgers owns a particular book (Paper format and Ebooks)

All of the books that Rutgers owns will be listed in QuickSearch, found on the RUL homepage (www.libraries.rutgers.edu).There is also an advanced search. All books, both print and eectronic can be found in QuickSearch. Help may be accessed at:  https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/quicksearch-help

If you reach ebooks, and are not at a Rutgers computer, you will be challenged for your netID and password.  The psychology collections consist of a mix or ebooks and printed books, even in new and cutting edge areas. Please send any requests for new books to Laura Mullen at lbmullen@rutgers.edu

Any book that we do not own can easily be requested via one of our borrowing options. These are found from the library homepage and you can place the order yourself. Please start with QuickSearch. For more difficult to find books, please choose Interlibrary Loan and our staff will locate the book and ship it to your nearest RUL library. Any book at another Rutgers Library can be shipped to your closest library location very quickly for your use.

Information about finding books in QuickSearch:

To search for a book, enter the title, author, or subject into the search box. Use the filters to the left of your search results to limit your search by resource type or availability. Select Held by library to find print books available at the library. Select Available online to find ebooks that can be read online. In cases where the library has more than one edition, you may see multiple versions of the book grouped together.

Click on a result for more details, including location and availability. For print books, look under Find in Library to determine where the book is located and whether it is available for checkout. You must be signed in to view loan terms and request options. For example, the book below is located in the Alexander Library Stacks, available for checkout, and can be borrowed until the end of the semester.

Getting Books NOT owned by Rutgers

If you are affiliated wtih Rutgers,  Rutgers can obtain almost any book(s) for you free of charge through our interlibrary loan or EZ Borrow systems. Please see the libraries website under "Borrowing and Interlibrary Loan" (in the left gray bar) for all information and online forms.

If a reuqest gets cancelled and you really need a book, please send me an email and I would be happy to investigate alternatives for you.

Using WorldCat

WorldCat is a large catalog of books owned by libraries throughout the world. WorldCat may be used to make sure a title is correct, or to see whether other libraries own a book that Rutgers does not. WorldCat can also be used to search for books by subject in order to make a list of those books for research. Books found in WorldCat that Rutgers does not own may be ordered through interlibrary loan for your use. WorldCat is listed on the Databases list on the libraries' homepage.

 

Using/Borrowing from other libraries

Psychology Textbooks and other book materials (including Reserve) at Rutgers

Reserves Information for Faculty: Putting items on reserve

Rutgers libraries do not automatically buy required course textbooks. Sometimes, those books are put on reserve by professors for student use. If a book is put on reserve, it will show up in the "Find Reserves" section of the library website. Books are searchable by instructor, course, or title/author. IF a book has been put on reserve, it will be held at the Access/Circulation Desk of the library listed.

If the textbook is not on Reserve, students may (rarely) be able to find it by a search of the library catalog (QuickSearch) by title. This would be for the rare case where the libraries own the textbooks. Students may also use "EZ Borrow" to try to locate and borrow a textbook from another library. The loan period is only 28 days, so relying on this method to get textbooks may be problematic.

Faculty may find information on how to put books, articles, chapters, videos (or other library materials) on reserve through the "Services and Information for Faculty" area of the website.

Reserves Information for Students

For students, physical books may be placed on reserve at a local library. Please see the library website and go to the large search box (QuickSearch). You will be able to search for your instructor's name, author or title. Please try the title if you have it, and make sure when searching for reserve materials to change the drop down to "Course Reserves." Many reserves are in electronic format and some are at the reserve desk in the library in paper form. QuickSearch (Course Reserves) will give you all the information. Once you know that something is on reserve, it will be at the circulation/access/reserves desk at that library location. Search tip from QuickSearch:  To search for materials placed on reserve by your instructor, enter your keywords and select Course Reserves from the drop down menu. For more precise results, use Advanced Search to limit your search by course name, course number, or instructor. Remember to use colons or spaces when searching by course number (e.g., 19:910:506:12 or 19 910 506 12).

Searching for psychology books on Reserve

For students, books may be placed on reserve at a local library. Please see the library website and go to the large search box (QuickSearch). You will be able to search for your instructor's name, author or title. Please try the title if you have it, and make sure when searching for reserve materials to change the drop down to "Course Reserves." Many reserves are in electronic format and some are at the reserve desk in the library in paper form. QuickSearch (Course Reserves) will give you all the information. Once you know that something is on reserve, it will be at the circulation/access/reserves desk at that library location. Search tip from QuickSearch:  To search for materials placed on reserve by your instructor, enter your keywords and select Course Reserves from the drop down menu. For more precise results, use Advanced Search to limit your search by course name, course number, or instructor. Remember to use colons or spaces when searching by course number (e.g., 19:910:506:12 or 19 910 506 12).

Dissertation Information

Rutgers dissertations completed by GSAPP and Psychology students are now being submitted electronically as part of the Rutgers Electronic Theses and Dissertations Program (RU ETD). Rutgers also participates with Proquest (formerly UMI) and dissertations are indexed and made available through the international index entitled "Dissertations and Theses" (found on our list of databases). We also have a subscription to a subset of the global Dissertaions and Theses database for just Rutgers dissertations (the index, Dissertations and Theses @Rutgers University).

Psychology dissertations in paper are included in the collections of the Library of Science and Medicine(and other locations) and are searchable in the library catalog (QuickSearch) by author or title. Please see the dissertations guide linked below for comprehensive information and links to indexes and RUCore. Also below, see specific information for GSAPP students about dissertations and theses (on the GSAPP website).

Important Psychology Print Resources Owned By RUL

 

Important Print Resources in Psychology at Rutgers

Books, Indexes and Reference Works are all found in the library catalog (QuickSearch) by title.

Psychology Dictionaries/Encyclopedias/Handbooks can be found at LSM and other libraries in Ref. BF20-BF121 number ranges.

Psychiatry Dictionaries/Encyclopedias/Handbooks can be found at LSM Ref. RC435-RC437

See online version of International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences Access from campus or login via Rutgers account

Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud
(London: Hogarth Press, 1956-1974)(translated from the German)
This series also known as "Strachey" after James Strachey, the general editor. 24 volumes.
LSM, ALEXANDER, DOUGLSS, CARR, CAMDEN, DANA BF173.F6253 (German edition found at ALEXANDER)

Guttman, Samuel A. The Concordance of the Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud
(Boston: G.K. Hall, 1980). 6 volumes. LSM Ref. BF173.F62541, also DANA Ref.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th Edition (Also known as APA Style Manual)
(Washington, D.C., APA, 2019).

Please note that the APA style manuals are not available as ebooks to institutions; these manuals are available to purchase in print and ebook to individuals. Rutgers has the print editions. Please see the APA Style tab on the top of this guide to latest information on APA Style.
7th edition is the latest available; check the library catalog for holdings for earlier editions. The Publication Manual is only produced in paper in its entirety. QuickSearch lists all holdings for the new 7th edition (2020) under Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association; call number is BF76.7.P83 (Ref or Reserve). Please note that all previous editions of the APA style manual (aka the Pub Manual) may be located by searching the title, Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association in QuickSearch.

Some aspects of electronic style can be found in OWL at Purdue. See the APA style tab for more information.

Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print
LSM and ALEX own earlier editions of MMY and TIP in print, but these resources are now included in our online subscription to Mental Measurements Yearbook (also found on our "Databases" list on the library homepage.  Tests in Print is an index to MMY. These test tools provide indexes to tests and NOT the actual tests themselves. For further information about test materials, see: Finding Tests and Measures

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM V is latest)
(American Psychiatric Association, 2013).
Print copies of older editions are found in various RU libraries. Search QuickSearch using the title Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders for all previous editions of DSM. DSM materials are now online through "PsychiatryOnline," also found via  "Databases" on the library homepage.

Grinstein, Alexander. The Index of Psychoanalytic Writings
(New York: International Universities Press, 1956-75) 14 volumes
LSM Ref RC437.G72

Chicago Psychoanalytical Literature Index
(Chicago, CPL Publishers, 1971+)
Located in the library annex.

Cabell's directory of publishing opportunities in psychology / David W. E. Cabell, editor; Deborah L. English, editor.
LSM BF30.C114 YR. 2005/06
Information on journal rejection rates; other hard to find information; now somewhat dated. Note: Rutgers does not subscribe to the online Cabell's
 database.

Psychology/Behavioral Sciences Librarian; Open Access Specialist

Laura Bowering Mullen's picture
Laura Bowering Mullen
Contact:
Rutgers Library of Science and Medicine
165 Bevier Road
Busch Campus
Piscataway, NJ 08854-8009
lbmullen@rutgers.edu (email is the best way to contact me)
848-445-3663

http://orcid.org/0000-0002-9847-5949

For access to selected publications, please see:
http://soar.libraries.rutgers.edu/bib/Laura_Bowering_Mullen/

Ebooks in Psychology

More information will be added here in coming months as to how to search for only ebooks in psychology at Rutgers. You can do a catalog search for books and restrict the search to Available Online for now.

Freely available scholarly psychology ebooks

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.