Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Business Databases: Quick Guide: Company Research

Rutgers Online Databases

Start with MarketLine for 30,000 company profiles, SWOT analyses, financial deals, and market share. (Rutgers-restricted access)

Investext Snapshot is a collection of company (and some industry) reports from analysts at over 400 investment banks, brokerage firms, and independent research organizations. This collection provides access to the latest three reports on more than 40,000 publicly-traded companies and the two most current reports on 125 industries. (Rutgers-restricted Access)

Mergent Online, the electronic version of the Mergent/Moody's Manuals has much information on public firms around the world, with historical background, up to 25 years of financials, details on debt and capital structure, Mergent's own equity research, and includes reports on insider and institutional owners. (Rutgers-restricted Access)

Mergent Horizon provides a 360 degree view of a company's competitors, suppliers, partners, and corporate customers, using a detailed hierarchical classification system for actual products and services. Mergent Horizon covers over 6,000 actively traded U.S. public companies. (Rutgers-restricted Access)

Use ReferenceUSA to find prospects and competitors by industry, location, and size. Includes a directory of over 14 million U.S. public and private companies. Displays of company listings include internal links to subsidiary and parent companies, where applicable, as well as lines of business, senior executives and their titles. (Rutgers-restricted access)

PrivCo is an excellent resource for business and financial research on non-publicly traded companies, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed, and international unlisted companies. The database currently includes profiles for over 900,000 companies, 20,000 private equity and venture capital firms and investors, and 100,000 private market deals. (Rutgers-restricted Access)

Westlaw includes Hoover's reports on companies and their competitors. (Rutgers-restricted access) See also: How to Find Hoover's (PowerPoint)

The historical volumes of the Mergent/Moody's Manuals are now available online on Mergent Archives, with brief company and financial information going back to 1909 for some firms. (Rutgers-restricted Access)

Cheetah is a comprehensive database of documents related to taxation in the United States. (Rutgers-restricted Access)

Government Resources

The number of establishments in each industry, broken down by employee size, may be found in County Business Patterns (organized by NAICS).

For businesses run by the self-employed, refer to the Nonemployer Statistics for states, metro areas, and counties (also organized by NAICS).

Rutgers Guide

More resources may be found on the guide to Company Research.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.