Skip to main content

Psychology & Behavioral Science: Home

This subject research guide serves as a roadmap to the psychology resources available at the Rutgers University Libraries

Getting Started with Using the Rutgers Libraries to do Psychology Research

Welcome to the Rutgers University Libraries. Our goal is to provide the collections and services that are to be exected from a major research library, and to make sure we are serving the needs of our university community. Psychology materials, at one time, were mainly housed at the Library of Science and Medicine on the Busch Campus-with collections also housed at the Newark and Camden campuses. Now, many of our journal collections are online and available remotely to all researchers at all locations.  So, please use the search box on the front of the library catalog for the materials that you will need-before traveling to the library. Much of what you likely need for your research will be found online, and if we don't have access to (or own) any other material you need, we also provide rapid delivery of any material (to your email in the case of articles).  Please contact Laura Mullen via the contact box at the right, if you need any assistance, or have suggestions to offer. Thank you.

For Faculty and Staff

Faculty at Rutgers have a liaison librarian that is usually a subject specialist. If you would like to discuss any aspect of the libraries collections and services, I would be happy to speak with you. I build the psychology collections and provide reference services in psychology and in sciences. Please refer to the "Faculty Services" portion of our website for general information about reserves, borrowing, and other specific library services.

For Psychology Students

Psychology students will find that the Rutgers libraries have a great collection of books, journals, and other types of resources for use in writing papers, doing research, or finding background reading for coursework. If you have any questions at all as you use the library, librarians are available to help you. We all enjoy working with you, and welcome emails, phone calls, chat, or visits to our reference desks. "Ask a Librarian" is our popular online help portal, but we may still be found in the libraries as well. Don't wait until time is short to "ask a librarian" about any assistance that you might need. Let me know how I can help!

Welcome to the Psychology Research Guide

Welcome to the Psychology Research Guide. This guide has been prepared for use with the Rutgers University Libraries' collections and services. Hopefully you will find that Rutgers Libraries have excellent content in your research area -as well as the services to quickly obtain any materials we do not happen to own. Please feel free to contact me with any questions that you might have. I would be happy to assist you. Please start with any of the red tabs just above this message. Thank you.

Other Subject Guides Useful to Psychology

In addition to this Psychology subject guide, there are other guides that researchers might find useful. Please see the following resources authored by other Rutgers librarians:

Tutorials on Doing Research in the Rutgers Libraries

...more Rutgers-specific tutorials coming soon; thanks for your patience!

Library News of Interest to Psychology

This section will be used to relay any important messages about new psychology resources or library issues. Please contact Laura Mullen with any questions or suggestions: lbmullen@rutgers.edu

Sept., 2016

1. RUL has acquired the APA Handbook of Clinical Psychology. You may access it by clicking on the "Encyclopedias" tab above this guide, or by searching the library catalog through the books and media tab on the library website. Search there by title: APA Handbook of Clinical Psychology

2. For information on the University's Open and Affordable textbook grant program, please see:

http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/open-textbooks

Fall, 2016

3. The Rutgers Open Access Policy has gone into effect as of Sept. 1, 2015.

Please visit the SOAR website for information on the policy, the Senate resolution, to deposit your work, or to request presentations, consultation, or other services.

This Rutgers Open Access Policy ensures the widest dissemination of Rutgers scholarship via the SOAR (Scholarly Open Access at Rutgers) website and suite of services. Depositing work in SOAR, which is crawled by Google, allows articles to circulate worldwide on the internet. Researchers without access to subscriptions will be able to access the results of Rutgers research. When an article is accepted for publication (post peer review, all revisions complete), Rutgers faculty, doctoral students and postdocs should upload the author version (typically a Word doc or PDF) to SOAR at soar.rutgers.edu. SOAR staff take care of researching all permissions and handle other issues. Please send all inquiries about the OA policy or SOAR to Laura Mullen at lbmullen(at)rci,rutgers.edu. All questions welcomed!

4.  Open Access/Open Data journal from APA

APA is publishing a pioneering open access, open data, open methodology journal, "Archives of Scientific Psychology."  For information, please see:

https://www.apa.org/pubs/journals/statistics.aspx

Nov. 2014

5. Open Access Textbooks: many sources under the Open Educational Resources tab above
Check out this open access texbook builder for psychology: Knowledge Evolved/Noba (more info under tab "Open Educational Resources (OERs)" See:

http://nobaproject.com/

Also, see the tab above labeled "Open Educational Resources" for more open textbook resources. There are many good sources of quality open textbooks listed under the OER tab above.


2014

6. Newly Acquired Psychology-related Databases at RUL (please click "view all databases" ini the search box on the library homepage for the alphabetical list:

Mental Measurements Yearbook (with Tests in Print)

Springer Ebooks in Behavioral Sciences

Added content to Counseling and Therapy in Video

Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)

7. New Books found under "This just in" (call number order, see BF, RC for instance- or by subject):

http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rul/newstuff/newstuff.shtml

 

Search Tip: Start your search for a few good Psychology articles right in the large search box on the library homepage under the Articles tab.

Behavioral Sciences Librarian; Open Access Specialist

Laura Bowering Mullen
Contact:
Rutgers Library of Science and Medicine
165 Bevier Road
Busch Campus
Piscataway, NJ 08854-8009
lbmullen@rutgers.edu (email is the best way to contact me)
848-445-3663

http://orcid.org/0000-0002-9847-5949

For access to selected publications, please see:
http://soar.libraries.rutgers.edu/bib/Laura_Bowering_Mullen/

Psychology Librarians by Campus

For inquiries related to behavioral sciences/psychology services or collections in New Brunswick/Piscataway,

please contact Laura Bowering Mullen at

lbmullen@rutgers.edu

For inquiries about behavioral sciences/psychology  services and collections in Newark Dana Library,

please contact Ann Watkins at

ewatkins@llibraries.rutgers.edu

For questions about behavioral sciences services and collections at our Camden Paul Robeson Library,

please contact: Katie Elson Anderson  at

katander@librariesl.rutgers.edu

An Introduction to RUL