Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HathiTrust Digital Library Emergency Temporary Access Service
HathiTrust Digital Library Emergency Temporary Access Service [Rutgers Restricted] [Temporary Access]
During the time Rutgers University Libraries physical buildings are closed due to COVID-19, many print books under copyright that are held by Rutgers University Libraries are now temporarily available to Rutgers students, faculty, and staff on the HathiTrust platform. [Note: Users with a guest status at the University (ex. voluntary faculty, visiting scholars and students, senior auditors, Rutgers Foundation staff) are excluded from accessing these resources.]
After linking to HathiTrust, log in with your NetID and password to access these books, which are labelled Temporary Access. Click "Temporary Access" and then click "Check Out" to read these books in your browser.
There are some unique things to remember about these books:
- You must read the books in your web browser. The full text of Temporary Access books cannot be downloaded.
- Checkouts are in one-hour increments and will auto-renew if you are actively viewing the book.
- Rutgers has access to a limited number of copies of each book (equal to the number of physical copies we have). If all copies are checked out, you will not be able to check out the book until a copy is returned.
- Please return books as soon as you are finished with them so others can access the books.
General and Multidisciplinary
Digital Book Index
"A union catalog of electronic books, texts, and documents." Provides access to more than 140,000 English language records for both commercial and non-commercial eBooks from more than 1,800 publishers and private publishing organizations. Full-text for more than half of the titles is available free. Includes most major disciplines and ranges from the highly scholarly to the contemporary and popular. Each record lists author, title, edition, format, price (if any), and publishing organization.
Digital Public Library of America
Offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, government documents, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Users can browse and search the DPLA’s collections by timeline, map, format, and topic.
DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books
Academic peer-reviewed books from a variety of publishers.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) [Rutgers Restricted]
Includes a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, covering a variety of subjects such as behavioral science, business, technology, science, literature and humanities as well as a comprehensive range of audience levels from basic introductory level texts to high level research materials.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO): Text Creation Partnership
Standardized, accurate XML/SGML encoded electronic text editions of almost 50,000 early print books.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) [Rutgers Restricted]
A nearly comprehensive collection of the works published in the English language (and non-English language works printed in England) during the eighteenth century, approximately 150,000 books, with 33,000,000 pages.
Links to online encyclopedias in a wide range of disciplines.
A multi-lingual online collection of millions of digitized books, newspapers, film clips, maps, photographs and documents from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections.
Gale eBooks [Rutgers Restricted]
An extensive collection of encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference sources covering a broad range of humanities, social science, science, and multidisciplinary areas.
Provides access to books, manuscripts, maps, images, newspapers, magazines, periodicals, sound records, music, scores, and other materials digitized by the Bibliothèque Nationale de France and by partner libraries. Select the Advanced Search for additional options. The search interface is available in French, Spanish, German, Portuguese, and English.
Search the full-text of a growing collection books and view information about each book. Full-text is available for those books that are out of copyright. Sample pages or brief excerpts may be available for material still under copyright.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A collaborative repository of millions of books, government publications, dissertations, journals, and other published and unpublished materials. Titles published prior to 1923 and those that are open access or Creative Commons-licensed are available full-text. Other materials include limited-access searching. -- Access to the resource is unrestricted, but Rutgers affiliates can log in to gain access to additional features such as full-text download and the ability to create permanent collections.
Internet Archive: Ebook and Texts
A searchable open-access archive of electronic texts.
Just Free Books
A search engine for locating public domain texts, open books, free audio books, ad-supported books and more on more than 700 websites.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Includes a wealth of freely accessible resources from a variety of original formats: book, manuscript, photograph, audio, etc.
Million Books Project
The goal of the Project is to digitize a million books to create a free-to-read, searchable digital library of materials in multiple languages.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) [Rutgers Restricted]
A database of primary source collections for the 19th Century, primarily British and American, but including material from other nations and in other languages.
OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks)
"The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences."
OASIS - Openly Available Sources Integrated Search
A search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. Includes books, textbooks, primary sources, videos, audios, and other types of material. Developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
Online Books Page
"Listing over 1 million free books on the Web." Searchable by author, title, or subject.
"An open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published." Browse by subject or search. Part of the Internet Archive.
Oxford Scholarship Online [Rutgers Restricted]
A collection of over 16,000 ebooks published by Oxford University Press. Rutgers owns all the Oxford University Press ebooks published through 2022. Subjects include: biology, business and management, classical studies, economics and finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, mathematics, music, neuroscience, palliative care, philosophy, physics, political science, psychology, public health and epidemiology, religion, social work, and sociology.
Browse the full title or author listing, or search for a book in this collection of downloadable etexts. Includes classic works that are in the public domain, with the majority of the texts being in English.
ProQuest Ebook Central [Rutgers Restricted]
A searchable full-text collection of electronic books across all academic disciplines. A searchable full-text collection of electronic books across all academic disciplines. Includes an extensive collection of encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference sources.
SAGE Knowledge [Rutgers Restricted]
A large collection of eBooks, including monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. Most titles are in Social Sciences and related fields.
Scripta Sinica [Rutgers Restricted]
One of the largest Chinese full-text databases, with a special focus on the traditional Chinese classics.
The Standard Ebooks project differs from other etext projects in that it aims "to make free public domain ebooks that are carefully typeset, cleaned of ancient and irrelevant ephemera, take full advantage of modern ereading technology, are formatted according to a detailed style guide, and that are each held to a standard of quality and internal consistency."
Wiley Online Library [Rutgers Restricted]
Subjects covered include: business; chemistry; computer science; earth and environmental science; education; engineering; law; life sciences; mathematics and statistics; medicine and healthcare; physics and astronomy; polymers and materials science; psychology; and social sciences. Includes encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference tools.
World Digital Library
Primary materials from countries and cultures around the world, inlcuding books, manuscripts, photographs, maps, and more.
The Internet Archive's collection of books for children from around the world.
Children’s Literature and Culture [Rutgers Restricted]
A digitized collection of printed literature for children produced from the 1820s through the 1920s. The collection focuses on literature published in the Americas, but it also includes many sources published in Europe. The collection contains a wide variety of children’s materials, including alphabet and object books; chapbooks; pamphlets; pop-up books; printed books; sheet music; sketches, drawings, and paintings; stereo photographs; and toys and games. Materials in this collection are sourced from the American Antiquarian Society and the Winterthur Museum and Library.