Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Encyclopedias and Handbooks (Electronic Reference Sources): What's Included

A library guide providing links and information about finding encyclopedias and handbooks.

Definitions

encyclopedia

"An elaborate and exhaustive repertory of information on all the branches of some particular art or department of knowledge; esp. one arranged in alphabetical order."

handbook

"Originally: a book small enough to be easily portable and intended to be kept close to hand, typically one containing a collection of passages important for reference or a compendium of information on a particular subject, esp. a book of religious instruction (now historical). Later also more generally: any book (usually but not necessarily concise) giving information such as facts on a particular subject, guidance in some art or occupation, instructions for operating a machine, or information for tourists."

[Oxford English Dictionary]

What's included

The Rutgers University Libraries have an extensive collection of online encyclopedias and handbooks from which to choose, too many to provide an exhaustive list in this guide. Included here are collections and general and multidisciplinary resources with links to some freely accessible sites.

Tips for finding online encyclopedias and handbooks, reference entries, print encyclopedias and handbooks, and other online and print resources are also provided.

Please visit the following pages for related resources.

Government Resources &
Information Services Librarian

Stephanie Bartz's picture
Stephanie Bartz
Contact:
Archibald S. Alexander Library
Rutgers, The State University
169 College Ave.
New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1163
stephanie.bartz@rutgers.edu
848-932-6113

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.