Encyclopedias and Handbooks (Electronic Reference Sources)

Information on the people, places, and events of yesterday and today.

"Provides a comprehensive compendium covering the important methodological issues encountered in doing case study research, and exploring both their strengths and weaknesses from different paradigmatic approaches."

"Offers cross-disciplinary coverage, with contributions from and applications to the fields of Psychology, Education, Sociology, Human Development, Political Science, Business and Management, Public Health, and others."

"A useful overview of the core mathematical background for nonlinear science, as well as its applications to key problems in ecology and biological systems, chemical reaction-diffusion problems, geophysics, economics, electrical and mechanical oscillations in engineering systems, lasers and nonlinear optics, fluid mechanics and turbulence, and condensed matter physics, among others."

"Covers the spectrum of research design strategies, from material presented in introductory classes to topics necessary in graduate research. Addresses cross- and multidisciplinary research needs, with many examples drawn from the social and behavioral sciences, neurosciences, and biomedical and life sciences."

"Covers all major facets of survey research methodology, from selecting the sample design and the sampling frame, designing and pretesting the questionnaire, data collection, and data coding, to the thorny issues surrounding diminishing response rates, confidentiality, privacy, informed consent and other ethical issues, data weighting, and data analyses."

"Scientific reference volume, designed to keep you up-to-date with the latest developments as well as providing key information on major scientists and events that have changed the course of history."

"Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields."

"Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences."

"Entries cover every major facet of qualitative methods, including access to research participants, data coding, research ethics, the role of theory in qualitative research, and much more."

"Features two major types of entries: definitions, consisting of a paragraph or two, provide a quick explanation of a methodological term; and topical treatments or essays discussing the nature, history, application/example and implication of using a certain method." Also covers "topics not normally viewed as part of social science research methodology, from philosophical issues such as poststructuralism to advanced statistical techniques."

"An open wiki project aimed at creating an enormous, free, and reliable encyclopedia."

The first ten editions, issued from 1768-1903, in 231 volumes. From the National Library of Scotland.

"Reference entries from credible, published sources like Oxford University Press and Columbia Encyclopedia."

"Global access to knowledge about life on Earth."

"Expert-written, informative and accessible articles help readers find the information they need across a wide range of disciplines, from history and nature to psychology and business."

"A unique online encyclopedia that contains everything about symbols, signs, flags and glyphs arranged by categories such as culture, country, religion, and more." Explore by category, alphabetically, or search by keywords.

A wiki-based free content multilingual encyclopedia with supporting almanac-like and gazetteer-like information. A good starting point for background information on a wide range of topics.

From the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency, the Factbook includes maps and detailed information on the geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for countries worldwide

Information on "an array of historical topics and narratives through text, video, interactive features, and social media."