Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

Encyclopedias and Handbooks (Electronic Reference Sources)

A library guide providing links and information about finding encyclopedias and handbooks.

A Sampling of Encyclopedias and Handbooks from QuickSearch

Searching

To find additional encyclopedias and handbooks in QuickSearch:

  1. Enter your subject term(s) along with the word encyclopedia or handbook. For example:
         anthropology AND encyclopedia
         depression AND handbook
  2. Your results will include book reviews and related material, but you can use the options at the left of your results list to narrow your search to books, reference entries, and/or e-books.
    • To locate a complete encyclopedia or handbook, select Book from the Resource Type menu.
    • To locate an entry in an encyclopedia or handbook, select Reference Entries from the Resource Type menu.
    • To limit your results to e-books, select Available Online from the Limit to menu.
  3. Select any title from the results list to view the complete details for that item including the link for online access.

For general information on searching, visit the QuickSearch help page.

QuickSearch

QuickSearch

Submit Search
RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.