Electronic Books

A collection of over 150 art and architecture e-books and over 32,000 images of art objects. The e-books are major works in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design.

Rare books, journals, and manuscripts on subjects ranging from advertising and aeronautics to zinc sculpture and Zuni cuisine. The focus is on the broad topics of History and Culture, Art and Design, and Science and Technology.

Combines classic works and new scholarship across the entire range of the Humanities, including Area Studies, Art, Film & Media Studies, History, Literature, Performance Studies, Philosophy, Religion, and Women Studies.

A full-text searchable corpus of texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.

Cultural Histories survey common subjects throughout human history. Each Cultural History is divided into volumes by time period: Antiquity, The Middle Ages, Early Modern Age, The Age of Enlightenment, The Age of Empire, and The Modern Age.

The full text of more than 250 Cambridge history volumes. Subject matter ranges widely across the humanities with a concentration on political and cultural history. The subject categories containing the most volumes are regional history, general history (with its chronological series) and literary studies, but there are also several series on the history of religion, philosophy and economic history.

Contains more than 800 French literary works, narratives, poems, and plays from the ninth through the sixteenth centuries. The database interface and texts in the Corpus are in French.

A French-literature resource containing the full text of 1,000 narrative works that date from the Middle Ages (Moyen Âge) to the 20th century.

Full text from more than 100 German authors from the Middle Ages to the early twentieth century including historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts.

An image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts.

All the titles originally published in a microform set, Early American Imprints, Series I. Based on Charles Evans' comprehensive American Bibliography, it makes available every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in the American colonies or the United States between 1639 and 1800.

A collection of electronic texts and links to texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820. From the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities.

Includes practically all books printed in English up to the 18th century; over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700).

"Provided so that all students and scholars of Middle Eastern language can access and study Syriac literature. In addition to literary works and manuscripts from past centuries, the collection is replete with texts, video and audio depicting modern Syriac scholarly work."

This online structured SGML/XML text edition collection will contain 25,000 books printed in English up to the 18th century, in the areas of English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, and the fine arts. Includes several hundred titles relating to Latin America, Portugal, or Spain.

Standardized, accurate XML/SGML encoded electronic text editions of almost 50,000 early print books.

A nearly comprehensive collection of the works published in the English language (and non-English language works printed in England) during the eighteenth century, approximately 150,000 books, with 33,000,000 pages.

Includes fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides focused on 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.

A program of the American Historical Association and Columbia University Press, the site provides scholarly monographs in digital format. These electronic books include extensive documentation, hyperlinks to supplementary literature, images, music, video, and links to related web sites.

A database of primary source collections for the 19th Century, primarily British and American, but including material from other nations and in other languages.

A collection of over 16,000 ebooks published by Oxford University Press. Rutgers owns all the Oxford University Press ebooks published through 2022. Subjects include: archaeology, biology, business and management, chemistry, classical studies, clinical medicine and allied health, computer science, earth sciences and geography, economics and finance, education, environmental science, history, law, linguistics, literature, mathematics, music, neuroscience, palliative care, philosophy, physics, political science, psychology, public health and epidemiology, religion, social work, and sociology.

Provides electronic access to the works of major writers in philosophy and other fields.

Includes more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.

One of the largest Chinese full-text databases, with a special focus on the traditional Chinese classics.

Rare books, journals, and manuscripts on subjects ranging from advertising and aeronautics to zinc sculpture and Zuni cuisine. The focus is on the broad topics of History and Culture, Art and Design, and Science and Technology.

Provides full-text access to book chapters, journal articles and other material published by the École française de Rome including ancient through modern history, archeology, art and art history, languages, literature, philosophy, religion, and the social sciences.

Contains major historic texts dating from from 300 to 800 A.D. translated into English. Original languages include Greek, Latin, Syriac, Coptic, Arabic, Georgian, Armenian and Old Irish. Geographically, the collection includes texts from Syria, Arabia, Armenia, Georgia and Egypt; North Africa; major cities of the Roman Empire (Antioch, Alexandria and Constantinople); and Spain, Gaul, Italy, Britain and Ireland.

Documents women's activism in public life by bringing together books, images, pamphlets, advice literature, training guides, documents (including primary documents), scholarly essays, commentaries, bibliographies, links to other websites, and other ephemera that provide snapshots of women's struggle for equality over time and across regions.

Combines classic works and new scholarship across the entire range of the Humanities, including Area Studies, Art, Film & Media Studies, History, Literature, Performance Studies, Philosophy, Religion, and Women Studies.

Features more than 250 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama, and non-fiction prose, including works by Chinua Achebe, Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko, Buchi Emecheta, Nadine Gordimer, Bessie Head, Doris Lessing, Nelson Mandela, Dambudzo Marechera, Christopher Okigbo, Okot p'Bitek and Tayeb Salih.

A full-text searchable corpus of texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.

Contain the full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.

The full text of more than 250 Cambridge history volumes. Subject matter ranges widely across the humanities with a concentration on political and cultural history. The subject categories containing the most volumes are regional history, general history (with its chronological series) and literary studies, but there are also several series on the history of religion, philosophy and economic history.

Search and read works of literature by authors such as Dickens, Tolstoy, Shakespeare, and many others.

Contains more than 800 French literary works, narratives, poems, and plays from the ninth through the sixteenth centuries. The database interface and texts in the Corpus are in French.

A French-literature resource containing the full text of 1,000 narrative works that date from the Middle Ages (Moyen Âge) to the 20th century.

Offers the full text of approximately 150 Spanish screenplays and works of criticism published by Ocho y Medio.

An image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts.

All the titles originally published in a microform set, Early American Imprints, Series I. Based on Charles Evans' comprehensive American Bibliography, it makes available every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in the American colonies or the United States between 1639 and 1800.

Includes practically all books printed in English up to the 18th century; over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700).

"Provided so that all students and scholars of Middle Eastern language can access and study Syriac literature. In addition to literary works and manuscripts from past centuries, the collection is replete with texts, video and audio depicting modern Syriac scholarly work."

This online structured SGML/XML text edition collection will contain 25,000 books printed in English up to the 18th century, in the areas of English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, and the fine arts. Includes several hundred titles relating to Latin America, Portugal, or Spain.

A nearly comprehensive collection of the works published in the English language (and non-English language works printed in England) during the eighteenth century, approximately 150,000 books, with 33,000,000 pages.

Full-text of Kafka's novels, short stories, essays, and diaries published both during his lifetime and posthumously.

A fully searchable library including more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose as well as encyclopedias and other reference tools.

Includes links to full-text literature collections and related resources.

A database of primary source collections for the 19th Century, primarily British and American, but including material from other nations and in other languages.

A collection of over 16,000 ebooks published by Oxford University Press. Rutgers owns all the Oxford University Press ebooks published through 2022. Subjects include: archaeology, biology, business and management, chemistry, classical studies, clinical medicine and allied health, computer science, earth sciences and geography, economics and finance, education, environmental science, history, law, linguistics, literature, mathematics, music, neuroscience, palliative care, philosophy, physics, political science, psychology, public health and epidemiology, religion, social work, and sociology.

"A repository of full-text literary and linguistic resources." Some resources are freely available to the public, other restricted.

Provides full-text access to book chapters, journal articles and other material published by the École française de Rome including ancient through modern history, archeology, art and art history, languages, literature, philosophy, religion, and the social sciences.

Combines classic works and new scholarship across the entire range of the Humanities, including Area Studies, Art, Film & Media Studies, History, Literature, Performance Studies, Philosophy, Religion, and Women Studies.

The full text of more than 250 Cambridge history volumes. Subject matter ranges widely across the humanities with a concentration on political and cultural history. The subject categories containing the most volumes are regional history, general history (with its chronological series) and literary studies, but there are also several series on the history of religion, philosophy and economic history.

Classic Christian books in electronic format including scriptures, commentaries, sermons, volumes from the first 800 years of the church, plus a variety of non-English, less classic, and non-Christian books.

Full text from more than 100 German authors from the Middle Ages to the early twentieth century including historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts.

"Provided so that all students and scholars of Middle Eastern language can access and study Syriac literature. In addition to literary works and manuscripts from past centuries, the collection is replete with texts, video and audio depicting modern Syriac scholarly work."

"A freely available non-profit archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics."

A collection of over 16,000 ebooks published by Oxford University Press. Rutgers owns all the Oxford University Press ebooks published through 2022. Subjects include: archaeology, biology, business and management, chemistry, classical studies, clinical medicine and allied health, computer science, earth sciences and geography, economics and finance, education, environmental science, history, law, linguistics, literature, mathematics, music, neuroscience, palliative care, philosophy, physics, political science, psychology, public health and epidemiology, religion, social work, and sociology.

Includes more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.

The archive of books and articles consists of papers and dissertations submitted by their authors.

Critical editions of texts from the first 1400 years of the Christian Church. Each text is accompanied by a French translation, introduction, and notes. The original texts are in Greek, Latin, Syriac, Aramaic, and Georgian.

Provides full-text access to book chapters, journal articles and other material published by the École française de Rome including ancient through modern history, archeology, art and art history, languages, literature, philosophy, religion, and the social sciences.