Research Guides: Marketing (33:630:301):Retail Marketing (29:630:368), Marketing Research (29:630:385), (29:630:452) (22:630:550) (22:630:586) (22:630:609); Advertising (29:630:363); Consumer Behavior (29:630:610) : Marketing and Society (29:630:428) Digital Marketing: Market Research

Rutgers Online Databases

The following databases are useful in data-driven marketing. These databases allow you to find information about the demographics of consumers, consumer habits as well as some data and statistics for a particular industry or business. All these databases are available through Rutgers Libraries website. Rutgers NetID and passwords are required to access the databases. Please note that due to the nature of these databases that involves large amount of data, some queries will require extra processing time.

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Data-Planet provides access to over 70 organizational sources, including US Federal, US State, International and Non-profit organizational sources. Examples are Census Data, Worldwide Stock Market Prices, China Data Center, and Zillow. (Rutgers-restricted Access)
Mintel Reports
Mintel Reports offer consumer product and industry market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles. (Rutgers-restricted access)
PolicyMap
PolicyMap also displays many popular categories of demographic information as maps, including population, income, home ownership, and education. The underlying data is derived from both government and commercial sources. (Rutgers-restricted Access) For a list of datasets currently available in PolicyMap, check out this web page: Data Indicators
Statista
Statista -- "Statista gathers data from over 18,000 sources, including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases."--from the library introduction page
Economist Intelligence Unit
The Economist Intelligence Unit is the research and analysis division of The Economist Group, the sister company to The Economist magazine. Rutgers subscribes to two sets of current reports from The Economist Intelligence Unit: Financial Services Report (accessed via the EIU Viewpoint interface) and Country Commerce.

The Market Research Guide will lead you to dozens more sources of information, both online and in print.

Web Resources

For current population data, use https://data.census.gov.

For projections of population data, see State-Produced Population Projections.

For a quick statistical overview of a county, city, or state, use QuickFacts from the US Census Bureau.