Global and Transnational Women's Activism

ASTRA advocates for sexual and reproductive health and rights in Central and Eastern Europe. The link "Publications," points to full-text reports on sexual and reproductive rights in Central and East European countries.

As a component of the European Forum for Democracy and Solidarity, Gender Network was founded in 1994 to address the gender aspect of democracy building and the status of women in countries in transition. The site has links to countries in the region, each with a summary for elections, political situation, social issues and links.

ECRE is an umbrella organization of 72 refugee-assisting agencies in 28 countries working towards fair and humane policies for the treatment of asylum seekers and refugees. The website contains ECRE's policy related documents, research papers, speeches, observations and press releases, news, and, links to other refugee sites.

In Swedish and English. This Swedish based organization supports women in regions affected by war and conflict especially in Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Kosovo, Macedonia, Serbia and Montenegro, Georgia, and Israel/Palestine. The links "Thematic Info" and "Country Info" provides information on the status of women in each of the above countries, ranging from history, women's movement and a list of partners. Their annual report is also available online.

WAVE is a network of organizations working against violence inflicted on women, family and children. The publication Fempower (2001- present) published twice a year is available fulltext in English and French.

In Russian, Georgian, and English. This regional Internet portal was founded in 2000 to share information among organizations working on gender issues and women's rights in South Caucasus. Resources include reports and documents about women in politics, women in art, women and society, and women in business in Armenia, Azerbaidjan, and Georgia. It has links to relevant international and regional sites. Helen Rusetskaia, founder of the modern women's movement in Georgia, is the coordinator.

In German and English. This network of documentation centers, libraries, and women's organizations works on issues of better representation of women specific information.

In Russian, Georgian, and English. This regional Internet portal was founded in 2000 to share information among organizations working on gender issues and women's rights in South Caucasus. Resources include reports and documents about women in politics, women in art, women and society, and women in business in Armenia, Azerbaidjan, and Georgia. It has links to relevant international and regional sites. Helen Rusetskaia, founder of the modern women's movement in Georgia, is the coordinator.

In French, English, and Dutch. Established in 1995 as the national center for women, it provides services and advocates for gender equality. The site includes archives of Belgium women's history, women's organizations and other links.

An international grassroots organization established in 1999 to aid the Kosovar refugees. The site includes information on the organization's projects, past and present.

Founded in 1998, this NGO promotes social equality and women's human rights through research, education and advocacy programs.

B.a.B.e. Be Active, Be Emancipated
A strategic group based in Zagreb that works for the affirmation and implementation of women's human rights.

Center For Peace, Nonviolence And Human Rights Ozijek
In Croatian and English, this organization focuses on the building of peace, protection and promotion of human rights and freedoms.

Prague Gender Studies Center
In Czech. Established in 1991 this NGO collects and disseminates information on women's rights and legal issues in Czech Republic. Its focus is on labor issues, violence against women, education and empowerment of women and advocates for institutional mechanisms to improve the status of women.

In Danish and English, it provides information on Danish women's and gender issues. The site includes Forum, their online magazine with articles in Danish and English.

In French. This site presents the summary, chronology, media coverage, and activities of the 1996 African immigrant movement Sans Papiers [Without Paper] in Paris when about 300 undocumented post-colonial immigrants occupied the Church of Saint Ambrose and demanded legal status. One of the strongest leaders and spokeswoman of the movement was the Nigerian Madjiguène Cissé .

In French, this organization develops strategies to address and prevent prostitution and creates reintegration mechanisms. Also represented in Benin, Brazil, Ivory Coast, and Portugal.

In Russian, Georgian, and English. This regional Internet portal was founded in 2000 to share information among organizations working on gender issues and women's rights in South Caucasus. Resources include reports and documents about women in politics, women in art, women and society, and women in business in Armenia, Azerbaidjan, and Georgia. It has links to relevant international and regional sites. Helen Rusetskaia, founder of the modern women's movement in Georgia, is the coordinator.

The foundation supports projects on women, gender, democracy, human rights, and liberation movements in societies all over the world.

In German, English, French, and Spanish. This organization works on peace, ecology and social justice. The site includes lists of books on eco-feminism, press releases and e-newsletters from 2003 to present, and more.

In Hungarian and English. Established in 1994, NANE is the only NGO in Hungary running a hotline for battered women and children. NANE initiated amendments to laws and public administration reforms in areas concerning victims of domestic violence. The site includes reports and other publications; the Hungarian version includes links to other women's organizations in Hungary.

In Dutch and English. Based in Amsterdam, this major resource center has a searchable database of books, articles, biographies, periodical titles, and archives on Dutch women. Organized by country, links to women's research organizations is also available.

This is an international women's human rights organization advocating for gender-inclusive justice and working towards an effective and independent International Criminal Court.

In Norwegian, English, and Spanish, this site is a resource center on international women's issues, coordinates women's organizations, and works on issues including women trade unions and immigrant and refugee women.

KILDEN disseminates news about Norwegian gender research, mainly through the webmagazine in Norwegian and English. The Website features other publications, including its own journal "Tidsskrift for kjønnsforskning" (Journal of Gender Research), links to gender resources and gender research units in Norway and a calendar.

NORAD is a directorate under the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs. It is tasked with ensuring that foreign aid is effectively applied, with an eye for quality assurance and evaluation. NORAD finances NGOs in addition to conducting its own research and projects.

English and Polish. Founded in 1991, NEWW supports activism on the status of women in Central and Eastern Europe, the Newly Independent States, and the Russian Federation. The member organizations are listed by country along with their focus. Most of the reports, newsletters, and publications listed are available full text.

In Polish and English. A member of ASTRA, the Federation was established in 1992 by five organizations (the Pro Femina Association, the Polish Feminist Association, the League of Polish Women, Neutrum, and The Society for Family Development) in order to defend women's right to choose.

The first democratic organization for women established during the December 1989 revolution to organize, represent and defend Romanian women's rights. The Website has links to its past programs and contains a profile of Liliana Pagu, a Romanian performance artist and activist.

In Serbian and English, the ATC is a non-profit NGO promoting universal human rights in the region. It emphasises programs addressing the causes of trafficking, such as gender-based violence, poverty, unemployment, and the lack of opportunities. The Website includes English and Serbian links and activities of the center.

In Serbian and English. The center addresses issues of gender, sexuality, ethnicity, race and class theoretically by locating potential models of resistance, oppression and marginalization, while celebrating diversity and differences. The Website includes center's current graduate and undergraduate courses, published material (books and magazine Genero), conference information, and research projects.

In Serbian and English, the women's feminist peace organization was established in October 1991. The website provides information about their activities and publications during the last 15 years.

EVAW is a coalition of specialist women's support services, researchers, activists, survivors and NGOs working to end violence against women and girls in all its forms.

The Human Rights Centre at the University of Essex is an interdisciplinary center for research, publication and teaching. It also serves as a base for practical engagement in human rights work through consultancy contracts, training and legal practice.

Promotes the advancement women's status and wellbeing through increasing their political and civil participation; the reduction of violence against women; and empowerment in policy and practice at local, national, regional and international levels. The link "Resources" contains full text documents and newsletters, as well as links to other organizations worldwide.