Global and Transnational Women's Activism

ActionAid is an international anti-poverty agency. Their website includes news and videos. The “What we do” section contains a “women and girls” link with information on women’s rights, women’s activism, and International Women’s Day.

Go to link "Latest," and then to "Campaigns," "Education," and "Research" for more resources.

AWID is an international membership organization connecting, informing and mobilizing people and organizations committed to achieving gender equality, sustainable development and women's human rights. Under "Publications," a wide range of publications is available online.

Breakthrough is a global human rights organization working to make violence and discrimination against women and girls unacceptable. It is based in India and United States.

Founded in 1988, the CATW is an NGO that promotes women's human rights by working internationally to combat sexual exploitation, especially sex trafficking of women and girls.

Provides the full text of the international human rights instrument for women.

The DAWN network extends throughout the regions of Africa, Asia, Latin America, the Caribbean and the Pacific. Its advocacy work covers themes of the political economy of globalization; political restructuring and social transformation; and sexual and reproductive health and rights.

As an international human rights organization, Equality Now commits itself to protecting the civil, political, economic and social rights of girls and women around the world.

FIAN is an international human rights organization that has advocated for the realization of the right to food for more than 20 years. It consists of national sections and individual members in over 50 countries around the world.

Food & Water Watch works to ensure the food, water and fish we consume is safe, accessible and sustainably produced.

The FAO is a UN agency mandated with raising worldwide levels of nutrition, improving agricultural productivity, bettering the lives of rural populations, and contributing to the growth of the world economy.

This organization emerged from the Association for Progressive Communications Women's Networking Support Programme's advocacy work in information and communications technologies. It disseminates examples of national policy, gender-sensitive language, tools for lobbying, etc.

In English, Spanish, Portuguese, and French. This foundation supports women's human rights around the world on issues including access to education, prevention of violence against women, and gaining economic independence. The site lists grant related information including grants available by country, and its bi-annual newsletter Raising our voices (2000- present)

This organization exposes human rights violations, as well as practices and policies that silence and subordinate women. Its Website includes news releases, publications, and information by country and by thematic issues on women's rights.

Founded in 1998, the IANSA is the global network of organizations working to stop the proliferation and misuse of small arms and light weapons. The searchable site contains a wealth of information organized by country and key issues.

International Alert was established in 1986 by a group of human rights advocates led by the former Secretary General of Amnesty International, Martin Ennals, in response to growing concerns expressed by those working in international development agencies, human rights organizations and those involved in the issues of ethnic conflict and genocide.

IAW calls on the international community to exercise its responsibility for the protection of human security, human rights, and the fundamental rights. Action programs, reports, and documents are available on its Website in English and French.

Since its founding in 1976, ICRW has worked with partner organizations and governments throughout the world to promote gender equitable development, reduce poverty, and change the lives of millions of women and girls and their communities. The "ICRW publications" link directs to articles and reports by select subjects. Many of these texts are full text.

The "Our work" link contains research on gender and transitional justice.

A non-profit NGO, it works to secure the human rights of all people and communities subject to discrimination or abuse on the basis of sexual orientation, gender identity, and/or HIV status. IGLHRC's work is carried out in Asia, Africa, Central and Eastern Europe, Latin America & Caribbean; and in the themes of Asylum Documentation Program and HIV/AIDS.

In Japanese and English. Founded in 1988 by one of Japan's largest minorities, the Buraku people, IMADR is an international NGO devoted to eliminating discrimination and racism and advancing human rights. The link "Publications" offers full text of their newsletter Connect (2004- present), and other online resources.

IPPF has been providing sexual and reproductive health services since 1952 in more than 180 countries. A collection of resources including papers, articles, speeches, directory of contraceptives are available under "Resources and Information." More information about its six regional offices and its members is available under "Regions."

The IWDC was established in 1995 to strengthen women's global leadership through training, education, networking and research with a focus on increasing the participation of women leaders in politics, policy and decision making within their own governments. Under "Resources," fact sheets and timelines on women in politics and suffrage provide information of women worldwide.

Founded in 1984, the organization works to influence the policies of governments, donors, and international agencies to secure girls' and women's sexual and reproductive health and rights. Under "Resource Library" many documents, fact sheets, and reports are available full text covering topics such as contraception and health, safe abortion, HIV/AIDS, gender and health policies, etc.

Established at Georgetown University Law Center in August 1998, the general mission of the IWHRC is to promote and advance women's human rights throughout the world.

The IWMF's mission is to strengthen the role of women in the news media around the world.

An international NGO established in l976, IWTC provides information, education, and organizing support services to women's organizations and community groups, particularly low-income women, in Africa, Asia and the Pacific, Latin America and the Caribbean, Eastern Europe and Western Asia. Among the resources available on this site, the "Statistics and Indicators" of women's lives is under "Links and Resources" followed by "Platform for Action."

Established in 1983, MADRE is an international women's human rights organization that works in partnership with community-based women's organizations worldwide to address issues of health and reproductive rights, economic development, education, and other human rights.

Mandat International provides information, documentation, support and accommodation for international conferences and meetings in Geneva working on NGO - UN cooperation, development, human rights, peace, humanitarian, health, refugees, children, indigenous peoples, trade, environment, etc. The International Legal Search Engine on human rights and humanitarian law enables search by country, domain, topic, and date and a selection of main international conventions.

Works to secure the rights and to promote cooperation of ethnic, religious and linguistic minorities and indigenous peoples worldwide. The website offers full text of international declarations and instruments, briefing and special papers pertaining to the rights of minorities and indigenous peoples, news and events, a newsletter, list of publications, press releases, and links.

Oxfam is an international confederation of 15 organizations working together in 98 countries and with partners and allies around the world to find lasting solutions to poverty and injustice.

PATH is an international nonprofit organization focusing on improving public health. The “what we do” section contains information on maternal and child health and reproductive rights.

In English, Spanish and French, it monitors toward the implementation of UN Security Council Resolution 1325 on women, peace and security. The site is a portal to women's organizations worldwide and lists country specific developments of policies that promote women's empowerment, eradicate violence against women, and secure reproductive rights.

An international network following up the fulfillment of internationally agreed commitments on poverty eradication and equality. It reports on the progress, or regression, of the nations towards these commitments and goals. It contains data and development indicators by country.

The OHCHR is a United Nations office with primary responsibility for promoting and protecting the enjoyment and full realization of human rights for all.

UNIFEM is the women's fund at the UN. It provides financial and technical assistance to innovative programs and strategies to foster women's empowerment and gender equality. The site offers briefs, documents, annual reports (2001- present) and other resources on topics including HIV/AIDS, violence against women, human rights, and women/poverty and economics.

In Albanian, Arabic, Bahasa Indonesia, English, French, Kiswahili, Russian, Serbian, and Spanish. The only international women's fund in the world designed to respond on short notice, UAF collaborates with women activists in peace building in situations of armed conflict, escalating violence, or politically volatile environments; legal and legislative actions; and protection of women human rights defenders.

The site features readings on women's economic rights, liberalization and globalization, the European Union, and relevant UN documents and events, as well as training material, newsletter, publications and other resources in Spanish.

WEDO is an international advocacy organization that seeks to increase the power of women worldwide as policymakers at all levels in governments, institutions, and forums to achieve economic and social justice, a healthy and peaceful planet, and human rights for all. The program areas are Gender and Governance, Sustainable Development, and Economic and Social Justice.

Their focus is on the International Criminal Court (ICC), but they also have resources on gender and justice.

WLP is dedicated to women's leadership and empowerment working with 18 autonomous and independent partner organizations in the Global South, particularly in Muslim-majority societies, to empower women to transform their families, communities, and societies. The link "Partners," subdivided into countries, has section "Women's Status at Glance" with "Country Overview," "Education and health," and "Political participation."

A watch dog organization, it works to improve the lives and defend the rights of refugee and internally displaced women, children and adolescents. Comprehensive Web portal has links to NGOs and information related to women's peace and freedom. The site also includes UN resolutions and analysis, news and resources, including international and country specific detailed list of women's organizations.

Produced by the Bora Laskin Law Library at the University of Toronto, this site provides access to information pertaining to international women's human rights law. The site contains the searchable Human Rights Resources Database that offers annotated citations to scholarly articles and documents (such as UN and NGO reports), with links to full text in many cases.