Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Africa - Regional
US based organization that works on African political, economic and social issues. It succeeded the American Committee on Africa, The Africa Fund, and the Africa Policy Information Center, which have fought for freedom and justice in Africa since 1953.
African Centre for Constructive Resolution Disputes (ACCORD)
Offers training in conflict management, mediation, and negotiation. The link "Publications" contains full text articles of the African Journal on Conflict Resolution (1999-present) and the magazine Conflict Trends (2002-present).
African Women's Development and Communication Network (FEMNET)
Established in 1988, this NGO promotes African women's development, equality and human rights.
Akina Mama wa Afrika
It is an international, Pan-African, non-governmental development organization for African women. It helped support for African immigrant women in United Kingdom.
Fahamu Network for Social Justice
Focuses primarily in Africa to support the struggle for human rights and social justice. The site includes Pambazuka News: Forum for Social Justice in Africa, a weekly electronic newsletter covering news, commentary, analysis and a range of other resources on human rights and development in Africa.
Femmes Africa Solidarité
Has a consultative status with the UN Economic and Social Council and an observer status with the African Commission for Human and People's Rights. The site includes the network of organizations (by country). The link "Leadership bank" lists names and profiles of women leaders organized by country and also by profession.
ISIS-Women's International Cross Cultural Exchange Linking Women Internationally
This global action oriented women's resource center that promotes justice and gender equality was founded in 1974 by Jane Cottingham and Marilee Karl in Geneva and moved to Kanpala, Uganda, in 1993.
Africa - Ethiopia
An NGO established to promote the welfare and contribution of Ethiopian women to the political, socio-economic and environmental development and management, this site provides assistance to women to gain access to credit through Meklit Micro Finance Institution, initiated by PROGYNIST for this purpose.
Africa - Nigeria
BAOBAB For Women's Human Rights
It is an NGO focusing on women's legal rights issues in Nigeria. The organization evolved from a group of activists responsible for executing the Women and Laws Nigeria Project, under the auspices of the International Solidarity Network of Women Living Under Muslim Laws.
Africa - Rwanda
Rwanda Women's Network
Established in 1997, this NGO is dedicated to promotion and improvement of the socio-economic welfare of women taking over from its parent organization, the US-based Church World Service.
Africa - Senegal
Famafrique - Francophone African Women
This portal provides access to information on women's organizations in francophone Africa, including Mali, Burkina Faso, Mauritania, and Congo and includes publications, documents (in PDF) on issues ranging from women's rights, gender equality, and information technology.
Africa - South Africa
African Gender Institute
Affiliated with the University of Cape Town and under the leadership of Amina Mama, this institute provides leadership to those working on gender and women's issues in Africa. The site includes the online journal Feminist Africa and citations of university publications.
Masimanyane: Women's Studies International
This international nonprofit organization focuses on gender in relation to violence, sexual reproductive health and rights, and HIV and Aids.
Progressive Women’s Movement of South Africa (PWMSA)
This is a registered Not-for-Profit Organisation which was launched in Bloemfontein on August 8, 2006. Comprised of more than 35 national multi-sectoral organisations and institutions, the vision is to promote the transformation of South African society into one that is truly non-racial and non-sexist, through advancing women’s socio-economic, political and cultural conditions.
Rape Crisis Cape Town Trust
This site provides information and tools to cope and prevent sexual assault and offers links to resources, statistics, newsletters and publications, as well as to Sexual Assault Survival Guide in Afrikaans and English.
This network provides a search engine to find the people, issues, resources and tools needed for women's social activism. The site also includes the organization's newsletter and points to resources related to gender and women. Qualitative and quantitative data on issues from poverty and environment are available under "GenderStats."
Africa - Uganda
Women of Uganda Network
This NGO is a network of women's organizations and gender related sites.
Raising Voices: Preventing Violence Against Women and Children
Working for the prevention of violence against women and children, this site includes links "Communication Materials" and "Publications" that list material used in campaigns, as well as publications on domestic violence prevention, training manuals for the prevention of violence against women and children.