Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Asia/Pacific - Regional
AF is a nonprofit international development organization committed to improving lives across Asia. It addresses the critical issues affecting Asia in the 21st century, including strengthening governance, expanding economic opportunity, increasing environmental resilience, empowering women, and promoting international cooperation.
Asian Women's Resource Exchange (AWORC)
In English, Chinese, Japanese and Thai, this organization supports regional networks and promotes electronic resource sharing that supports women's advocacy work and includes links to participating members located in Japan, South Korea, Malaysia, Mongolia, and the Philippines.
Asia Pacific Forum on Women, Law and Development (APWLD)
Promotes human rights in the region as defined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child, the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discriminations Against Women (CEDAW) and other relevant international human rights instruments.
Center for Asia-Pacific Women in Politics (CAPWIP)
A non-partisan NGO, CAPWIP operates through a network of national affiliates clustered into 5 sub-regional groupings: Central Asia, East Asia, South Asia, Southeast Asia, and Pacific and promotes equal participation of women in politics and decision making.
Centre for Women's Developmental Studies
This autonomous institute supported by the Women's Studies Programme of the Indian Council of Social Science Research, works to advance and research Indian women's and gender issues.
Focus on the Global South
Focus on the Global South, based in Thailand, is an education and advocacy organization challenging neoliberalism, militarism and corporate-driven globalization.
Online Women in Politics
An online network of women in governance, politics, decision-making and transformative leadership, this site provides readings, training modules, campaigns, announcements, and latest news about women and politics in Asia and the Pacific.
Asia/Pacific - Bangladesh
Asia/Pacific - Bhutan
Bhutan Women and Children Organisation
An independent NGO established 1991 by Bhutanese women in exile, it advocates for the establishment of democracy; human rights, women's and child rights in Bhutan through peaceful and non-violent means. The site contains extensive information on status of women and children, nationality issues, and human rights reports.
Asia/Pacific - Burma (Myanmar)
Women's League of Burma
Established in 1999, the league consists of women's groups and aims to support Burmese women's empowerment and advancement of the status women.
Asia/Pacific - China
All China Women's Federation
Founded in 1949, ACWF promotes the advancement of Chinese women of all ethnic groups and promotes gender equality.
Asia/Pacific - Fiji
DAWN: Development Alternatives with Women for a New Era
The DAWN network extends throughout Africa, Asia, Latin America, the Caribbean and the Pacific. Its advocacy work covers themes of the political economy of globalization; political restructuring and social transformation; and sexual and reproductive health and rights. The site regularly posts analytical papers on covered themes and reports on relevant world events written from a Southern feminist perspective.
Fiji Women's Crisis Centre
This network of women's crisis center contains resources on women on domestic violence, child abuse, rape, and sexual harassment. The site includes statistics, publications, reports, documents, and links to organizations in Asia Pacific.
Asia/Pacific - Hong Kong
The Women's Foundation
Promotes the full participation of women and girls in all aspects of Hong Kong society through research, education and public awareness. The site has links to Hong Kong organizations addressing women's issues.
Asia/Pacific - India
Creating Resources for Empowerment and Action (CREA)
CREA is involved in public education and advocacy on issues of human rights, sexuality, and violence against women.
SEWA: Self-Employed Women's Association
Founded in 1972 as a trade union of self employed women, its goals include activities and research to ensure full employment and self-reliance of its 700,000+ members. It is concerned about the effects of globalization in the lives of women in this informal economy in urban and rural settings.
Tibetan Women's Association: Advocacy for Home Action in Exile
An exile organization originally founded in 1959 in Tibet but based in India now, it works to raise public awareness of the abuses faced by Tibetan women in Chinese-occupied Tibet.
Centre for Social Research: an Institution for Women and Girls in India
Founded in 1983, this organization works at the grassroots, regional and international levels to raise women's awareness of their rights and to eliminate violence against women. Ranjana Kumari, Director, also serves as the president of Women Power Connect (WPC), India's only lobbying organization focused on gender issues, and coordinator of Joint Action Front for Women.
Asia/Pacific - Japan
Asia-Japan Women's Resource Center
In Japanese and English, this organization works to eliminate the violence against women, and advocates sustainable development, as well as women's political representation. The English language feminist journal Voices from Japan is available online (2003-present) under "Publications."
Japan's Association for Women's Education (JAWE)
Established in 1941, JAWE promotes lifelong learning aimed at establishing a gender-equal society.
National Council of Women's Centers
The council contributes for the creation of a gender-equal society by strengthening gender equality centers, women's centers and other institutions throughout Japan.
National Women's Education Center (NWEC)
Established in 1977 and affiliated with Japan's Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, NWEC promotes women's education and gender equality through education and conducting specialized research and surveys with focus on women. The online NWEC Newsletter (1997-present) is available under "Publications."
WAM: Women's Active Museum on War and Peace
WAM focuses on wartime violence and advocated for gender justice. The site presents resources on "comfort women" and resolutions on the issue from different nations.
Asia/Pacific - Korea
Asian Pacific Women's Information Network Center (AWORC))
In Korean, the APWINC works towards enabling women in Korea and the Asia-Pacific region to use information and communication technologies to advance their status and rights in society.
Korean Women Development Institute
The KWDI was established in 1983 under the Ministry of Health and Welfare to address Korean women's issues. It carries out comprehensive research on women, promotes policies and advocates for the increase of women's participation in national development. This comprehensive site contains statistics, reports and documents on the status of women, history, and other relevant issues on women in Korea.
Asia/Pacific - Nepal
The Women's Foundation of Nepal
Established in 1988, this NGO is committed to empower women and to increase public awareness of opportunities for economic and social development.
Asia/Pacific - Pakistan
Shirkat Gah: Women's Resource Centre
Established in 1975, it provides information, resources, and skills, as well as works to include gender and women's perspective in policies, laws and practices. The site makes available publications and links to resources.
Sustainable Development Policy Institute, Gender Issues
Under the leadership of Saba Gul Khattak, executive director, the unit provides input on gender issues for government policy. The site publishes reports and other publications on women and gender in Pakistan.
Asia/Pacific - Phillipines
Development Action for Women Network
Created in 1996 to assist Filipino women migrants in Japan and their Japanese-Filipino children in the promotion and protection of their human rights and welfare. The organization's newsletter SINAG (2003-present) is available under "Publications."
GABRIELLA: Alliance of Filipino Women
The coalition consists of working women's organizations, peasants, urban poor, housewives, professionals, religious and students. It focuses on issues including the effects of militarization and women's landlessness; the IMF-World Bank and the debt crisis; denial of women's reproductive rights, prostitution and trafficking of women.
ISIS-Women's International Cross Cultural Exchange Linking Women Internationally
It is a global action oriented women's resource center that promotes justice and gender equality. ISIS was founded in 1974 by Jane Cottingham and Marilee Karl in Geneva and moved to Manila from Rome in 1991.
Miriam College, Women & Gender Institute (WAGI)
Established in 1997, WAGI promotes women's rights and feminist scholarship. WAGI is currently serving as the secretariat for the International Gender and Trade Network-Asia, DAWN-Southeast Asia, and Southeast Asia Women's Watch. It houses the national CEDAW Watch of the Philippines and will soon host the Regional CEDAW project of UNIFEM. Josepha "Gigi" Francisco is its founding executive director.
Asia/Pacific - Singapore
Association of Women for Action and Research (AWARE)
A volunteer organization founded in 1985, AWARE works to raise gender equity by raising awareness of men's and women's rights and responsibilities, as well as empowering women by enhancing their knowledge and skills.